Spanish and Latin American film: Finding Articles

JSTOR - is a based online system for archiving academic journals, founded in 1995. It provides full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals, dating back to 1665 in the case of the Philosophical Transactions.

Provides access to three databases--the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog), and the British Film Institute (Film Index International), and the FIAF international index to film periodicals plus databases. The AFI Catalog indexes films released from 1893-1958 and 1961-1970. The Film Index International indexes films released from 1900 to the present. Records include information detailing the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. Person records include complete biographical information, a list of awards received, plus a complete list of the films the subject featured in.

Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.

A bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs. The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals indexes 300 academic and popular film journals, from 1972 to the present.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Classic Mexican Cinema Online contains a collection of popular movie periodicals from the archives of Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City. It includes chief magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965) and Cine Mundial (1954-1955). It also features extremely rare copies of El Cine Grafico from 1935 and of the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910). The true extent of the popularity of Mexican film is illustrated by Cinelandia (1931-1947), which was published in Hollywood both in Spanish and in English. This collection also includes dozens of film flyers, which were distributed on the streets to lure people into the cinema. Finally, this collection gives access to the personal scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), one of the leading Latin-American filmmakers to this day.

Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full-text from many sources, covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Full-text ranges from 1864 to the present.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin America History is a specialized resource with hundreds of articles covering a wide range of topics beginning in 1492 and before to current times. The articles are peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, while maintaining the rigorous standards of academic publishing.

Contains materials from 33 different archival collections that offers content a variety of topics including indigenous peoples, Conquest/Conquista, colonial rule, religion, and social progress.

Cancelled due to budget constraints. Access retained to Historical Collections only.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese, and examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies.

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. For online tutorial, click here.