English Translations: Books in the library
Early Texts – a brief introduction to some of the main early Chinese texts
Early Chinese texts : a bibliographical guide by Call Number: Z1035.8.C5 E2 1993ISBN: 1557290431Publication Date: 1993
China: A Cultural and Historical Dictionary by Call Number: DS733 .C58523 1998ISBN: 0700704388Publication Date: Richmond, Surrey : Curzon, 1998.Shelved At Watson Library Stacks - 1 1/2 East Stacks
- I. The Five Classics
- Yi jing. English.Book of Changes (Yijing易經 or Zhouyi 周易)
This is a divination text. The main text, is made up of the 64 hexagrams (symbols made up of six parallel lines, either solid or broken), their names and short explanations for each one. Attached to these are seven commentaries. The core text is thought to date from around the 9th century BC, the commentaries are later, some from the late Warring States period. - Shu jing. English.Book of Documents (Shangshu 尚書)
A collection of texts purported to be speeches, commands, etc. of the kings of the early dynasties – the Xia, Shang and Zhou. However, in general, the texts claiming to be from the earliest periods were almost certainly written much later, in the Warring States period. Some of the documents claiming to be from the early Zhou period are, however, considered to be authentic. There are two main versions of the text – one with 58 chapters, the other with 28. The longer version is thought to be largely a forgery produced in the 4th century AD. - Shi jing. English.Book of Songs (Shijing 詩經), the classic anthology defined by Confucius.
A collection of 305 poems (which were originally probably sung, thus the English title “Book of Songs”) dating from around the 10th to 7th centuries BC (i.e. 1000 – 600 BC). Traditionally it is said that the poems were selected and edited by Confucius. The collection is divided into four sections: the “Airs of the states” (Guofeng), the “Lesser Odes” (Xiaoya), the “Greater Odes” (Daya) and the “Elegies” (or “Hymns”) (Song). The “Airs of the states” were probably originally local folksongs from different states. Both of the “Odes” contain poems concerned with courtly subjects, and the “Elegies” (or “Hymns”) are mainly concerned with religious rites - Li ji. English.禮記, the Rites.
- Zhong yong. English.中庸, On the practice of the mean; Chung yung in Wade-Giles romanization.
- Lü shi chun qiu. Chinese & English.Spring and Autumn Annals (Chunqiu 春秋)
A very brief year-by-year record of important events in the state of Lu, from 722 - 481 BC. [Note that the name of this text is used in chronologies for Ancient China for the period roughly corresponding to these dates, i.e. the Spring and Autumn period.]. Three commentaries are linked to this work, although the best known, the Zuo Commentary (Zuozhuan), may not, in fact, originally have been written as a commentary for this work. - II. Texts Associated with Philosophical Schools
- ---Confucian philosophical texts
- Lun yu. English.The Analects (Lunyu 論語)
About 500 short sayings and dialogues attributed to Confucius and his students, as noted down by his students. Confucius is traditionally said to have lived from the mid 6th to early 5th century BC. - Mengzi. English.The Mencius (Mengzi 孟子)
Mencius.
Attributed to and named after Mencius (Mengzi). The work does seem to be that of a single author. It contains Mencius’s sayings and reports of conversations he had with several Warring States’ leaders, his students and others. Mencius is traditionally said to have lived in the 4th century BC. - Xunzi, 340 B.C.-245 B.C. Works. English.Xunzi (荀子). Hsun Tzu in Wade-Gile romanization. Another text named after its purported author. A collection of essays on his ideas. Xunzi is traditionally said to have lived in the 3rd century BC.
- Da xue. English.大學, the great digest; the great learning; Ta hsüeh in Wade-Giles romanization.
- Dao de jing. English.Daode jing or Laozi (道德經 or老子) . Tao te ching in Wade-Giles romanization.
This is the main text associated with Daoism. It is a collection of short passages, many rhymed, about dao “the way” and de “the power”. The language tends to be paradoxical. The author is claimed to be a man called Laozi, said to have lived in the 5th century BC (i.e. making him a contemporary of Confucius). However whether this person really existed is disputed and many scholars believe the text we now have only reached its current form in the 3rd century BC. - Zhuangzi. EnglishZhuangzi. Nanhua jing. 莊子. 南華經.
The book associated with the Daoist philosopher Zhuangzi (4th century BC), but probably only parts of it were actually written by him. These writings concern the nature of dao “the way” and focus more on individual enlightenment than the use of dao in ruling. - ---Mohist Texts
- Mozi. EnglishMozi (墨子). Mo Tzu in Wade-Gile romanization.
This is the text associated with the philosopher Mozi (late 5th to 4th century BC). It was probably written not by Mozi himself but by followers of his school of thought. A key concept is “universal love” as opposed to the prejudiced love for one’s family associated with Confucius. Mozi also argues for thrift and, on these grounds, is opposed to expensive funerals and wars. - Shang jun shu. EnglishThe book of Lord Shang, a classic of the Chinese school of law. Lord Shang is the name of a 4th century BC thinker. The text was probably not all written by him. The book argues that a state needs to be rich and have a strong army, and a system of laws, punishments and rewards. Lord Shang was an official in the state of Qin and is said to be the main architect of reforms that resulted in that state’s great might.
- Han FeiziThe text associated with the thinker Hanfeizi (3rd century BC). The work lays out key Legalist concepts, such as the need for a comprehensive set of laws and punishments.
Online e-text - HistoriesThe Book of Documents (Shangshu), the Spring and Autumn Annals (Chunqiu), and the Zuozhuan (Zuo commentary), discussed above, are all considered to be histories. The other work in this category that should be mentioned is the Shiji.
- Shi ji. EnglishRecords of the Grand Historian (Shiji 史記)
This is a history of China from the earliest period up until the beginning of the 1st century BC. It was written by the court historians Sima Tan and his son Sima Qian (145-87? BC). This long work contains 130 chapters and is divided into several sections covering records of key events, essays on particular topics, histories of the different states (prior to unification), and biographies of individuals. - Zuo zhuan. English.Zuo, Qiuming. 左丘明, 左傳, Spring and Autumn Annals, Tso Commentary.
- Zhan guo ce. English.戰國策. English translation of the Zhen guo ce or the Warring states.
-Daoist Philosophical Texts
The Bamboo Texts of Guodian : A Study & Complete Translation by Call Number: Z6605.C5 C75 2012ISBN: 1933947845Publication Date: Ithaca, N.Y. : East Asia Program, Cornell University, c2012.Read in Amazon
Daodejing (Laozi) : a complete translation and commentary by Call Number: BL1900.L35 M62 2007ISBN: 0812696255Publication Date: 2007
Mohist Texts (Selected titles)
Basic writings of Mo Tzu, Hsun Tzu, and Han Fei Tzu by
Call Number: B125 .B37 1967 Copy 1-2Publication Date: New York, Columbia University Press, 1967.Mo, Di, active 400 B.C.
Xunzi, 340 B.C.-245 B.C.
Han, Fei, -233 B.C.
Watson, Burton, 1925-
The Book of Master Mo by Call Number: B128.M77 E5 2013ISBN: 9780141392103Publication Date: 2014-07-29Translated from the Chinese.
The Ethical and Political Works of Motse by Call Number: B128.M6 E5 1973ISBN: 0883550857Publication Date: 1993-04-01
The Mozi by Call Number: B128.M77 E5 2010ISBN: 9780231152402Publication Date: 2010-02-25Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Parallel text in English and Chinese
The Philosophy of the Mòzi by Call Number: B127.M65 F73 2016ISBN: 9780231149266Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Mo Tzu; basic writings. Translated by Burton Watson. by Call Number: B128.M6 W3Publication Date: New York, Columbia University Press, 1963.
Legalist Philosophical Texts
Mo Zi Translation, Michael Loewe's Recommendations
- The Ethical and Political Works of Motse by Call Number: B128.M6 E5 1973ISBN: 0883550857Publication Date: 1993-04-01
- Mo Tzu; basic writings. Translated by Burton Watson. by Call Number: B128.M6 W3Publication Date: New York, Columbia University Press, 1963.
Notes
Always search the original title for English translations. Ex. Lun yu (Analects), Da xue (The highest order of cultivation), and Zhong yong (On the practice of the mean), Mengzi (Mencius), etc. and set language of "English" as in "limit".
Confucian Philosophical Texts (Selected titles)
The analects of Confucius by Call Number: PL2478 .L3 2007Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, c2007162 p. ; 22 cm
The Analects of Confucius by Call Number: PL2478 .C57 1997ISBN: 978-0393316995Publication Date: New York : W.W. Norton, c1997xxxii, 224 p. ; 21 cm
Mencius (Mengzi. English) by Call Number: PL2478 .P24 2009ISBN: 0231122047Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, ©2009.
Mencius [electronic resource] by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, c20091 online resource (xxii, 178 p.)
Mencius by Call Number: B128.M33 E5913 2004Publication Date: London : Penguin, 2004.xlviii, 246 p. ; 20 cm
Xunzi : a translation and study of the complete works by Call Number: B128.H66 E5 1988Publication Date: Stanford, CA : Stanford University Press, c1988v. 1. Books 1-6
v. 2. Books 7-16
v. 3. Books 17-32.
Xunzi : basic writings by Call Number: B128.H68 E5 2003Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, c2003.Series: Translations from the Asian classics
Ta hsueh and Chung yung = The highest order of cultivation, and, On the practice of the mean by Call Number: PL2478 .M55 2003Publication Date: London ; New York : Penguin, 2003.Includes: Zhong yong. English.
Classical Chinese Literature by Call Number: PL2658.E1 C59 2000ISBN: 0231096763Publication Date: 2000-08-24
The Chinese classics : with a translation, critical and exegetical notes, prolegomena, and copious indexes by Call Number: PL2461 .R43 1949zPublication Date: [Taipei, Taiwan] : N.s., [1949?]
XunZi: Basic writings. Translated by Burton Watson. by Call Number: B128.H66 E55Publication Date: New York, Columbia University Press, 1963.
The Original Analects: Sayings of Confucius and His Successors, trans. Brooks, E. Bruce and Brooks, A. Taeko by Call Number: PL2478 .L33 1998ISBN: 0231104308Publication Date: 1998-04-14The Sacred books of China: The texts of Confucianism. translated by James Legge. by
Call Number: BL1830 .S33 1966Publication Date: Delhi, Motilal Banarsidass [1966]
The Analects of Confucius by ISBN: 9780345401540Publication Date: Ballantine Publishing Group 1998-09-29
Sun zi bing fa. English. ( The Art of War)
- (sun AND zi)[in Author Names] OR (sunzi)[in Author Names] OR (sun AND tzu)[in Author Names]Use all possible names of Sun Zi and searched by "Author" in KU catalog
The art of war = [Sunzi bing fa] by Call Number: ProQuest eBookPublication Date: Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, 1994.[Sunzi bing fa. English.]
translated, with introductions and commentary by Ralph D. Sawyer ; with the collaboration of Mei-Chün Lee Sawyer.
Masters of War by Call Number: U27 .H36 2001ISBN: 9780714681320Publication Date: London ; Portland, OR : F. Cass, 2001.3rd rev. and expanded ed.- The Shen Tzu Fragments byCall Number: B128.S544 T46 1979ISBN: 019713579XPublication Date: 1979-03-22
The Five Classics (Selected titles)
The book of changes (Zhouyi) : a Bronze Age document by Call Number: PL2478 .D685 1996Publication Date: Richmond, Surrey : Curzon, 1996xii, 497 p. : ill., map ; 24 cm
The classic of changes : a new translation of the I Ching as interpreted by Wang Bi by Call Number: PL2478 .D48 1994Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, 1994602 p. ; 24 cm
Shu ching: book of history by Call Number: PL2478 .E5 1971Publication Date: Chicago, H. Regnery Co. [1971]xvii, 277 p. map. 21 cm
The shifting center : the original "Great plan" and later readings by Call Number: PL2465.Z8 H866 1992Publication Date: Sankt Augustin : Institut Monumenta Serica ; Nettetal : Steyler Verlag, 1992211 p. : ill. ; 24 cmThe book of documents by
Call Number: 895.18 Sh91k 1950Publication Date: [Göteborg, Elanders Boktryckeri Aktiebolag, 1950]81 p. 27 cm
The Book of Songs by Call Number: PL2478 .F813 1996ISBN: 0802134777Publication Date: 1996-09-13xxv, 388 p. ; 21 cm
The classic anthology defined by Confucius by Call Number: PL2478 .F6 1974Publication Date: London : Faber, 1974306 p. ; 20 cm
Li chi: book of rites. An encyclopedia of ancient ceremonial usages, religious creeds, and social institutions by Call Number: PL2478 .G4Publication Date: New Hyde Park, N.Y., University Books [1967]2 v. illus. 24 cm.
Ta Hsueh and Chung Yung by Call Number: PL2478 .M55 2003ISBN: 0140447849Publication Date: 2004-05-25xxxix, 127 p. ; 20 cm
Focusing the Familiar by Call Number: PL2473 .N89 2001ISBN: 0824824784Publication Date: 2001-08-31xiii, 165 p. ; 23 cm
The Annals of lü Buwei by Call Number: PL2663.L8 E5 2000ISBN: 0804733546Publication Date: 2001-01-01xxii, 847 p. : ill. ; 24 cm
Histories
The Grand Scribe’s records [electronic resource] : Volume IX, The memoirs of Han China. Part II by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2010.
Selections from the Tso Chuan by Call Number: PL2470 .K8 1989ISBN: 0231067143Publication Date: 1989-03-01
Zuo Tradition / Zuozhuan by Call Number: PL2470.Z6 Z8713 2016ISBN: 9780295999173Publication Date: 2016-07-01"Zuo Tradition (Zuozhuan; sometimes called The Zuo Commentary) is China’s first great work of history. It consists of two interwoven texts: the Spring and Autumn Annals (Chunqiu, a terse annalistic record) and a vast web of narratives and speeches that add context and interpretation to the Annals. --by the publisher
Records of the grand historian of China / translated from the Shih chi of Ssu-ma Ch’ien by Burton Watson. by Call Number: DS748 .S7453 1961Publication Date: New York : Columbia University Press, 1961.
Sources of Chinese Tradition by Call Number: DS721 .D37 1999ISBN: 0231109385Publication Date: 1999-07-27
The Platform Sutra of the Sixth Patriarch by ISBN: 9780231083614Publication Date: Columbia University Press 1978-03-22
Classical Chinese Medical Texts by ISBN: 9780982321201Publication Date: 2009-03-01[Vol. 1]. Introductory phrases I
Vol. 2. Ling shu wu shi er (I)
Vol. 3
Huang di nei jing su wen : an annotated translation of Huang Di’s Inner Classic -- Basic Questions by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, ©2011.Su wen. English.
Nanjing : the classic of difficult issues : with commentaries by Chinese and Japanese authors from the third through the twentieth century by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0585111308Publication Date: Berkeley : University of California Press, ©1986.Subject: Bianque, active approximately 255 B.C. Nan jing.
The Yellow Emperor's Classic of Medicine - Essential Questions by Call Number: R127.1.S93 F813 2019ISBN: 9789813273573Publication Date: 2019-01-01Chinese title from title page verso: 黄帝内经素问译注
