Search Google Scholar to find articles
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are off campus or using your personal laptop, make sure you access Google Scholar from the Libraries' "Articles and Databases" page to get to KU content (or use the search box below).
What is a library database?
PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
PMLA : Publications of the Modern Language Association of America (electronic access will vary depending on the database)
We also have the print for PMLA Call No. PB6 .M6 (Watson Library Stacks - 2 West, from 2001, older volumes from 1888, are located in the Annex)
Recommended Databases
Need to find articles or literary criticism for French literature sources? The following databases are recommended.
- MLA international bibliography (Ebsco)Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes over 10,000 titles from across all academic disciplines as well as general interest periodicals.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-XIII; Business IV; Life Sciences Collection; Public Health Reports, and Global Plants.
- CAIRNCairn offers the most comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities.
- Revues.orgOpenEdition Journals est une plateforme de revues en sciences humaines et sociales. Fondée en 1999 sous le nom Revues.org, elle accueille aujourd’hui plus de 450 publications en ligne, soit 150 000 articles, dont 95 % sont en accessible en texte intégral.
- ProQuest research library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database available that indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
- Literature online This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language--poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries. Individual units run from Anglo-Saxon literature, through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the 18th and 19th centuries right up to the late 20th Century. LION also offers comprehensive cross-searching of EEBO - Early English Books Online.
- Gale literature resource center This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Includes essays on the history of specific publishing companies.
History Databases
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Indexes the journal and book literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Pascal Francis This link opens in a new windowThe site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in science, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS since 1972.