Books
Culture Shock! Costa Rica by Publication Date: 2003
The Ticos by Publication Date: 1998- "What happen" : a folk-history of Costa Rica’s Talamanca coast / by Paula Palmer. byPublication Date: 1977
- Casada con una leyenda : Don Pepe byPublication Date: 1992
- La cultura deja huella : Ministerio de Cultura y Juventud, 2006-2010 byPublication Date: 2010 - DVD and book.
Music
- MalpaísPop-rock band from Costa Rica
- Cantoamérica / Movimiento Costarricense de la Nueva Canción.Publication Date: 1983Subject(s): Songs, Spanish --Costa Rica --Texts.
- Costa Rican MusicCosta Rica Information.
- The Marimba: Costa Rica’s National InstrumentThe Costa Rica News.
Indigenous Communities in Costa Rica
Indigenous groups in Costa Rica
- IWGIA - Indigenous peoples in Costa RicaCosta Rica has 24 indigenous territories inhabited by eight different peoples. Although Costa Rica has adopted the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and ratified ILO Convention 169, rights to land and self-determination is still a struggle for the country’s indigenous population. (IWGIA)
- IWGIA - International Work Group for Indigenous AffairsIWGIA is a global human rights organisation dedicated to promoting, protecting and defending indigenous peoples’ rights. IWGIA was founded in 1968 by anthropologists alarmed about the ongoing genocide on indigenous peoples taking place in the Amazon.
- Lore of the jungle: life with Costa Rica's indigenous peoplesThe Guardian, byJohn Gimlette, 15 February 2013
Atlas lingüístico-etnográfico de Costa Rica : (ALECORI) by Publication Date: 2010505 p. : ill. (some col.), col. map ; 28 cm. + 1 CD-ROM
- Desarrollo autónomo de los pueblos indígenas : [videorecording] un reclamo ancestralDVD (14 min.) 2007. Subject(s):
Costa Rica. Ley de desarrollo autónomo de los pueblos indígenas.
Indians of Central America --Costa Rica --Government relations.
Indians of Central America --Costa Rica --Social conditions.
Indians of Central America --Costa Rica --Social life and customs.
Economic development --Costa Rica.
The Hidden People. Tucked inside the jungles of Costa Rica, there is a tribe of indigenous people called BriBri, who have lived in a region of Costa Rica called Talamanca for over 3,000 years. Unfortunately, the BriBri culture faces an uncertain future as land development and nearby deforestation are forcing the natives to adapt to modern ways.
- Costa Rica, Those who Talk to the StonesStreaming video. Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. (2017)
- The Indigenous Maleku PeoplePeoples of the World Foundation
- Minorities and Indigenous Peoples in Costa RicaMinority Rights Group International - World Directory of Minorities and Indigenous Peoples
Costa Rican music available through KU
- Music Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowMusic Reference Collection brings together the most comprehensive written collection of materials for the study of music, covering virtually every musical time-period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region. The collection contains a variety of essential music reference materials allowing users to chronicle the history of music of diverse origins and walks of life. Includes access to Music Online: African American Music Reference, Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library, and Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
- Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new windowMusic Online: Listening provides streaming access to over 11 million audio tracks*, across all the key musical genres. Includes Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound, a ten volume print set of encyclopedias, associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
- Amighetti DVD (87 min.)Ballet commissioned in honor of Costa Rican painter and poet Francisco Amighetti. Performance includes texts from Francisco Amighetti read by Luis Piedra and Grettel Quesada. Performance followed by a short documentary directed by Peppe Cirotti featuring clips from the ballet and comments. Performed 2008.
Ministry of Culture & Ministry of Public Education
- Ministerio de Cultura y Juventud - Costa RicaOfficial website of the Ministry of Culture for Costa Rica.
- Ministerio de Educación PúblicaMinistry of Public Education, Dept. of Intercultural Education. Various language and culture guides (guías) and education resources (recursos educativos).
Art - Books in Spanish
- Misael Solís : un siglo en Zarcero byPublication Date: 2009
- La animalística en el arte costarricense byPublication Date: 2006
- La otra mirada : artistas extranjeros en Costa Rica byPublication Date: 2008
- Imágenes para comer : arte y cocina en Costa Rica byPublication Date: 2007