Laws and Regulations
Statutes and Regulations (Books)
-
Statutes and regulations of the People's Republic of China
by
Call Number: KNQ15 .C42Hong Kong : University of East Asia Press and Institute of Chinese Law (Publishers) Ltd., 1987-
-
The laws of the People's Republic of China
by
Call Number: KNQ13 1987aISBN: 7119001035Beijing : Foreign Languages Press, 1987-2004. -
Laws and regulations of the People's Republic of China, Vol. 2Call Number: KNQ3202 .C45 1984Hong Kong : Hong Kong Cultural Company, 1984.
-
Major laws of the People’s Republic of China : a preliminary index and collection of legal documents byCall Number: KNQ13 .M33Honolulu, Hawaii : East-West Center, China Law Project, c1984
Dynasty Law Code
- Journal of Asian Legal History An on-line periodical about Asian Legal History, founded by KU professor Wallace Johnson.
-
The T'ang code
by
Call Number: KNN30.A4 E54 1997ISBN: 0691025797The Tang Code was a penal code during the Tang Dynasty in China. This book is translated with an introduction by Wallace Johnson. -
The Song Code 宋刑統
Call Number: KNN30.5 .A2 1964The legal code established and used in Song Dynasty. -
The Yuan Code 元典章
Call Number: KNN 39.7 .A2 1990ISBN: 7805681651The Yuan Code includes edicts, regulations, statutes and cases in Yuan Dynasty in China. -
The Ming Code 大明律
Call Number: KNN32 .A2 1990The Ming Code contains the statutes established and promulgated in the Ming Dynasty in China. -
The Qing Code 大清律例彙輯便覽
Call Number: KNN34 .T3 1975The Qing Code is the compilation of legal documents promulgated in the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) in China. It includes statutes, regulations and cases. -
Yunmeng Shuihudi Qin mu 云梦睡虎地秦墓
Call Number: DS793.Y7995 Y86 1981The book includes texts on bamboo from a Qin-period grave at Shuihudi, Yunmeng County, China. Most of the texts are about the regulations and cases in Qin Dynasty. -
Zhongguo zhen xi fa lü dian ji ji cheng 中國珍稀法律典籍集成
by
Call Number: KNN6.5 .C47 1994This is a collection of rare Chinese law works. It includes law of ethnic minorities in China. It has three volumes. -
Zhangjiashan Han mu zhu jian (er si qi hao mu) 張家山漢墓竹簡 (二四七號墓)
Call Number: folio PL2448 .Z39 2001ISBN: 7501012571The "Er Nian Lv ling" (二年律令 the Second Year Laws) appears in the "Zhangjiashan Han mu zhu jian" (Bamboo slip of Han Dynasty grave from Zhangjiashan) is a primary source of Han Code.
Background
As one of the oldest legal traditions in the world, Chinese law came into existence along with Imperial Confucianism in the Han Dynasty (around 1st Century BC) and this tradition still deeply influences contemporary Chinese law in many areas. The modern legal system of the People’s Republic China (PRC) has also been influenced by the European civil law system.
The three legal branches in China are quite different from the United States'. The legislative house in China is the National People’s Congress. The highest court is the Supreme People’s Court. The executive power is vested in State Council, which is also known as central government. However, in reality, all three branches are under the leadership of the Chinese Communist Party.
Starting in the 1970's, Deng Xiaoping inaugurated the Socialist market economy. Accordingly, the rule of law was engraved into the society as a measurement to maintain the socialist market economy system. For more details please refer to the Rule of Law in China by Professor Eric W. Orts from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.
Statutes and Regulations (Monograph Series)
-
Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo fa lü hui bian 中华人民共和国法律汇编
Call Number: KNQ12 .C48This is a compilation of laws of the PRC from 1979.
-
Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo fa gui hui bian 中华人民共和國法規彙編
Call Number: JQ1513.A3 C5This volume is a compilation of regulations of the PRC from 1954, published annually. -
Zhonghua renmin gongheguo quanguo renmin daibiao dahui changwu weiyuanhui gonggao 中华人民共和国全国人民代表大会常务委员会公报
Call Number: DS 777.55 .A25Gazette of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress of the PRC. All laws enacted and resolutions passed by the National People's Congress are reported in this gazette. -
Zhongguo falu nian jian 中国法律年鉴 (Law Year Book of China)
Call Number: K3 .H86The law year book of China carries law and regulations published in the respective year of publication. It also includes statistics related to the fields of state legislation, judicial procurator, public security, and judicial administrative and civil affairs. Updated law year books can be found in Chinalawinfo.com.
Statutes and regulations （online)
-
The World Bank Doing Business Law LibraryThe Doing Business law library is a free online collection of business laws and regulations. It contains the English translation of most China business laws and regulations.
-
Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo quan guo ren min dai biao da hui chang wu wei yuan hui gong bao中华人民共和国全国人民代表大会常务委员会公报Gazette of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress of the PRC. All laws enacted and resolutions passed by the National People's Congress are reported in this gazette. This is an E-journal. Both English and Chinese versions are available.
-
Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo Guowuyuan Gongbao 中华人民共和国国务院公报Gazette of the State Council of the PRC. It is contains legal documents, decrees and government resolutions published, orders and instructions. This is an E-journal and includes all gazettes from 2005 to present.
-
北大法意Chinese language database that covers Chinese laws regulations and cases as well as Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan material.
-
The Congressional-Executive Commission on ChinaSources for legislation and human rights-related topics (sources in Chinese & English).
-
Chinese Government Information Resources on the InternetA list of popular Internet portals to Chinese government websites or websites providing Chinese government information.
China & Korea Studies
Law Society
-
The American Society of International LawThe American Society of International Law (ASIL) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, educational membership organization founded in 1906 and chartered by Congress in 1950. The mission of the ASIL is to foster the study of international law and to promote the establishment and maintenance of international relations on the basis of law and justice.
-
The U.S.-China Legal Exchange FoundationFounded on 2008, as an independent, non-profit professional organization, the U.S.-China Legal Exchange Foundation (UCLEF)'s mission is to promote, facilitate and strengthen the legal communication and collaboration between China and the United States by bringing together all appropriate resources.
Blog
-
China Law Prof. BlogA blog of Donald C. Clarke
Professor of Law
George Washington University Law School