Major Museums in Tokyo
- Edo Tokyo Museum (江戸東京博物館)Founded on March 28,1993, This museum functions as a facility to preserve the historical heritage of Edo-Tokyo.
Other Museums, Art Organizations in Japan
Questions? Contact Michiko Ito (mito@ku.edu)
Shinjuku at night, photo by (c)Tomo.Yun
http://www.yunphoto.net
Selected Digital Museums on the Image of Tokyo
- Edo Tokyo Digital Museum by Tokyo Metropolitan LibraryCreated by Tokyo Metropolitan Library, this site presents the history and culture of Edo/Tokyo.
- "Memories of Metroplis-Tokyo" by Tokyo Metropolitan LibraryFeatures the images from Tokyo-related documents since the Meiji Periord.
- Tokyo Digital MuseumCollection index site of 4 major museums in Tokyo: Edo-Tokyo Museum, Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, and Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum.
U.S. art museums with major Asian holdings
There are many important collections of East Asian art in museums in the United States. The websites for these institutions will not only describe current and past exhibitions but will often provide photographs of the collection with detailed descriptions.
Asian Art Museum of San Francisco. One of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art.
Cleveland Museum of Art. An important art collection that spans the centuries and the world in it's 15 departments. The Chinese collection is renowned.
Freer and Sackler Galleries of Art. Part of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC these museums have art objects East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, the Islamic world, the ancient Neat East, and ancient Egypt.
Honolulu Museum of Art. Hawaiʻi’s largest private presenter of visual arts programs, boasting a permanent collection of over 40,000 works of art from cultures around the world and perhaps most well known for its collection of Asian art, especially Japanese and Chinese works.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art. A multi-building complex with collections from around the world. The Hammer Building houses the Chinese and Korean collections and the Pavilion for Japanese Art displays the Shin'enkan collection donated by Joe D. Price.
Minneapolis Institute of Art. The collection of Asian art represents 17 Asian cultures spanning nearly 5,000 years.
Museum of Fine Arts Boston. One of the largest museums in the United States with an extensive collection of Chinese art and the largest museum collection of Japanese works under one roof in the world outside of Japan.
Seattle Art Museum. The Asian Art Museum in Seattle is a division of the Seattle Art Museum. They recently published a catalog for the Chinese Painting & Calligraphy portion of the collection.
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. Located in Kansas City, MO about an hour's drive from Lawrence. An encyclopedic museum with particular strength in Asian art.