Recommended databases and online film resources
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Film Library has over 800 quality documentaries and films distributed in the following collections: Argentine Cinema, European Cinema, French Collection, History, Latin American Selection, Nature and Wildlife, North American Classic Cinema, Spanish Cinema, Cuban Cinema and Travel Documentary.
- Films on Demand - Digital Education VideoFilms on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos. Contains over 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system. Clips can be incorporated into Blackboard. Some films in Spanish.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowThis aggregated database provides access to all of KU’s Alexander Street Press collections. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Additional Film Databases
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to three databases--the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog), and the British Film Institute (Film Index International), and the FIAF international index to film periodicals plus databases.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming video on-demand service which provides access to educational films.
- PBS Video Collection (5th Edition) This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of PBS's most popular documentaries and series in streaming video.
Documentaries
- World history in video This link opens in a new windowThis online collection of streaming video will give faculty, students, and history lovers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. World History in Video is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
Assistance with streaming videos
- Streaming videoThis guide provides information about streaming video services provided by KU Libraries. In addition to general information about the various collections, there are instructions on how to link these services in Blackboard.
EGARC - KU language resource center
- KU Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center (EGARC)The Center houses a collection of approximately 12,000 audio and video items in over 60 languages.
Located on the fourth floor of Wescoe Hall. The main office is in room 4070.
Movies online
- Cine Chileno Online"En este lugar agrupamos 956 largos de ficción, documentales y cortometrajes que han sido subidos para verse online de manera oficial, según los sitios que los han puesto a disposición. En este sentido, destacamos la gran labor de los sitios del Archivo Digital de la Cineteca Nacional, Cinetecavirtual.cl, Cinépata.com y el Archivo Patrimonial de la Universidad de Santiago." (Cine Chileno website)
Reference works
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Call Number: DP233.5 .E63 1999Publication Date: 1999- Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture [electronic resource] byCall Number: (Source: ebrary Academic Complete)Publication Date: 1999Licensed for all KU students, faculty and staff connecting to the Internet.
Oxford bibliographies online
- Cinema and media studiesNEW 2013--Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Numerous topics are covered such as directors, children in film, censorship, violence, etc., including a bibliography devoted to "Cuban Cinema".
Provides expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them.
Internet Resources
- LANIC - Cinema page - A comprehensive page of the BEST links to Latin American film by country.
- Latin American and Spanish Online Videos on the Internet: A Guide to Web Resources (SUNY-Albany) - brings together a selection of more than 100 unique web resources that provide access to freely available videos, representing the Latin American and Spanish video production on the Internet. Each resource is carefully evaluated and fully annotated. Can browse videos by subject, country and many other categories.
- La dictadura en el cine: catálogo de películas sobre la última dictadura, el terrorismo de Estado, y la transición democrática en la Argentina - Compiled by La Asociación Civil Memoria Abierta
-
About - World Film - A comprehensive resource for films fans, covering the best of both world film and independent cinema.
-
Cinexos: webring - Webring of Spanish and Latin American cinema. 550 biographies. In German and English.
-
El Amante - An Argentinian magazine of film criticism with reviews, essays and interviews.
-
FOCAL International - The Federation of Commercial Audiovisual Libraries International represents commercial film/audiovisual, stills and sound libraries as well as interested individuals such as facility houses, professional film researchers and producers working in the industry.
-
Focus: world film market trends. An online annual in PDF format published by the European Audiovisual Observatory.
-
ForeignFilms.com - Foreign films on the web. Site contains classic titles and new releases. Reviews and plot summaries are reviewd by a user community. Also has an active message board.
-
GoogleScholar - Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
-
Google Book Search - Search Spanish film or Spanish cinema.
-
Kino International: The Best in World Cinema - A distribution company specializing in classics and foreign language art films.
-
La Bibliothèque du Film (BiFi) The primary European center for documentary resources on cinema.
-
Questia.com – book search - Search Latin American film or Latin American cinema.