About
This guide is intended to assist you in identifying and requesting print and manuscript materials relating to World War I at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library. Please use the tabs above to navigate the different pages of this guide.
- Kenneth Spencer Research LibraryKSRL is the rare books, manuscripts, and archives library of the University of Kansas. The library is home to Special Collections (established in 1953), the Kansas Collection (founded before the turn of the 20th century by the university's first librarian, Carrie Watson), the University Archives (established in 1969), and the Wilcox Collection. The Spencer Research Library was made possible by a generous contribution from Helen Foresman Spencer.
Mrs. Spencer helped design the library for the future, with ample reading rooms, stacks and staff quarters, allowing the university to bring together the previously scattered special collections acquired over its first century and to pursue the growth of the collections and the establishment of new services.
The library’s holdings relating to World War I coming from three collections:
- University Archives: The University Archives, established in 1969, is the repository for the records documenting the history of the University of Kansas.
- Kansas Collection: The Kansas Collection is the regional history division of the University of Kansas Libraries. The Collection provides researchers with primary source materials that document the history of Kansas and the region.
- Special Collections: Special Collections contains a wide range of rare books and manuscripts. Its primary charge is the collection and preservation of original sources for use by students and scholars of the humanities, the history of science, and the history of the book.
Related Guides
- World War OneResources for the study of the Great War (1914-1918) that include: articles and databases, websites, primary resources, books and more.
Research Help
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.