KU Libraries - Catalog
- Library Catalog (classic)Search KU Libraries' Catalog for books, journals, films, & more. KU Libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification to organize books and journals on the shelves. The LC call number range for French Literature is PQ1 - PQ3999.
- KU Libraries QuickSearchSearch across many different resources, including:
Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 5 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
Full-text articles from more than 120,000 journals
A growing collection of more than 280,000 images from KU Libraries' digital collections, Spencer Museum of Art,
More than 22,000 articles and Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, KU's institutional repository
You may search across these sources all at once, or limit your search to those items of interest to you.
WorldCat (To Find Books at Other Locations)
Tips for Searching
AND, OR, NOT (Keyword Boolean)
- use AND, OR, NOT to combine or connect search terms (to narrow or broaden search results)
- use quotation marks to indicate phrases: "Madame Bovary"
- use opening and closing parentheses to group search terms
- use ? to truncate: femme? (will find singular and plural form)
Examples:
Flaubert AND (thème? OR critique?)
Flaubert AND “Madame Bovary”
“ XIXe siècle” AND roman AND France
“social aspects” AND “19th century” AND France
E-book Collections
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 78,000 e-books from 500 publishers. Covering broad subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy, this is the most comprehensive collection of e-books.
- eBook collection This link opens in a new windowContains a searchable collection of electronic books on the EBSCO platform which can be viewed or read online. All titles are also accessible from the KU Online Catalog. (Access to each book is restricted to one simultaneous user.)
Information on Finding and Using E-books
E-books allow you to access and read books online from your computer or mobile device. In many cases multiple readers can access the same e-book simultaneously. E-books also allow you to quickly search, download, print, or link to specific book and chapter content.
E-books are available in many resources. This guide helps staff and patrons to identify library databses and collections that contain e-books, how to search for them through the library catalog, and how to use them in their coursework and teaching. In this guide you will find information about: