Find Books (and more)
Primo smart search (note: not all Asian studies databases are included)
Library of Congress classification numbers. | Watson Library stack map: Click Here
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
- Google book search This link opens in a new windowClick the book title and you will see a short bibliography and the sentences which contain your search term. PDF copies are free to download if the book belongs to the public domain.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowDigital repository of collections (books and journals) of some of the major research libraries in the United States. More than 30% of the content is in the public domain or Creative Commons licensed and is freely available to view, download and print.
- 青空文庫 (Original)Contains more than 10,000 of works of Japanese-language fiction and non-fiction that are either out-of-copyright or that the authors wish to make freely available. The files can be downloaded in PDF format or simply viewed in HTML format. The resources can be searched by category, author, or title.
- 青空文庫 PDF版Part of the Internet Archive's Open Library, which made the Aozora Bunko collection available, using Open Publication Distribution System.
Find Books (and more) in Japanese Libraries
- CiNii ResearchThis enables to cross search not only books and articles but also research data from external collaborating institutions and institutional repositories. To see the list of databases incorporated in CiNii Research, see here.
Database Instruction
Click the power point file below to review the library instruction held on Feb. 14, 2013.
Selected Databases to Find Asian Art Journals and Indexes
Click here to see a complete list of databases pertaining to art and art history.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowFeaturing 8,750 of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations to Western-language periodical articles pertaining to Asia.
- Art full text This link opens in a new windowContains indexing and abstracting dating from 1984 for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations on the subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, & design.
- Art index retrospective : 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowProvides citation indexing of fine art, decorative art, and commercial art journals, yearbooks and museum publications from 1929-1984.
- ARTbibliographies modern This link opens in a new windowProvides citations with abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- Arts and humanities citation index This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum, including online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present).
- Pop culture universe This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Online Reference Tools
- Britannica online This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.
- Choice reviews onlineThe premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources
- Encylopedia of JapanEnglish encyclopedia of Japan. Part of JapanKnowledge+. Contains the full body text of Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia (Kodansha, 1993).