General Information
- Timeline of Art HistoryA chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world extending from prehistory to the present day, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Researching by Time Period
- The Lady and the unicorn : making sense of the senses byA 33 minute film regarding this set of 6 medieval tapestries housed in the Cluny Museum in Paris.
- Bauhaus Textiles : women artists and the weaving workshop byCall Number: NK8998.B38 W45 1993(London: Thames and Hudson, c1993) Located in the Art & Architecture Library
With Needle and Brush by Call Number: NK9212 .W57 2011(Old Lyme, CT: Florence Griswold Museum ; Middletown, CT: Published in association with Wesleyan University Press, c2011) Located in the Art & Architecture Library
Researching by Culture
One approach to researching by culture is to start with the Oxford Art Online, an encyclopedia with scholarly articles that include bibliographic references. Another option would be to search the Library Catalog using terms such as "Textile history" and (country or culture name).
Researching by Culture
Navajo Weaving by (Santa Fe, NM: School of American Research Press, 2002, c1985) Traces this art from about 1650 to present day with information on history, styles, and methods.- Weaving and dyeing in highland Ecuador [electronic resource] by(Austin: University of Texas Press, 2007) This comprehensive study includes not only descriptions of the indigenous weaving and dyeing technology but also an interpretation of the historical significance.
Textile Artists
- AHR netIncludes Arts + Architecture ProFILES, an online dictionary of designers including 1293 textile artists.
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowThis online encyclopedia includes articles about individual textile and fashion designers as well as articles about textiles from all eras and countries.
Contemporary Textile Artists
Books on individual artists can be found by using the Library Catalog while articles on individuals are found through using the Indexes and databases.
One particularly good series of series of volumes is Portfolio, published since 2000-, with each volume focusing on an important, international textile artist. The volumes are well illustrated and provide biographical and critical information on the individual artists. Some sample titles from the series include:
Cynthia Schira by Winchester: Telos, c2003. Schira joined the faculty at KU in 1976. Her work has been inspired by the Kansas landscape as well as her experience in France, China, India, and Japan, and her study of ancient Peruvian textiles.
Lia Cook by Winchester: Telos, c2002. Focuses on Cook's Jacquard weavings which exhibit the sensuality and ambiguity, the brilliant sense of colour, the large scale and magnification of detail, the love of texture, and the fusion of artistic disciplines, that has long characterized her work.
Gerhardt Knodel by Winchester: Telos, c2002. Former director at Cranbrook Academy of Art, Knodel's work with fiber has ranged from installations, theatre and architectural commissions to the pictorial potential of weaving.
