Getting Started
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowAmerica, History and Life indexes articles, book reviews, and other secondary literature dealing with the United States and Canada.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Indexes the journal and book literature.
- Oxford reference This link opens in a new windowSearch a wide variety of Oxford University Press reference titles to gain basic information on topics.
Searching for World War I
Finding materials on World War I can be tricky, but with smart searching the obstacles can be avoided.
When keyword searching for primary sources, remember that the term "World War I" was not in use until after World War II. Even the term "Great War" probably was not used from the start of the conflict. Words used to describe the war will change over time. Keep this in mind as you search. Remember too that the terms will be different depending on the source.
Secondary sources require a little consideration too. The library catalog's subject headings use the term "World War, 1914-1918" so searching "World War I" will not retrieve all relevant materials.
Select WWI Reference Materials
- 1914-1918 online: International Encyclopedia of the First World WarA major free online encyclopedia covering all aspects of World War I. In addition to scholarly materials it also includes primary sources.
The Cambridge History of the First World War - Civil Society by Call Number: D521 .C36 2014ISBN: 9780521766845Publication Date: Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2014
The Cambridge History of the First World War - The State by Call Number: D521 .C36 2014ISBN: 9780521766531Publication Date: Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2014.- The Cambridge History of the First World War - Civil Society by Call Number: D521 .C36 2014ISBN: 9780521766845Publication Date: Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2014.
The Encyclopedia of World War ICall Number: D510 .E53 2005 Ref
The European Powers in the First World WarCall Number: D510 .E97 1999
The United States in the First World WarCall Number: D510 .U65 1999
Subject Guide
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.