Costa Rica: Reference

This guide offers resources in English and Spanish useful for general, historical, scientific, environmental or travel research about Costa Rica.

Britannica en español

International Documents

Library of Congress

The Library's mission is to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people.

Library of Congress Reading Room

Library of Congress Reading Room  (www.loc.gov)

The reading room, named after the Hispanic Society in New York, was dedicated in 1939 to serve as a focal point to orient and assist researchers who seek to avail themselves of the immense opportunities afforded by Luso-Hispanic materials throughout the Library of Congress. The Hispanic Reading Room, as it is usually called, serves as the primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania. In addition to a 4,000 volume reference collection, including a collection of CD-ROMs, there is the Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape. This is a unique audio collection of authors reading passages from their own literature.

HLAS Online - Handbook of Latin American Studies logo

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.  Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

 

Science Reference Guides - Latinos in Math & Science:  Resources for kids, young adults and teachers

This guide includes a selection of resources for children K-12 on Latinos in science, mathematics, engineering, medicine, and related fields. It also includes resources for teachers on multicultural science education and science for English Language Learners (ELLs). All sources have been published within the last 20 years. Most of the sources are in English, with selected children's books and websites in Spanish.

Need help?

Mary Raple's picture
Mary Raple
Contact:
International Collections
Watson Library, Room 519
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045
785-864-3351
Website