Irish Collections at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library: Irish Manuscripts--History, Politics, Daily Life

Memoranda and accounts of a lawyer or lawyer’s clerk. Ireland, 1691-1693. Notes in printed book: Whalley’s Mercurius Hibernicus for 1691.

12 stanza ballad, praising the 84 volunteers under brave Colonel Leslie, and his Lady and "young Charless." Describes a festal day at Castle Glasslough. Considers the House of Bourbon the enemy. 1 leaf, after 1778.

Contains the romantic comedy Sophia; light verse; poetical epistles. (Juvenilia by the Irish orator and politician who became Lord Chief Baron of the Court of the Exchequer, Ireland.) Added later: character of Hussey Burgh. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Burgh, Walter Hussey) for additional details.**

A collection of tracts written 1607-1626 by Sir Charles Cornwallis (died 1629), English courtier and diplomat. Includes an account (p. 55) of his investigative trip to Ireland on behalf of the English throne.

Charter granted to the city and county of Londonderry, to Coleraine, and to the "Society of ... London of the new plantation in Ulster", 10 April 1662. Ireland, book, copied after 1795. Recites previous grants. Lists by-laws, names of officers, feudal and commercial rights, detailed territorial holdings. Elegant binding, stamped "Sir George Fitzgerald Hill Baronet Recorder of the City of Londonderry." 137 p. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

An establishment or list containing all the payments to be made for civil & military affairs in Ireland. Ann R. Great Britain, between 1702 and 1710. The budget for the civil government and the military forces in Ireland for a single year. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Establishment or List Containing [...]) for additional details.**

Establishments civil and military, for Ireland commencing xxiv day of August 1717. Great Britain, 1717? The budget for the civil government and the military forces in Ireland in detail. Names of pensioners, etc., given. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Establishments Civil and Military for Ireland) for additional details.**

Sightseeing, notes, expenses, errands while attending Yearly Meeting in London, 1766; notes while attending Yearly Meeting in Carlisle, 1769. Expenses for clothing, journeys; notes of marriages etc., acceptance into the Corporation of Weavers, 1767-1789. Account of stock and debt, prices of weaving supplies, 1783-1789. Poem. Includes sightseeing in Lake Country. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Irish Quaker) for additional details.**

Proceedings of the Committee in the Province of the Leinster for redressing the Distresses of the Poor. Leinster Province Meeting (Society of Friends). Leinster (Ireland), 1787-1790. Notebook on plans to improve wages, rents, food, education. With recipes using potatoes and maize. With diagrams of recommended chimneys and fireplaces.

Notebook kept by a woman closely connected to Lady (Maria Lawes Luttrell) Carhampton: relative, upper servant, or herself. Financial accounts; notes on legal and other events in the Luttrell, Lawley, Nettervill families; tradesmen’s addresses; recipes; poetry (some original?). After 1784 other hands take over. FRAGILE! Incipit: "The man that made the carpit ..." From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Several clippings mounted, scrapbook style, with a set of the Anti-Union. Some are dated Dec. 1799; some are to the editor of "The Constitution" and "The Anti-union" [i.e., Constitution or Anti-union evening post]; there are some MS identifications. Includes envelope with four more clippings and a seller’s entry of the book in which the clippings are housed.

Manuscript, 117 leaves. With account of difficulties in research. From the North Family Papers.

Transcription of 16 texts by or about the Duke of Ormonde, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland. Includes transcriptions of pamphlets and correspondence and documents relating to the Duke of Ormonde's suppression of the 1641 rebellion in Ireland, mostly regarding public finance, as well as Ormonde's subsequent personal financial state.

A copy of Raleigh's political defense. Written in 2 or more hands. 20 pages;1 quire of 5 sheets. The Apology was first published in 1650 as "Sir Walter Rawleigh his apologie for his voyage to Guiana" as part of his Judicious and select essays. Passage England-Ireland-S. America.

Article of impeachment brought by Commons against Strafford, with his answers, and proofs for each article (MS Q11:4) with . Briefe of the charge against the Earle of Strafforde; and of his answer thereto (MS Q11:5). Viscount Wentworth, a supporter of royal prerogative, became lord-deputy of Ireland in 1632. He was a firm ruler, instituting economic and political reforms, and making enemies. In 1640 he became the King's chief advisor, and was created Earl of Strafford; he planned to bring the Irish army against the Scots, encouraged despotic actions, and was a threat to Commons. On November 11 1640 Commons resolved to accuse him of high treason, and on November 20 produced 10 articles of accusation; on January 28, 1641 the committee handling the affair produced a revised, 28-article, version, and sent it to the Lords as the basis of a charge of impeachment to be brought by Commons in the Lords against Strafford. On February 23 Strafford gave his answer to each article to the Lords, which returned the answers to Commons.

Correspondence of George Townshend (1724-1807), 1st Marquis of Townshend, 1724-1807, and his circle. Letters directed to Townshend, primarily as Lord-Lieutenant of Ireland, 1767-1772. Other correspondence of the Townshend circle, etc.; most dated 1760-1820. Concerns politics, civil and military preferments, Army, militia, social life, Parliamentary news, India, Ireland, literary trivia, lawyers, estate matters, etc. Great Britain, Ireland, and abroad, 1711-1849.

Library catalogue of the library of the Right Honorable Charles William Earl of Charleville at his residence near Tullamoore, Ireland. 1825.Gives author, title, volumes, size, place, date, location (Library, Gallery, Breakfast Parlour). Most books are dated after 1760. Represents broad interests in the humanities and sciences, both British and European, and a careful choice of authors; a certain Irish emphasis. About 1500 books listed.

Minutes of the share-holders of the proposed tavern and refined meeting-place on the corner of Dolier St. and Burgh Quay, Dublin (later called Carlisle Building). Primarily expenses of finishing the building after the builder went bankrupt; legal difficulties with defaulting subscribers; leasing the building. Francis T. Brady, secretary. 1815-1817. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Autographs and sentiments by Young Irelanders imprisoned after the Rising of 1848: William S. O’Brien, Patrick O’Donohoe, Terence Bellew McManus, Thomas Francis Meagher, M.R. Leyne. Inscribed "To Miss Mary O’Neil ... from T. B. McManus, Nov 3rd 1848." FRAGILE: front cover detached. From the P. S. O’Hegarty collection.

A notebook containing the printed pages of a pamphlet entitled "confiscation or contract"; MS notes based on this pamphlet; MS notes for speeches, etc., on the relationship between England and Ireland. On Landlordism; appears to oppose the Agitation for Reform.
From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

This collection of manuscripts and published sources concerns the life and ancestry of Richard D'Olier of Dublin, Ireland, a leader in 18th century Dublin Methodism whose Huguenot ancestors emigrated from France to Ireland. Included is a memoir recounting the 1793 to 1794 imprisonment of the Richard D'Olier family members who were residing at Montauban in the south of France when the Reign of Terror commenced. See also MS Q39.

Diary of a young man of the lower middle class employed by W.H. Smith and Son. Brief notes on his courtship of Jane Hickey, and his social life (largely drinking, brawls, the theatre...). Loose materials at MS P382. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Dignam) for additional details.**

Copybook probably kept by the clerk of the Petty Sessions court, containing depositions, etc. 1863-1874: local crime (non-political); 1877-1881: local riots, etc; 1883-1901: scattered non-political cases. Dunfanaghy, Donegal. Ireland. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Dunfanaghy) for additional details.**

Notes on bells by William Frazer (1824-1899), letters received, etc., ca 1884-1898. On ancient Celtic ecclesiastical bells. Includes notebook, loose notes, sketches, letters to Frazer, offprints, etc. Great Britain: Ireland: Dublin; Scotland; England

This collection uses multiple online catalog records. For a listing, conduct a "Left Anchored-Call number" search for "MS P403" in KU's online catalog. Contains MS P403A: Galtrim Parish tithe composition book. Galtrim, Co. Meath, 17 May 1825; MS P403B:1: Typed copy of a Certificate by James Fox and Robert Williams, Commissioners, of the amount of composition for tithes from Galtrim parish (Co. Meath) due to the Vicar, Joseph Ashe, and George Fisher, and of the average price of oats, dated 14 March 1825.; MS P403B:2: Typed copy of a copy held by the Irish Land Commission of a resolution by the vestry and tithe owners of Galtrim parish, that the composition for tithes should not vary between 1825 and 1846, dated 14 Mar. 1825. Ireland, after 1899.; MS P403C: Typed extract from its Journal, pt. 3, vol. 8, Sept .1898, on the dilapidated state of Dunmoe Castle, near Navan, Co. Meath.

Genealogical notes concerning the Graves family of Ireland, the Parnell family, & inhabitants of Maryborough [now Port Lanoighse], Ireland, ca. 1842. Covers ca. 1730-1842. Index on pp. 82-83. Miscellaneous notes (scandals, memorable dates, the death of Nelson, the Wellesley family, coach schedules Limerick-Dublin, etc) throughout. Loose notes removed to MS P391. From the P. S. O’Hegarty collection.

Humorous log-book of a Dublin - Cork -Kinsale - Monkstown - Dublin cruise, 6 Aug to 2 Sept. The crew were Henry Molony, Arthur Knox, Ambrose Lee, William Webb, Capt. O’Flaherty, William Brocklebank, John and James Symes, and the "Grand Armourer late of HMS Doris" (the author).
Last page mutilated : 2-inch square cut from it. Stamped "C.H. Hone". From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Precis of correspondence between the Lord Chancellor and the several magistrates. Includes politics, civil disobedience, anti-tithe movement, physical violence, mistreatment of tenants. With orders to supersede certain magistrates.
From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Essay against making concessions to Irish rebels. Covers Anglo-Irish relations from the 12th century. 103 leaves. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Recollections of my tour to England, Holland, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland & Alsace. Includes original poems and versions of two Rhine legends.
May be by James Dignam? From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Irishman) for additional details.**

An Irishman abroad: Tour in Switzerland 1872. Dublin, 1872. Covers Chester, Paris, Switzerland. Includes tales, original poems. 58 leaves : illus., photographs, prints, clippings May be by James Dignam? From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Paris-Chateau de Launay-Fontainebleau-Auxerre-Dijon-Besançon-Pontalier-Neuchatel-Berne; Berne-Interlaken-Lauterbrun-Grindelwald-Rh^one glacier-Altdorf-Lucerne-Berne; Berne-Payerne-Lausanne-Geneva-Aix-Chambory-Lans-pass-Sura-Turin-Genoa-Carrara-Lucca. Eye for the picturesque & romantic, and agriculture and revenue. Discusses the unjust establishment of the church in Ireland. Meets Mr. Dames and Mr. Griffith. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Irish Parliamentary Party. Committee. Minute-book, with financial accounts, 1892-1896. London: House of Parliament: Whips' Room. The "Committee" is of anti-Parnellites: the chairman is Justin McCarthy, the secretary James F. X. O'Brien, members generally present are E. Blake, John Dillon, Thomas Sexton, T. M. Healy, Arthur O'Connor, William, O'Brien, T. P. O'Brien, T. D. Sullivan, W. Abraham, T. J. Condon. Its functions are: to disburse funds to MPs, to election candidates, to organizations like the Irish National Federation; to select candidate to stand for Irish seats and to set dates for election conventions. It also finds money for MPs about to become bankrupt, corresponds with America, and negotiates with the Government over points that must be covered in Parliament: Home Rule Bill, Evicted Tenants Bill, Irish Land Bill, Education Bill. There is a section of accounts before the minutes begin, and accounts are interspersed in the minutes. Letters are occasionally quoted in the minutes.

Scrapbook containing memoranda and papers connected with the report by Dr. William Neilson Hancock (1820-1888) on the supposed progressive decline of Irish prosperity in the 1860s. Larcom, as Under-Secretary for Ireland, sponsored Hancock's propaganda pamphlet in which statistics identified the problems. Includes letters from Dr. Hancock to Sir Thomas Larcom (1801-1879) on the progress of publication, often enclosing proofs for approval, and on difficulties in getting information; memos by Larcom on the Government's position; letters to Larcom and Hancock from informants, from well-wishers, and from critics; newspaper articles concerning the problem; and newspaper articles reviewing the Report. Most of the material was written from Ireland, but some items were written from England, 1863-1864

From Holles Street in Dublin, Edward Litton (1787-1870), master of the Irish court of chancery and a member of Parliament for Coleraine, writes to William Shaw Mason (1774-1853), bibliographer and statistician, about Mason's interest in an illuminated missal. Litton confirms the missal's authenticity and offers it to Mason, who will care for and value it more than Litton himself does. There is a partial red wax seal attached to the letter.

Diary of a retired army officer, a widower living with his four children and his relatives named Wilson in Monkstown, a Dublin suburb. Includes trips to his relatives Smyth and Lloyd in Tipperary; to his country house Red Cliffe near Limerick. Recipes at end of volume. In T. J. & J. Smith’s post diary [and] almanack [for] 1877. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Papers of 19th century Irish author Denis Florence MacCarthy, including draft poems and translations, notes about Irish history and from research MacCarthy appeared to be conducting, as well as a diary for the year 1877, financial accounts, and other miscellaneous items.

Fair copy of a lecture given in 1871, revised for publication. Notebook sold by Cork stationer.
Letter from Una ni Conchobhair removed to MS P392:1. From the P. S. O’Hegarty collection.

Letters by an Irish-English solicitor and politician.
See accessions sheet. Ca. 350 items.

In fragile stained notebook. Back cover inscribed "Sarah Eliza Manly, Tullamore, King’s County, Lienster [Leinster]..." The family has a governess and a piano. In this was found MS P392B: Servants book 1828-1839. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Farmer's account book of Michael McNally, active 1820-1859. Ireland: County Dublin: Balscadden parish: Newtown. Includes account with tenants and laborers. Most pairs of facing pages are foliated, book-keeper's style. Foliation breaks off with leaf 104; text continues to leaf [116]; about 50 blank leaves follow; and then 7 "at end" leaves.

Journal primarily reflects daily social life in his class in Dublin, in the suburbs, and in his family's country place in Mosstown. Interior evidence indicates that the author is a young man called "Millar" and "Mr. William." He lives with his middle-class family: father Adam Millar, sisters Mary and Isabel (Poppy), brothers Richard (an architect) and Edie (still in school) in Monkstown or Blackrock (refined Dublin suburbs) and commutes to Dublin to work in the family firm: a distillery and wine manufactory in Thomas Street, Dublin. He has interest in music, is a Protestant and a Free-Mason. He seldom refers to Irish politics; he is far more interested in the American Civil War and the death of Lincoln. He considers himself a gentleman. His Journal primarily reflects daily social life in his class in Dublin, in the suburbs, and in his family's country place in Mosstown. After May 1865 it is only taken up from time to time.

Scrapbook of letters and other materials relating to the Crimean War service (Royal Navy) of Surgeon Hugh O'Hagan and Captain Hyde Parker, 1854-1855. Hugh O'Hagan was the Surgeon aboard HMS Firebrand during the Crimean War, and wrote narrative letters home to his wife Nannie in Ireland. Nannie copied 33 of them (August 8, 1854 to June 30, 1855) into this "Second book, copies of my dear Husbands letters. Nannie O'Hagan. Boyne Cottage." Clippings concerning the war and mentioning O'Hagan are pasted into the book. O'Hagan was a close friend of his captain, Hyde Parker, who died a hero's death in his arms in the battle of Sulina (July 8, 1854). Clippings concerning Parker are also pasted in. Maps and views of the theatre of war, both manuscript and printed, are also pasted in. Subjects covered: details of land and sea battles, some first-hand; camp life; shipboard life; camp gossip (particularly concerning the rich, the well-connected, and the female). Friendly with Russell, the Times correspondent, and recommends his articles. Garrison life in Malta. Progress of the refugee children. The weather. Generalities on the bad Irish political character. Friendly correspondence with William Parker. He notes that the electric telegraph means that Malta gets its Black Sea news via England with only two days delay.

Diary kept by seminarian studying at the Irish College in Rome. Not strictly chronological. Largely very detailed accounts of public ceremonies, both religious and secular, in Rome, including the Carnival and chariot races in the Villa Borghese. Some detailed accounts of architecture and contents of Roman public buildings. Very detailed accounts of Gregory XVI's visit to Tivoli, and of his funeral. Includes brief account of journey Cork-Dublin-Liverpool-London-Southampton-Le Havre-Paris-Chalons-Lyons-Avignon-Marseilles-Civita Vecchia-Rome, October 29 - November 24, 1842. Some sight-seeing and details. Meets Dr Cullen, (presumably Paul Cullen, later Cardinal, head of Irish College) in Dublin.

This collection uses multiple online catalog records. For a listing, conduct a "Left Anchored-Call number" search for "MS P560" in KU's online catalog and for more detailed information consult the relevant Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Parnell). Letters, 1871-1879. Addressees include James Davis of Dublin and Mr. Osborne of Wicklow.

A collection of six autobiographical memorandum books written by Francis Sharkey of Rathmines, Dublin, Ireland, possibly starting as early as 1835 but, based on internal evidence, mostly in 1848-9. The contents are largely autobiographical: landmarks of family life, interactions with friends, apprenticeship to an attorney, military experiences, career as a magistrate, and Irish political events witnessed. Accounts cover events during the date range 1748-1849, but the dates covered in the individual books vary, overlap and are not always chronological.

Charles R. C. Tichborne, active 1857-1885, was a chemist, lecturer, and amateur musician in Dublin and the Dublin suburb Blackrock. He was secretary of the Apothecaries Hall of Ireland; interested in public health (adulteration, poisonous lead water-pipes, gas, smallpox, food reports, analysis of spa water) and therefore concerned with Dublin city politics. The journal (1872-1873) is interspersed with letters received (1872-1874), programs, announcements of lectures, matter relating to learned societies (1872-1892).

These accounts and memoranda concerning the United Irishman and Galway American were acquired with a partial run of the newspaper. Holdings of the newspaper are shelved at Special Collections call number: H258 include the Galway American: v. 1, nos.1-23, 25-52; v.2, nos. 1-2, 4-10 and its successor, the United Irishman and Galway American: v. 1, nos. 1-35.

Wexford Union Club. Visitors admission book. Wexford, Ireland, 1851-1869. Names of guests and names of members introducing them. Mutilated.
From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Correspondence between a schoolboy in Fribourg (Switzerland) and his family in Monkstown (Ireland). Switzerland and Ireland, 1843-1847. On his studies; Daniel O’Connell; some mention of local insurrections. Approximately 134 letters mounted in an album.

This collection consists of typed and handwritten drafts of writings submitted to the editors of the Catholic Bulletin and Book Review, an Irish periodical, as well as correspondence to the editors, to the publishers at M.H. Gill & Son, and specifically to John Joseph O'Kelly, one of the editors of the Bulletin and an Irish republican of the first half of the 20th century. Creators: Ua Ceallaigh, Seán, 1872-1957; Keohane, Patrick

Scrapbook/commonplace book, labeled "Album" on the cover and kept by Sall Curry, an Irish nun who traveled to Poland and Russia around the turn of the 19th/20th centuries. Includes verse and prose written and copied by Curry, as well as notes and autographs from friends and family. The volume also contains some pressed flowers and plants, drawings, and watercolors.

Three bound volumes containing notes on Irish politics. MS G19: Irish National Federation. ca. 1898-1896; MS C217: Notes on Irish Politics November 5, 1919-January 27, 1921 ; MS C216: General politics from September 1, 1919.

Letter to Patrick Sarsfield O’Hegarty (1879-1955). 4 Lower Montenotte, Cork, 15 June 1947. 5 p. Typed Letter Signed; discusses his biography of O’Brien the Irish rebel. Enclosed in W.B. Yeats’ Tribute to Thomas Davis. Cork Univ. Press, 1947.

Letter to "A cara" [P.S. O’Hegarty?]. 15 Oct. [1921?] 2 p. (1 piece). Found in O’Hegarty’s review copy of Garden Wisdom, 1921, annotated 12/10/21. (Call #: O’Hegarty B1865). On Temple Hill, Treasure, Dublin notepaper. Thanks for your fortifying review. The book was sincere, written while I was nursing her through frightful influenza. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Autographs of Irish internees in Frongoch Camp, Wales, 1916; and of Irish prisoners in Mountjoy Prison, Dublin, 1921. With sentiments, poems, names and addresses, prison records, patriotic slogans, a sketch of Frongoch by P. na Ceallaig, and a poem by Terence MacSwiney. Autograph Book appears to have belonged to Paul Cusack. In English and Irish. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection. *** Digitized version of autograph book available at https://exhibits.lib.ku.edu/files/original/c5de3cbddb2767e281ab5267e93b6648.pdf ***

Ballykinlar Internment Camp, County Down, Ireland, 1921. Autographs of Irish internees. With names, addresses, patriotic sentiments, verse, watercolours of camp and surroundings. English, Gaelic. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Collection of complaints about the conditions in the Frongoch (Wales) and Aylesbury (England) camps for Irish political prisoners. Ireland, mimeographed, 1916? From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection. 11 leaves. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Irish Internment Camps) for additional details.**

Album of travel photos and letters compiled by Frederick H. Lawless. Ireland and abroad, 1878-1920. Ca. 53 photos; 9 letters. Also clippings, etc. Additional loose material (water-colours, clippings, letters etc) removed to MS P386. Includes materials by Sir Herbert Beerbohm Tree (1853-1917), Sir Irving Henry (1838-1905), Randall Edward Sherborne Plunkett, (1848-1883), Sir Horace Curzon Plunkett (1854-1932), and Denis Lawless. From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection. **See Reading Room paper inventory (Catalog IV: Lawless) for additional details.**

Irish literary/political letters written by Michael O'Donovan (alias Frank O'Connor) to P.S. O'Hegarty. Found in P.S. O'Hegarty's copy of O'Connor's The Road to Stratford (Call # O'Hegarty B2638). 1959.

Abraham George Haskins entered Rathmines School, Dublin, in 1874. This list of Rathmines students, 1858-1899, with biographical notes, was printed in 1932 and circulated to Rathmines Old Boys. Haskins annotated his copy with further biographical notes and school memories, and with notes on his own life and genealogy. He tipped in some printed material: the appeal and biographical form issued by the editors of the roll, and the Programme of the Royal Dublin Society Spring Agricultural Show; and some scraps of annotated paper. Rathmines School: Founded in 1858 by C.W. Benson and Freeman Wills. A boarding school for a variety of prosperous Church-of-Ireland Irish boys, located in Rathmines, a southern suburb of Dublin. Closed in 1899 with the retirement of Dr. Benson, its only Headmaster. 2190 pupils in all. (Note: AE (G.W. Russell) entered in 1882; but Haskins added nothing to the printed entry concerning AE.)

Post-card to Thomas J. Fenning, Freeman’s Journal, Dublin. 8, Airfield Road, Rathgar, Dublin, 22 Feb. 1908. 1 p. and address (1 piece). Scope/Content: ALS; cannot attend the dinner on 29th inst. Enclosed (probably by chance) in official envelope from the Inspector of Taxes, Dublin, Addressed to Thomas J. Fenning, 3 Wood Quay, Dublin, 23 Aug. 1920 (?). Found in O’Hegarty’s copy of O’Hanrahan’s When the Norman Came, 1918 (Call #: O’Hegarty B1808).From the P.S. O’Hegarty collection.

Autograph book compiled in November and December 1923 in no. 2 Camp, Tintown, The Curragh, Ireland. The volume mostly consists of entries by Tipperary, Kilkenny and Laois prisoners, but also includes entries from prisoners removed from Cork, Kerry and Dublin. These individuals were imprisoned by the Irish Free State for fighting, or being suspected of fighting, on the Anti-Treaty side of the 1922-1923 Civil War. Individual entries often note the date and provide a poem, quotation, or other composition in addition to the individual's signature.

Printed work with extensive manuscript additions on facing blank pages.

Account of historical occurrences in Wicklow, Ireland, arranged chronologically. Drawn from MS and other sources. Includes lists of sheriffs and Members of Parliament. From the P. S. O'Hegarty Collection

Diary of a Medical Officer attached to the Ulster Division of the British Army. W. Wilson. Etaples, France, November 1917-March 1918. The author of this diary has been tentatively identified as William James Wilson (1879-1954), who later became Professor of Public Health at Queen's University, Belfast. Diary contains: Daily life: conversations, entertainments, scenery. Little on medical matters. Literary and emotional reflections. Local battlefront news: tanks, flying. Irish and general political and war-news. Last entry: "Hun offensive started…Had lunch at Camiers...There will be few more chances of these Jaunts for a while now..." followed by many blank pages.