Articles & Databases
Top picks of English language databases: BAS, JSTOR, MLA, ProQuest, and LexisNexis. It really depends on what is the subject that you are researching.
- China academic journals full-text database (CAJ full-text database) 中国学术期刊全文数据库 (Zhongguo xue shu qi kan quan wen shu ju ku) This link opens in a new window
- Chao xing qi kan超星期刊 (Chao xing qi kan) is a Chinese language journal database which contains over 6,500 journal titles available in full-text, including 600 newspaper titles and over 1,200 core journal titles. The database is compatible with mobile devices for both reading and sharing.
- Chinese Electronic Periodical Service 中文電子期刊服務 Airiti LibraryIncludes articles from Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Singapore. Please note that it will charge for full-text. Bib. information is free for searching.
- Hanxue Zhongxin Diancang Dalu Qikan Pianmu Suoyin Ziliaoku
漢學中心典藏大陸期刊篇目索引資料庫This database includes many core periodicals that are not in the China Academic Journals database. - National index To Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引 (上海图书馆)no full-text available.
- PAIS index This link opens in a new windowreferences to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more about public policy and work affairs. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed
- ChinaLawInfo.com 北大法律信息网 Bei da fa lü xin xi wangPublished by Peking University, China, Chinalawinfo.com is a Chinese language legal information database covering laws and regulations, cases, and law journals from the People's Republic of China.
- MLA international bibliography (CSA Illumina)*MLA international bibliography (Chadwyck-Healey)
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world including Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. - Project MuseA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
- LawInfoChina.com 北大法律英文网 Bei da fa lü Ying wen wang
This link opens in a new window
LawChinainfo.com is an English language legal information database covering laws and regulations, cases, and law journals from the People's Republic of China. Published by Peking University, China.
Images
- Associated Press This link opens in a new windowContains the archives of the Associated Press. New content is added constantly to news photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics spanning 180 years of history.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowOne of the most comprehensive image resources licensed by KU is ARTstor with more than 1 million images on a wide-range of topics.
- National Palace Museum Collection, TaipeiCurators of the National Palace Museum in Taipei selected several thousand objects from their permanent collection to be included in this outstanding new digitized collection. It spans seven millennial of Chinese history and includes rare books, ceramics, paintings, bronzes, jewelry, studio accessories, costumes and more.
Chinese Classics, Histories, and Corpus
- Da Ming shi lu (Veritable records of the Ming dynasty) This link opens in a new window明實錄 Ming shi lu is the collective name for the official annals of the emperors of Ming China (1368-1644).
- Wen yuan ge Si ku quan shu dian zi ban : Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition) This link opens in a new window
Reference
- Digital dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new windowMuller's Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB) is a compilation of Buddhist terms and texts--as well as names of temples, schools, and people--found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources.
- Encyclopedia of Chinese language and linguistics This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the languages spoken in China, today and in the past, from many different angles, as well as the different linguistic traditions they have been investigated in.
- Oxford Bibliographies online This link opens in a new windowProvides expert commentary. Subject coverage includes: African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Chinese Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Latino Studies, International Law, International Relations, and Sociology.
Off campus access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. When you access from off campus, you will then be prompted for your KU online ID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user. If you find sources through Google or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library databases and resources.
Dissertations & Theses Databases
- Guojia tushuguan boshi lunwen wenku
国家图书馆博士论文文库 [China] 国图博士论文库National Library of China 国图博士论文库. Users can browse the first 24 pages of a dissertation. - National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan
台灣博碩士論文知識加值系統NDLTD in Taiwan. By National Central Library for Taiwan Ministry of Education, some full-text, abstracts and indexes 1945-[2005] English search page National Central Library is a member of Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations . Some full-text are open in PDF. Apply to be a member in order to download full-text - NCKU E Theses Dissertation systemDissertation system of National Cheng Kung University
- Shi fan yuan xiao lian he bo shuo shi lun wen xi tong 師范院校聯合博碩士論文系統A thesis and dissertation system from normal colleges/universities in Taiwan. Full text on various subjects are available. No registration is required.
- 典藏國際漢學博士論文摘要資料庫 International Chinese Studies Doctoral Dissertation Abstracts DatabaseIncludes 9000 citations of dissertations from North American and European institutions on Chinese studies. National Central Library (Taiwan).
Newspapers and Conference Proceedings
- UDNdata This link opens in a new windowID and Password log-in is required. Follow link for details. Collection of searchable Taiwanese full-text newspapers from the United Daily News group, including the Lian he bao from 1951; United Daily News - 1951 to present; Min Sheng Daily - 1978 to 2006; Star News - 1999 to 2006; Economic Daily News - 1967 to present; United Evening News - 1988 to present; Europe Daily - 2000 to 2009; World News America - 2000 to present; and Upape - 2007 to present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the following:
--full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years
--full-text company news & financial information
--full-text federal, state & international legal materials
--full-text and abstracted medical & health information
--general reference sources
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Chinese Newspaper CollectionCRL has several hundreds historical Chinese newspapers in its collection. Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (KU is a member) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan.