Articals & Databases - Top picked DBs for Asian Studies
These are the recommended English language databases to begin jounral article searches for Asian studies. Also consult East Asian studies ourse guides for specific resources. For example, Education artilces can be found in Eric, the education specific database. Eudation related to Asian studies, can be found also in the Bibliography for Asian Studies.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowBibliographical citations of journal articles and chapter of books for all subjects in Asian studies from 1971 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-X; Life Sciences Collection; and Public Health Reports.
- Gale Academic: OneFile Select This link opens in a new windowProvides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources.
Newspaper Databases
- Choson Ilbo Archive (조선일보 아카이브)Full-text database of the Choson Daily Newspaper from its first issue in 1920 to the present.
- JoongAng Ilbo 중앙일보 (中央日報)In Korean, Japanese, English, and Chinese. English site http://koreajoongangdaily.joins.com/ Korea JoongAng Newspaper. Founded in 1965 in Seoul by the Samsung Group founder's family. One of the three big newspapers in S. Korea.
- KINDS (종합뉴스데이타베이스)(Registration required for full-text)
Archived searchable index of Korean newspaper articles since 1990, developed by the Korea Press Foundation. - Korean Herald (web access, 1999-)Biweekly magazine of Korea today.
- Kyongsong Ilbo (경성일보)Full-text database of the Kyongsong Daily Newspaper from its issue in 1907 to 1935. The articles are provided in a pdf format and are not searchable.
- Custom newspapers1996 to present. News and current events. Database of over 150 newspapers primarily from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Korea and Australia.
- Google news archive searchNews and Current Events. Google News Archive Search searches across a large collection of historical archives of major newspapers, magazines, news archives and legal archives. Results include both content that accessible to all users (such as BBC News, Time Magazine and Guardian) and content that requires a fee (such as Washington Post Archives, Newspaper Archive, and New York Times Archives). Some of these resources are available through KU's Articles and Databases website.
- Naver News LibraryNaver News Library is a full-text Korean newspaper database containing four major newspapers:
* Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
* Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
* Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞= Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
* Han’gyŏre 한겨레 = The Hankyoreh : 1988-1999
Korean Language Articles & Databases
- DBpia 누리미디어 학회지 DBA full-text database includes over 580 Korean scholarly journals. The journal titles are arranged by subjects and all journals are available from the first issue. Various search indexes are available by title, author, keyword and journal title.
- KRpia, Korean Database 누리미디어 한국학 원문DBsCollection of full-text databases related to Korean Studies including Koryosa, Parhaesa, Chungbo Munhon Pigo and others.
- RISS (Research Information Service System) InternationalRISS provides scholarly service for the Korean Education and Research Information Service (KERIS), a national service organization for education and research programs. "Integrated database search of full-text journal include searches in KISS and DBPia databases, more than 1.6 million theses & dissertations held in more than 150 universities in South Korea, and over 7.9 million bibliographic records."
Dissertation and These
- KERIS RISS databaseRISS International provides searchable databases of more than 7.9 million MARC records with 1.6 million full-texts of Korean Theses & Dissertations. http://intl.riss.kr/
- RISS for Higher EducationKorean dissertations and theses from Universities in South Korea. Some are available in PDF files for free of charge.
- National Assembly Library's Dissertation DatabaseDissertation and Thesis in Social Science Areas received by the National Assembly Library. Some are available for free of charge.
- National Library of Korea's DatabaseCollection of Dissertations in the Humanities, available with online pdf.
Korean e-Books
- Yŏnhaengnok chʻonggan chŭngbop'an This link opens in a new windowThe Yŏnhaengnok Collection is a collection of travelogues recorded by Korean envoys who traveled to China during the Koryŏ and Chosŏn dynasties from the 12th century to the 19th century. Users can browse travel records by time period, king, and author. It is multi-languages searchable full-text including classical Korean and Chinese.
User's manual found here: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/loader.php?type=d&id=1080864
China & Korea Studies
Vickie Doll
Contact:
email is the best way to contact
East Asian Library
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.,
University of Kansas Libraries
Lawrence, KS 66045
Tel: 785.864.4669
Fax: 785.864.3850
KUeal blog
East Asian Library
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.,
University of Kansas Libraries
Lawrence, KS 66045
Tel: 785.864.4669
Fax: 785.864.3850
KUeal blog
1-785-864-4669
Website
Subjects: Korean Studies
Ask a Korean Studies Librarian!
Ask a Korean Studies Librarian!
askkorea@kccna.libanswers.com
A virtual reference service provided by the members of the Korean Studies Librarians of the Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA).