History of Textiles Information Resources: Organizations & Museums

Founded in England in 1925. Aim is to facilitate learning, to recognise achievement, to reward excellence and to disseminate information regarding all sectors and all disciplines in textiles, clothing and footwear.

Founded in 1969. HGA brings together weavers, spinners, dyers, basketmakers, fiber artists and educators and seeks to increase awareness of and appreciation for the fiber arts.

An international forum for the exchange and dissemination of information about textiles worldwide, from artistic, cultural, economic, historic, political, social, and technical perspectives.

Intended to bring together cultural producers (artists, designers, craft people, authors etc.), carriers of cultural heritage (in museums, archives, libraries etc.), lecturers, researchers and textile enthusiasts in order to promote the exchange of information and experiences, to encourage the cooperation in projects and to arrange meetings.

A community of international creators, educators, collectors, and curators dedicated to the art and practice of surface design.

A national center with the mission to honor textile traditions, promote excellence and innovation, and inspire widespread participation in fiber art.

Located in NY, NY; part of the Smithsonian Institution; the museum's textiles collection contains more than 30,000 pieces representing a range of woven and non-woven techniques; extending from ancient to contemporary examples, the earliest pieces in the collection are from Han Dynasty China (206 BC–AD 221).

Located in Washington, D.C., the museum's collections number more than 19,000 objects and span 5,000 years dating from 3,000 B.C.E. to the present. Includes a large collection of Oriental rugs as well as early Islamic textiles, Indian, Southeast Asian, Central Asian, Persian, Turkish, and Greek textiles along with textiles from China, Japan and Africa. Extraordinary holdings of pre-Columbian Peruvian textiles and extensive holdings of textiles in the modern traditions.

Located at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, this collection of over 9000 textiles is part of the UW Digital Images Collection and is searchable by keyword or other descriptors. The collection spans a broad spectrum of times, places, and techniques from archeological material (primarily Peruvian and Coptic) through contemporary fiber art. Particular strengths are ethnographic textiles and costumes (especially South and Southeast Asian and Latin American material), as well as European and American home furnishing and apparel fabrics.

Located in London, the Textiles and Fasion collection covers a period of more than 2,000 years with a broad geographic range and a particular emphasis on Europe. Most techniques are represented including woven, printed, embroidered textiles, lace, tapestries, and carpets. The database is searchable by material, date, or place of origin.

Located in Toronto, the collection has more than 12,000 objects from more than 200 countries and regions. The collection celebrates cultural diversity and includes traditional fabrics, garments, carpets, and related artifacts.

Located in Lincoln, NE, the 3500+ quilts date from the early 1700s to the present and represent more than 25 countries. The website includes access to the collections' database.

Located in San Jose, CA; founded in 1977; the Museum’s collection consists of some 550 quilts, garments and ethnic textiles, and a research library of more than 500 books on the history and making of quilts and textiles.

Located in Ithaca, NY; includes more than 9,000 items of apparel dating from the 18th century to the present, as well as a substantial collection of ethnographic textiles and costume.

Located in Bedford, PA; devoted to coverlet collection, exhibition, study, education and research; over 500 coverlets have been pledged to the museum along with weaving equipment and archives.