Cultural Iceberg
https://www.celestialpeach.com/blog/cultural-iceberg-cultural-appreciation
Cultural differences across the world - Online and print resources
- Engaging Transculturality : concepts, key terms, case studies byPublication Date: 2019E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Four overarching patterns of culture : a look at common behavior byPublication Date: 2019E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Being There : learning to live cross-culturally by Publication Date: 2011E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet. Print version also available. See KU library catalog.
Transcultural Competence : navigating cultural differences in the global community by Publication Date: 2015Print book available at Watson Library.
Series: APA fundamentals of consulting psychology
Communicating Across Cultures by Call Number: (Print book available at Watson Library. Older 1999 edition also available online--see KU library catalog.) E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.Publication Date: 2018
Communicating Across Cultures by Publication Date: 2007E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Developing Cultural Adaptability : how to work across differences by Publication Date: 2007E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Encyclopedia
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication, 3 Volume Set by Publication Date: 2018Print volumes available at Watson Library.
ICC core theme---known as "intercultural communication"---and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC’s discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology.
Resources for Class Discussions & Assignments
- Millennial movements : positive social change in urban Costa Rica byPublication Date: 2020E-book. Online resource licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Costa Rica : selected issues and analytical notes byPublication Date: 2015E-book licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Culture Shock! Costa Rica by Publication Date: 2003Print book available at Watson Library
Cover Title: Culture shock! a guide to customs and etiquette- Threatening others : Nicaraguans and the formation of national identities in Costa Rica byPublication Date: 2004Available via the Internet. Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Shattering Myths on Immigration and Emigration in Costa Rica by Publication Date: 2010Available via the Internet. Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Tourism and Cultural Change in Costa Rica: pitfalls and possibilities by Publication Date: 2013- I Won't Stay Indian, I'll Keep Studying byPublication Date: 2005
- Costa Rica: quest for democracy byPublication Date: 1998Due to the Covid-19 crisis, this print book is also temporarily available online at HathiTrust. Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Building cross-cultural skills
- My World AbroadMyWorldAbroad is a huge online resource with over 300 articles and 4,000 resources. Our focus is to help you build cross-cultural skills, develop an International IQ, and start your global career.
- Diversity & Study Abroad resourcesAttitudes toward women and underrepresented groups vary greatly among cultures. Consider that even if you are not in the minority at home, you might be in your host culture.
Educating yourself and thinking through the many scenarios you might encounter will better prepare you to deal with life abroad.
Videos
- Alexander Street PressLicensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
For the Global Perspectives class, begin a search within the Alexander Street Press database with the following keywords as written: "cross cultural" global. Begin by filtering results to include the years 2010-2020. - Families of Costa Rica : Families of the World byPublication Date: 2010Online resource (28 min., 16 sec.). Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
- Using "Nature as an Asset" to Balance Costa Rica’s Farming with Preservation byPublication Date: 2013Online resource (8 min., 4 sec)
As part of the NewsHour’s series Food for 9 Billion, special correspondent Sam Eaton reports on a push in Costa Rica to embrace forest preservation and biodiversity while keeping up with the demand for farming. Researchers are measuring the helpful roles of small animals like bats, birds and bees.
Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. - Rain Forest byPublication Date: 2010Online resource (58 min.)
This classic program takes viewers into the rain forests of Costa Rica to witness a richly varied habitat under threat from human encroachment. Still provocative after a quarter century, the film sounds an eloquent warning about the natural wonders we stand to lose if industry and agriculture continue to take precedence over rain forest protection.
Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Current Events
- The World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Published by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
Links to related guide pages
- CultureLink to information about Costa Rican culture: music, art, indigenous communities, museums, education, and more.
- Environment & NatureLink to information about Costa Rican environment and nature: birds, reptiles, eco-tourism, rain forests, etc.
- HistoryLink to information about history in Costa Rica and Central America.
- Evaluating SourcesLink to information about evaluating sources, fake news, evaluating websites, and understanding what the domain name tells us.