Newspaper Websites
Most current newspapers or magazines will also have a web site where you may have limited access. Here are some examples:
- Le Monde
- Le Figaro
- Libération
- L'Express
- Paris Match
- Agence France Press (AFP)
- FranceSoir
- Mediapart
- La Tribune
- Courrier international (we have a paper subscription in Watson Library, 1 1/2 East Stacks, Call number folio D839 .C68)
- French Newspapers Online
- Selected Western European News and Newspapers
- French Newspapers
- French Culture
- Le Nouvel Observateur
- Le Point.fr
Other Useful Websites about France
- OECD - FranceOECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development)
- World Bank - La banque mondialeSearch for data by country
French Language News in Canada
-
Le DevoirInternet edition of a Montreal newspaper.
-
Le DroitA computer news magazine from Ottawa.
-
EspacesOutdoor travel magazine from Québec.
-
Radio-Canada (Radio and TV)Radio (AM and FM) and television website for CBC.
-
Le Réseau des SportsA Canadian sports magazine.
-
Le SoleilQuebec City newspaper on the web.
-
Voir.ca!Two editions of a Canadian Magazine: from Montreal and Quebec.
French Language Newspapers
To find out whether or not KU Libraries has a specific newspaper online, search the name of the newspaper (remember not to use "Le" or "La" if the newspaper name begins with an article). The results will tell you whether KU Libraries subscribes to the newspaper and provides the years of coverage.
For example, search the e-Journals Catalog for:
04/02/2006 to 03/31/2010 in Business Source Complete
04/06/2011 to Present in Global Newsstream
04/02/2006 to 03/31/2010 in Newspaper Source Plus Regional Business News
Here are some databases in which you can search for French language newspapers:
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFeatures thousands of U.S. and global news sources, including wire services, popular magazines, newspapers, and much more.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
- Google news This link opens in a new windowThis computer-generated news site aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together. You can select language and geographic region for news.
- Newspaper source plus This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers and selective full text for 410 U.S newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
- ProQuest newsstand This link opens in a new windowContains over 850 newspapers with access to 575 full-text titles. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. Coverage: 1980's to present
