Country Guides
- CQ electronic library - Political Handbook of the WorldPolitical information on every country in the world with entries on over 120 intergovernmental organizations. This guide is renowned for its extensive coverage of major, minor, and anti-systemic political parties that exist in each political system. It also provides names of cabinet members, key ambassadors, and international memberships of each country.
- Background Notes from the U.S. State DepartmentProvides facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of countries.
- BBC News: Country ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics, and economic background of countries. They also include audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
- CIA: The World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Country Indicators for Foreign PolicyThe CIFP database includes measures of domestic armed conflict, governance and political instability, militarization, religious and ethnic diversity, demographic stress, economic performance, human development, environmental stress, and international linkages in the form of over one hundred performance indicators for 196 countries, spanning fifteen years (1985 to 2000) for most indicators. These indicators are drawn from a variety of open sources.
- Library of Congress Country Profiles"The profiles offer reasonably current country information independent of the existence of a recently published Country Study and will be updated annually or more frequently as events warrant."
- Library of Congress Country StudiesThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Published between 1988-1998.
- FAO Country ProfilesThe Food and Agriculture Organization for the United Nations and its 183 members highlights information as one of the priority areas in fighting hunger and achieving food security. The FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System is a pioneering information retrieval tool which groups the organization's vast archive of information on its global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogues it exclusively by country.
- Governments on the WWWVery detailed links for every country. Somewhat outdated (from approx. 2002).
- International Planned Parenthood Federation - Country ProfilesSelect a country from the dropdown menu for basic information about family planning, health issues, and some statistics on population, fertility and contraception, mortality, health, and education & employment.
- International Crisis Group: Reports by CountryNot all countries are represented, just those which are involved or potentially involved in conflict situations.
- International Monetary Fund Country InformationIMF operations — which involve surveillance, financial assistance, and technical assistance — have developed to meet the changing needs of its 184 member countries in an evolving world economy.
- MSU Global AccessProvides information about the world - its regions and peoples and important international issues. You can search simultaneously by world region or country and by thematic area. Produced by Michigan State University (MSU).
- OECD Global ReachLinks only to documents with an individual country focus. Includes both member and non-member economies, but with more information for member countries, especially a statistical profile with over 100 indicators. For links to OECD publications which cover all countries, see OECD iLibrary below.
- Social Security in Other CountriesLinks to websites of countries' social security programs.
- Social Security Programs Throughout the WorldA biannual publication highlighting the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries.
- Social WatchSocial Watch is an international network informed by national citizens' groups aiming at following up the fulfillment of the internationally agreed commitments on poverty eradication and equality. It produces an annual report as well as individual country reports.
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowThe largest and most authoritative compilation of U.N. and agency statistics (economic, social, financial, and developmental). Continuously updated.
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics Country ProfilesCountry profiles feature key statistics and indicators on education, science and technology, and culture and communication on a country-by-country or regional basis.
- World Values SurveyThis global research project explores people’s values and beliefs, how they change over time, and what social and political impact they have. It is carried out by a worldwide network of social scientists who, since 1981, have conducted representative national surveys in almost 100 countries.
- World Public OpinionProvides information and analysis about public opinion on international policy issues from around the world.
- IWGIAIWGIA is a global human rights organization dedicated to promoting, protecting, and defending indigenous peoples’ rights.
Global & Interational Studies
Jon Giullian
Contact:
International Collections
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-8854