Irish Collections at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library: Reference Resources for Irish Materials

Principal bibliography of editions of James Joyce's writings; includes contributions to periodicals. Also available at Watson: Z8458.1 .S55 1953b. Note: KU Online Catalog Records sometime refer to editions of Joyce's writing by their "Slocum and Cahoon" entry numbers.

Principal bibliography of editions of W. B. Yeats's writings; includes contributions to periodicals. Note: KU Online Catalog Records sometime refer to editions of Yeats's writing by their "Wade" entry numbers.

This catalog lists items in the P. S. O'Hegarty collection, including books, manuscripts, and broadsides, and organizes them by subject groupings such as Agriculture, Fiction, Folklore, Genealogy, Legal, Pamphlets, Scrapbooks, Sociology and Social Matter, and Societies and Clubs (to name a few). The catalog was created by individuals working for the O’Hegarty family, so it does not include Spencer Call Numbers, but you can use the information in this catalog to gain subject access to the collection and then look up items by title or author in KU’s online catalog.

The Dictionary of Irish Biography is a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, available in print and online, involving 700 contributors and spanning 9,000 lives. The Dictionary is the indispensable reference work for Ireland. It includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland from James Ussher to James Joyce, St Patrick to Patrick Pearse, Edward Carson to Bobby Sands.

This reference book contains information on poets from England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. The featured poets are representative of periods from the Old English era to the Post-Modern age. Each entry is comprised of a biography, a sample of the poet’s publications, a list of his or her best known poems and sources for further information.

For the first time, The Times brings together a unique collection of obituaries of Ireland's most distinguished individuals from the last two centuries. The Irish have richly contributed to the world stage most notably in literature and politics but also in art, dance, music, film, religion, science and sport. The obituaries featured in this collection include: Oscar Wilde, James Joyce, Lady Gregory, Thomas Moore, W.B.Yeats, Samuel Beckett, Charles Parnell, Michael Collins, Countess Markievicz, Eamon de Valera, George Best, Maureen Potter and Eamon Andrews. The obituaries are reproduced here as they were printed at the time. Ian Brunskill, the paper's obituaries editor, has selected the subjects for inclusion with the assistance of Charles Lysaght, well-known Irish writer.

his comprehensive guide spans sixteen centuries of the literature and literary culture of Ireland. From the ogam alphabet in the 4th century, to contemporary writers such as Roddy Doyle and Seamus Heaney, there is a wealth of information on writers and their works, movements, genres, topics, folklore, and historical, religious, and cultural events.

5000 A to Z entries, from Aachen to Zozimus, include Celtic gods and goddesses, bards, beasts, literary allusions, proverbial sayings, idiomatic phrases and expressions, characters from Irish literature ancient and modern, resonant place-names, and individuals and events of ’iconic’ stature in Irish history.

In a field that has long been at the epicentre of political and academic debate, The Oxford Companion to Irish History offers a comprehensive and authoritative guide to all aspects of this fascinating and complex land. Written by a team of 91 renowned experts in the field of Irish studies, the Companion's 1,800 A-Z entries explore Irish history from earliest times to the early 21st century. Revised and updated this second edition of the Companion takes an inclusive approach to Irish history, with entries ranging from horse racing to Home Rule, bogs to boxing, and Parnell to parliaments. Traditional topics such as the rebellion of 1798 and the Irish Civil War can be found alongside entries on newly developing areas such as women's history and popular culture. It combines concise definitions with in-depth analytical essays, while its Appendices include maps and a subject index, which groups headwords into thematic batches to provide an alternative way to access the entries.

First published in 1977, this classic reference work is a gazetteer of almost 2,000 places - villages, towns, cities, and landscapes - in Britain and Ireland detailing their connections with the lives of famous writers. It invites the reader to explore the places where their favourite writers - from Jane Austen to Philip Pullman - were born, lived, were educated, worked, and drew inspiration. The entries elegantly interweave information with anecdote and quotation, to build a vivid picture of the day-to-day lives of the writers. The Guide is the ideal resource and companion for any literary pilgrimage in Britain or Ireland, and for the armchair literary traveller.

The comprehensive and up-to-date wordlist, based on the statistical evidence of the Bank of English, and attractive, user-friendly layout combine to make this an invaluable small dictionary for learners and users of Irish. There is a useful Irish grammar section in the middle of the dictionary, which gives extensive tables of regular and irregular verbs and noun declensions and a unique keyword feature.

Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-Irish dictionary.