Online Reference Tools
KU Libraries provide several dictionaries and encyclopedias, useful to look up Japanese terms and personal names.
- Japan narejji Lib (ジャパンナレッジ Lib) = JapanKnowledge Lib This link opens in a new windowConsists of fully searchable and browsable databases including English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries, Encyclopedia Nipponica and Encyclopedia of Japan, articles published in a weekly magazine Ekonomisuto, collection of Tōyō bunko series and other visual and sound databases.
- Encyclopedia of JapanOne of the major e-references available in JapanKnowledge. Click the title to jump to this reference source. KU ID and password may be required. Available after 3/17/2014.
- Britannica online This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.
- Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaA six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide variety of reference materials. The collection includes publications covering a wide variety of subject matters, such as history, biography, literature, medicine, health, sociology, and education.
Print Reference Tools
The Anime Encyclopedia: a Guide to Japanese Animation since 1917Call Number: NC1766.J3 C53 2001ISBN: 1880656647Publication Date: 2001
Not all important reference tools are onlined . . . yet. This lists selected English langauge dictionaries and encyclopedias pertinent to Japanese Studies. Please click the cover image to find more information about the material, location in KU Libraries, and availability.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of JapanCall Number: DS805 .C36 1993ISBN: 0521403529Publication Date: 1993
The Dorama Encyclopedia by Call Number: PN1992.3.J3 C58 2003ISBN: 1880656817Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese CultureCall Number: DS822.5 .E516 2002ISBN: 0415143446Publication Date: 2001
Historical and Geographical Dictionary of JapanCall Number: DS833 .P3 1972ISBN: 0804809968Publication Date: 1972
Historical Dictionary of Osaka and KyotoCall Number: DS897.O814 R67 1999ISBN: 081083622XPublication Date: 1999
The Hotei Encyclopedia of Japanese Woodblock PrintsCall Number: NE1310 .H68 2005ISBN: 9074822657Publication Date: 2005
Japan: an Illustrated EncyclopediaCall Number: DS805 .J263 1993ISBN: 0028972031Publication Date: 1993
Modern Japan: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and NationalismCall Number: DS805 .M63 1998ISBN: 0815325258Publication Date: 1998
