KU image gateway
- Image GatewayInclude here are licensed commercial sources, publicly available collections, and images digitized from resources in the KU libraries, museums, and academic departments. Information and terms of use for each collection is found in the listing.
- ARTstor Help & TutorialOne of the most comprehensive image resources licensed by KU is ARTstor with more than 1 million images on a wide-range of topics. This guide introduces the resource and helps users learn to find, download, save, print, organize, and share images
Writing & Citing
- Writing about ArtPrepared by Marjorie Munsterberg of City College, New York, and intended to help students improve their ability to write about visual things.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 201110th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2011. Useful guide that is now in its 10th edition. Shows how to analyze art and suggests tools needed for effective writing.
- Chicago manual of style online This link opens in a new window16th ed. The style guide primarily used in humanities fields such as art history.
General information
Images may be found in a variety of formats on publicly accessible web sites. Copyright restrictions may apply to these images, and the web master of a given site may need to be consulted when images are used. Many large and small museums have excellent web sites which display images from their collections as well as information about the images and contacts for more assistance. The library also has many lavishly illustrated books and journals that are available for research.
Art Images
In addition to these general art image collections, check the museums with large textile and fashion collections on the last tab of this LibGuide.
- Art ResourceA large commercial photo archive of fine art from prehistoric times to the present. Includes over three million transparencies and black and white photographs of works cross-referenced by subject, title, artist, period, place, and medium.
- Bridgeman ImagesA commercial vendor founded in 1972 offering art, culture, and history images from over 8,000 collections; more than 55,000 entries and 46,497 images from over 29,000 artists.
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowGateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. In addition to the more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies, the product offers 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.
- Image Collections and Online ArtDirectory of image websites compiled by Pat Young at the University of Michigan.
Image Copyright
Permissions, a Survival Guide by Call Number: KF3050 .B54 2006Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 2006. Readers will learn how to determine if an artwork is copyrighted, how to get a high-quality reproduction, and what 'fair use' is.
- Artists Rights SocietyThe preeminent copyright, licensing, and monitoring organization for visual artists in the United States. Founded in 1987, ARS represents the intellectual property rights interests of over 50,000 visual artists and estates of visual artists from around the world (painters, sculptors, photographers, architects and others).
- Copyright Crash CourseA website prepared by Georgia Harper, Office of General Counsel at the University of Texas, outlining some of the legal issues regarding copyright and fair use.