Complete Chinese Dictionaries page
Please visit the Chinese Dictionaries Guide for complete lists of different type dictionaries.
Classical Chinese Dictionary (Chinese-English)
A Student's Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese by Call Number: PL1455 .K76 2015ISBN: 9789004284111Publication Date: Leiden ; Boston: Brill, 2014-11-28This is a Chinese & English reference work for all those reading texts dating from the Warring States period through the Tang dynasty. Comprising 8,000+ characters, arranged alphabetically by Pinyin. it facilitates reading and translating historical, literary, and religious texts dating from approximately 500 BCE to 1000 CE.
Chinese-English Dictionaries （Online）
- Chinese Notes (Copyright Fo Guang Shan 佛光山)"Chinese-English dictionary for Modern and literary Chinese and digital library of literary Chinese classic and historic texts"
- Han Dian 漢典
"An excellent site, Han Dian 漢典 (www.zdic.net), will give you entries from the Kangxi Zidian (which includes the Erya 爾雅, Shuowen Jiezi 說文解字, Guangyun 廣韻, Yu Pian 玉篇, and others) At the Zdic.net interface I use, I enter a Chinese character and I get access to the Kangxi (the 3rd tab), the Shuowen (the 4th tab), pictures of the graph’s evolution, and some Chinese and English meanings (which aren’t often useful). " Quoted from Bao Pu
Zhongwen.com 中文.com
Search by Pronunciation, Radical, Stroke count and English-Chinese.- iCiba 爱 词霸词典，句库，翻译， 百科词典
- Line Dictionary Chinese - EnglishFREE
Internet connection required.
Can be accessed from any mobile device with internet access. In late 2014, NCIKU was replaced by Line Dictionary. Content provided by the Collins Chinese Dictionary. Includes daily expressions, quotes, and proverbs. The app also includes a translation feature. - MDBG free online Chinese-English dictionaryAn online dictionary to help studying Chinese. "It offers various tools such as: flashcards, quizzes, text annotation, Chinese text input and more."
- Multi-function Chinese Character Database 漢語多功能字庫With Archaic Script Forms, Etymologies,
English-Chinese Lookup, Word-formations Phonologically Disambiguated According to the Cantonese Dialect. - Chinese University, Hong Kong
Chinese-Chinese Dictionary (Online)
- Guo xue da shi 国学大师 (字典)
Includes 33 dictionaries with 200,000 characters. Finding result allows direct access to scan images of results from original printed dictionaries for the word one searches for. - Guo yu ci dian 國語辭典 修訂本 (5th ed.)By Ministry of Education (Taiwan) since 1998.
- Xiao xue tang 小學堂For advanced classical Chinese usage by Chinese Department of National Taiwan University and Academia Sinica (Taiwan)
Chinese-Chinese Dictionaries
Hanyu da cidian 漢語大詞典 by Call Number: PL1420.H349 1986
Zhong wen da ci dian 中文大辭典 (Encyclopedic dictionary of the Chinese language) by Call Number: PL1420 .C57 1990 East Asian Reference (v. 1-10)Online access at 中文大辭典 Zhongwen dacidian contains 49,880 characters，371,231 terms in a 10 volumes set. Each character has its form, pronunciation, meaning, example of usages. Every volume has radical and stroke count table to assist locating characters.
Chinese Dictionaries APP
- Pleco Chinese Dictionary
Chinese Dictionary is free downloadable for the iPhone, iPad, iPod and Android.
Web Browser Dictionary Add-On Tools
These are translation tools work with different browsers. You need to download a plug-in add-on and it will then with your web browser. Mouse over each link to read more...
- Perapera Chinese Dictionary
Perapera is a pop-up dictionary and study tool for Japanese and Chinese. It works as a free add-on for Firefox . The developer doesn't support it anymore. - Google Translate Toolbar (Google Chrome)"When you roll your cursor over a word on a webpage, the Translate feature translates the individual word. You can also translate whole webpages instantly. Translate webpages automagically. Click the Translate button to translate pages."
Classical Chinese Dictionaries (Chinese-Chinese)
Gu han yu chang yong ci ci dian 古汉语常用词词典 [electronic resource] by Call Number: online resourcePublication Date: Beijing: Yu wen chu ban she, 语文出版社,, 2006
Gu Han yu chang yong ci ci dian 古汉语常用词词典 by Call Number: PL1420 .G83 2006 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 7540310669This dictionary is arranged by Pinyin, with multiple meanings listed and with example citations from classical works.Shi Yong Wen Yan Ci Dian 实用文言词典 by
Call Number: Ref. PL1420 .H6 1994 East Asian ReferenceEntries arranged in pinyin. Main entry is given in simplified Chinese with traditional form also indicated. Distinctions between multi-character compound words are noted with example citations from classical works to give context.
Zhong Hua Gu Han Yu Zi Dian 中华古汉语字典. by Call Number: PL1420 .C5238 1997 East Asian ReferenceArranged by radicals with with multiple meanings listed and entries given for compound words. Includes example citations from classical works.
Shi Yong Gu Han Yu Da Ci Dian 实用古汉语大词典. by Call Number: Ref.PL1420 .S5849 1995 East Asian ReferenceArranged by Pinyin, with example citations from classical works to give context.
Zhonghua gu Han yu ci dian / Zhonghua shu ju bian ji bu bian zhu. 中華古漢語詞典 / 中華書局編輯部編著Call Number: PL1420 .Z46 2015 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 9888310771Publication Date: 2015
Wen yan wen ci dian / Zhu Hongxi zhu bian. 文言文辭典 / 祝鴻熹主編.Call Number: PL1420 .W456 2008 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 9571153028Publication Date: 2008
Chinese - English Dictionaries
Chinese Character Dictionary with English Annotations. 汉字英释大辞典. Han Zi Ying Shi Da Ci Dian. by
Call Number: Ref. PL1455 .H385 2002 East Asian Ref
The Pinyin Chinese-English dictionary. 漢英詞典. Han Ying ci dian. by Call Number: Ref. PL1455 .P57 1981
Quaille's practical Chinese-English dictionary Han Ying Shi Yong Ci Dian. by Call Number: Ref. PL1455 .H335 1999 East Asian Ref
ABC Chinese-English comprehensive dictionary by Call Number: PL1455 .A33 2003 (East Asian Reference)ISBN: 9780824827663Han ying da ci dian 汉英大词典.
A New Chinese-English Dictionary of Function Words. 新编汉英虛词词典 by Call Number: Ref. PL1237 .H685 1999 East Asian Ref
Chinese characters : a genealogy and dictionary. Zhong Wen Zi Pu : 中文字譜 : [漢英字源字典] [Han Ying Zi Yuan Zi Dian]. by Call Number: Ref. PL1171 .Z46 1998 East Asian Ref
Old Chinese Resources
[PDF] ABC Etymological Dictionary of Old Chinese by ISBN: 9780824829759Publication Date: 2007Composed of research on the evolution of the Sinitic language group and places primary emphasis on the sounds and meanings of Sinitic roots.
- [PDF] Baxter-Sagart Old Chinese reconstruction, version 1.1Table of data with almost 5,000 items with Old Chinese reconstructions. Sorted in alphabetical order by pīnyīn romanization and thereafter by Middle Chinese initial, final, and tone.