Textbooks
Columbia anthology of modern Chinese literature by Call Number: PL2658.E1 C64 2007 (Watson)ISBN: 0231138407 (cloth : alk. paper)Table of contents only, 2nd edition. New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
Running wild : new chinese writers by Call Number: PL2658.E8 R86 1994 (Watson)ISBN: 0231096488New York : Columbia University Press, c1994.
Assigned Readings/Excerpts
Lapse of Time by Call Number: PL2919.A58 A28 1988 (Watson)ISBN: 0835120317San Francisco : China Books & Periodicals, 1988. Print.
Memories of Peking : South Side Stories. (Cheng nan jiu shi) by Call Number: PL2878.N13 C413 2002 (Watson)ISBN: 9629960125Hong Kong : Chinese University Press, 2002. Print.
Raise the red lantern : three novellas by Call Number: PL2904.T86 A24 1993 (Watson)ISBN: 0688122175New York : W. Morrow and Co., 1993. Print.
Red sorghum : a novel of China [Hung kao liang chia tsu. English.] by Call Number: PL2886.O1684 H8613 1993 (Watson)ISBN: 0670844020
Love must not be forgotten by Call Number: PL2837.C486 A288 1986 (Watson)ISBN: 0835116980 (pbk.)San Francisco : China Books & Periodicals ; Beijing, China : Panda Books, c1986. Includes Love must not be forgotten and the ark.
Taibei ren. Chinese & English.= Taipei people. by Call Number: PL2892.A345 T313 2000 East Asian LibraryISBN: 9622018599Xianggong : Zhong wen da xue chu ban she, 2000. "Winter Nights"
To Live by Call Number: PL2928.H78 H8613 2003 (Watson)ISBN: 1400031869New York : Anchor Books, 2003. Print.
Worlds of Modern Chinese Fiction by Call Number: PL2658.E8 W58 1991ISBN: 0873327578Publication Date: Armonk: M E Sharpe,1991-07-31Chinese fiction-20th century - translations into English
EALC 331 Contemp. Chinese Lit. in Translation
Contemporary Chinese Literature in Translation
Dr. Hui Xiao
This course offers an introduction to the literature of 20th century China. It is designed for students with little knowledge of Chinese language or culture. the main goal is to gain knowledge and understanding of the modern Chinese-speaking world, including Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, through the mediation of literature. Students are expected to nurture a sensibility to literary texts and a critical consciousness in cross-cultural context.
This research guide provides library resources and other available resources for the study of this course. Research skills to find print materials in the library catalog, WorldCat, Interlibrary Loan Services, electronic databases, and bibliography citation tools are included. Interested students should contact Chinese Studies Librarian for assistance.
Contemporary Authors
Video Recordings
And the spring comes = Li Chun [videorecording] by Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .L5 2008 (Watson Video Collection)A talented but unattractive school music teacher dreams of an operatic career. (Dialogue in Chinese Mandarin, with simplified Chinese subtitles)
Chʻeng nan chiu shih [videorecording] = My memories of old Beijing by Call Number: PL2878.N13 C424 1982 (Shelved at Watson Library Reserve - In Library Use Only)Los Angeles, CA : China Film Export & Import (distributor), [1983?]. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1982. 1 videocassette (96 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in.
"Red Sorghum" in Se cai da shi Zhang Yimou dian ying zuo pin zhen cang ji [videorecording] = Zhang Yimou film of artistic by Call Number: DVD PN1997.A1 Z43 2000z (Watson Library - Video Collection (4th Floor))[China : s.n., 200-?] [disc 1-2] Dai hao Mei Zhou bao, Da hong deng long gao gao gua = Raise the red lantern [disc 3.] Hong gao liang.
Huo zhe [videorecording] = To live (1994) by Call Number: PN1997 .H8552 1994Santa Monica, CA : MGM Home Entertainment, [2003]. World films (MGM Home Entertainment Inc.) VHS
Raise the Red Lantern = Da hong de long gao gao gua [videorecording] by Call Number: DVD PL2904.T86 Q5224 1991 (Watson Reserve)Based on the novel: Qi qie cheng qun / by Su Tong. An idealistic young woman agrees to become the fourth wife to the wealthy Chen, a distant man who encourages his wives to compete for his affections.(In Mandarin, with optional English, French or Spanish subtitles ; closed-captioned in English.)Also available for check out PN1997 .D22352 1991 (Watson Video Collection, 4th floor)
Raise the Red Lantern. (1991)in tudou.com (Chinese and English subtitles)
Jia zhuang yi niu che [videorecording] (An Oxcart for a Dowry) by Call Number: DVD PN1997 .J53 2000 Watson Library - Video Collection (4th Floor)Taibei Xian : Tai sheng duo mei ti gu fen you xian gong si, [2000?]. 1 videodisc (98 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
Happy times [videorecording] by Call Number: DVD PN1997 .X562 2000 Watson Library - Video Collection (4th Floor)ISBN: 0767882997Mo, Yan, 1955- Shi fu yue lai yue you mo. Mandarin dialogue, English or French subtitles.
[Los Angeles, Calif.] : 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, c2002.