Search KU Collection
Search KU Collection and More
What Am I Searching?
Our new search allows you to search for a number of different resources, including:
- Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 4 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
- A growing collection of more than 66,000 images from KU Libraries' digital collections and beyond
- More than 7,700 articles and Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, KU's institutional repository
You may search across these sources all at once, or limit your search to those items most interesting to you.
NOTE: not all databases important for East Asian/Japanese Studies are not included!
Selected Databases for Historical Research
If you are looking for scholarly journal articles but not sure where to begin, search these databases listed below. All are useful databases to look for articles pertinent to East Asian/Japanese history. Click here to see the whole A-Z list of databases available at KU Libraries.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowMost recommended. Includes citations to Western-language periodical articles and book chapters, pertaining to Asia.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines.
- Project MuseFull text versions of selected scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies, etc. in the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowFeaturing 8,750 of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
- Arts and humanities citation index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum, including online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present).
Database Instruction
Power Point file will be uploaded later.
Database Instruction (3/13/2014)
Click here to download the powerpoint instruction.
Other Importantt Databases (Japanese)
This lists many important databases, created by Japanese academic libraries and scholarly institutes. Please note that some of the databases are searchable only in Japanese.
- CiNii ResearchThis enables to cross search not only books and articles but also research data from external collaborating institutions and institutional repositories. To see the list of databases incorporated in CiNii Research, see here.
- 東京大学史料編纂所データベースGateway to multiple databases, created by the Historiographical Institute, the University of Tokyo.