Articles and Databases
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowAmerica, History and Life indexes articles, book reviews, and other secondary literature dealing with the United States and Canada.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Military & government collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and U.S. government. Includes full text for nearly 300 journals.
- Political science complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes both a national and international perspective of political science topics, drawing from scholarly, professional and peer-reviewed sources, and offering considerable full-text content.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Scholarly Monographs
Searching "World War I" in the library catalog or any database based on the Library of Congress subject headings will not retrieve all materials. The correct subject heading for World War I is "World War, 1914-1918" which is what should be used to search for materials related to World War I. Keyword search "World War, 1914-1918" and then add the additional keyword such as "nurses."
- KU Libraries CatalogThe KU Libraries Catalog identifies materials available on campus. Use a Keyword search to start--then use subject headings to find additional materials.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowThis large digital library includes the collections of many of the United States' largest research collections. KU's membership in the trust grants our patrons the ability to download entire works that are out of copyright.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat can be used to identify primary and secondary sources not held in the KU collection. Once identified, materials can be request through Interlibrary Loan.