World War I: Special Collections

During World War I, he served in its American Expeditionary Forces as Private First Class in Company F of the U. S. Army's 359th Infantry. The collection's twenty-five letters relate to Private Bopp's military service in France. Its eleven letters from Private Bopp date from 1918 to 1919, and are to his parents, his sister Annie, and his fiancée (Lura Budrow)--all of Dallas. His letters are written chiefly from Toul, France during his hospital recovery from enemy gas. The collection's fourteen letters to Bopp and his family are chiefly from members of a French family which befriended him. Several items of memorabilia are included.

This collection consists of a handwritten letter from Lieutenant Charles W. Goff to his girlfriend, Dorothy "Dot" F. [Coylsendoll]. The letter was written on board a United States AEF troop ship in the Atlantic Ocean en route to France. The manuscript describes the trip from the United States to France during World War I. It is 37 pages long and was written over a period of approximately one month, June to July, 1918. Goff's letter chronicles in detail the conditions of the journey as well as the experience of serving in the military.

This collection consists of the handwritten journal of Dorr C. Griffin detailing his enlistment in the United States Army just before the beginning of World War I. The journal records Griffin's daily activities and travels.

These letters were written by Hector C. Henderson, serving as a private (later promoted to corporal) in the 1st Wellington Company, New Zealand Expeditionary Force to his American pen pal, Mae Josephine Gillette in Winsted, Connecticut. Writing first from New Zealand and later from England, France, and Germany, with his observations and experiences of World War I. Also in the collection are various photographs.

This collection consists of a journal kept by Private M. Charles D. Henry who was stationed in France during World War I. It also includes a related booklet and several photographs.

Lillian B. North wrote of her life as a busy homemaker, activist, and wife. She and her husband, Frank, resided in the rural town of Batavia, New York. Lillian's diary tells of daily activities including her involvement in the women's suffrage movement. It also details her chores, errands, and meetings of the many organizations to which she belonged.

This collection consists of the travel journal of Anna C. Sullivan, which details her trip to Europe at the onset of World War I. The bulk of the journal was written between July and August, 1914 as World War I began. The journal details traveling to various destinations from Massachusetts to Europe, including Dublin, Ireland, London, England, and Paris, France, as well as the voyage on the S.S. Minnewaska to and from the United States.

The diary contains notes about daily life: conversations, entertainments, scenery. Little on medical matters. Literary and emotional reflections. Local battlefront news: tanks, flying. Irish and general political and war-news. Last entry: "Hun offensive started…Had lunch at Camiers...There will be few more chances of these Jaunts for a while now..."