Supplementary Journal Articles for 519 Students
- Body, Space, and Power: Reading the Cultural Images of Concubines in the Works of Su Tong and Zhang YimouDeppman, Hsiu-Chuang. “Body, Space, and Power: Reading the Cultural Images of Concubines in the Works of Su Tong and Zhang Yimou.” Modern Chinese Literature and Culture 15, 2 (Fall 2003): 121-53.
Find Articles
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowThe major part of Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is from the print version, which covers records from 1971 to 1991 of all subjects on the humanities and the social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been included in the database. Some journals indexed may have early published date from 1791.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-XIII; Business IV; Life Sciences Collection; Public Health Reports, and Global Plants.
- MLA international bibliography (Ebsco)Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
- ProQuest research library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database available that indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The database includes more than 3820 titles -- over 2550 in full text -- from 1971 forward.
- Literature Resource CenterBiographies, bibliographies and analysis of authors of literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers with in-depth coverage of most-studied authors.
- China academic journals full-text database (CAJ full-text database) 中国学术期刊全文数据库 (Zhongguo xue shu qi kan quan wen shu ju ku) This link opens in a new windowFull-text electronic versions of Chinese academic periodicals in Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy (1915- ) and Series G: Politics/Military Affairs/Law (2005- ). Except for those journals in the Century Journal Project, most journal coverage is limited to the above subscription starting year to present. Please note that searches may retrieve articles outside KU's full-text coverage which you will not be able to download. Please use Interlibrary Loan service to request these materials.
- Duxiu Knowledge Search Database This link opens in a new windowAfter you get into the Duxiu database, at the bottom of the page is the "Chaoxing Qikan" 超星期刊 access. This product is currently on trial for KU users.
- Hong Kong Literature DatabaseBy Chinese University of Hong Kong. Covers H.K. newspaper articles, journal articles, CUHK library book collection and theses.
- Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO)Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. About 60 journal titles are included in 2017. Full-text searchable in image file. Provided by the University of Hong Kong Libraries. List of journal titles.
- Hanxue Zhongxin Diancang Dalu Qikan Pianmu Suoyin Ziliaoku
漢學中心典藏大陸期刊篇目索引資料庫It includes many core periodicals that are not in the China Academic Journals database.
Find Film Articles
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextThis is an index to film and television literature that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- Film indexes onlineFilm Indexes Online provides access to the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog), and the British Film Institute (Film Index International). The AFI Catalog indexes films released from 1893-1958 and 1961-1970. The Film Index International indexes films released from 1900 to the present. Records include information detailing the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information.
- International bibliography of theatre & dance with full textThe International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theatre students, educators and professionals. Initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, IBT becomes a valuable component to EBSCO's list of subject-specific secondary databases covering the humanities.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracts, and selected full-text from many sources, covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Full-text ranges from 1864 to the present. (Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.)
Citation Linker
Type data in the citation Linker. The system will attempt to locate an e-copy if KU Libraries have it.
Database Search Tips
Brainstorming keywords and search terms.
Use subject headings or descriptors to generate good search terms.
When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited. That will often lead you to other useful sources.