Selected Journals
Some of these journals document the textile industry while others cover the textile arts. Additional journal titles can be found by using the KU Library Catalog.
- Textile historyThis journals uses a broad and inclusive definition of textile history to include the economic, social and cultural history of textiles, their technological development, design, conservation, the history of dress and other uses of textiles, from prehistory to the present. Issues from 2000-06 available online. Earlier issues available in Watson Library at HD 9850.1.T52.
- Textile: the Journal of Cloth and CultureScholarly, peer-reviewed journal. Issues from 2003-10 available online.
- Textile Research JournalPublished since 1930, this journal dissiminates scientific information related to textitles and allied industries. Issues from 1997-present available online.
- CraftsFrom the British Crafts Council, this journal features work by craftsmen worldwide and includes a calendar of craft events. Issues from 1997-present available online.
- FiberARTSCovers contemporary fiberart and artists, profiles, news, travel. Issues from 1997-present available online.
- HandwovenProvides woven projects, articles, reviews, and product information. KU owns issues from 1980-present in the Art & Architecture Library at Call Number: TT 848.H355.
- Shuttle, Spindle & DyepotPublished by the Handweavers Guild of America. KU owns issues from 1972 -present in the Art & Architecture Library at Call Number: TT 848.S53.
- Surface Design JournalCovers contemporary textile art with emphasis on surface treatment. Issues from 2000-present available online. Earlier issues available in the Art & Architecture Library at Call Number: NK 8800.S97.
- Textile ForumTrade magazine with information on international events and developments occurring in the field of textile culture. KU owns issues from 1994 to present in the Art & Architecture Library at Call Number: TT 699.D48.
Using Interlibrary Borrowing
KU students may borrow items not owned by the KU Libraries or may request scans of articles from our print-only journals. Instructions for using these services are described in the Request Materials LibGuide.
Indexes & Bibliographies
To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the Library Catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the 
symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.
General indexes
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Specialized indexes
- Art full text This link opens in a new windowContains indexing and abstracting dating from 1984 for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations on the subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, & design; journals are primarily but not exclusively English-language; full-text articles from over 300 journals dating from 1995; also indexes nearly 200,000 art reproductions that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements. Can be combined with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage to 1929.
- ARTbibliographies modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art with an emphasis on 20th & 21st century art
- Bibliography of the history of art This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles. Also includes the contents of two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (1973-1989) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975-1989).
- Design and applied arts index This link opens in a new windowReferences from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards.