Improve Your GOOGLE Search Experience
- Power Searching with Google - Free Online Google courseSharpen your search skills Join a free course to help you become a better searcher.
Knowing how to find answers on Google is an important skill in today’s digital age. Taught by Google’s Search experts, this online class will help you search smarter, so you can find the information you need — even in the most challenging situations. - Article - Why Millennials Don't Know How to Use GoogleChicagoMag.com, August 23, 2011
Online Subject Guides for Spanish
- Spanish, Portuguese, Latin American, and Caribbean Collection in Watson Library - WebsiteSpecialized expert help is available in Watson Library for individual research or instructional needs. Our guide to web resources (below) contains hundreds of links for research about Latin America, Spain, Portugal, and related fields.
- Basic Guide to Spanish & Portuguese; Latin American & Caribbean StudiesThis introductory guide is designed for beginning to advanced students looking for the best resources to begin research on topics related to Spanish & Portuguese; Latin American & Caribbean Studies.
- Web Resources to Spanish and Portuguese; Latin American StudiesThis guide provides an extensive list of links to websites and resources for the study of Spanish & Portuguese; Spain, Latin America, and the Caribbean in a wide range of different categories such as literature, media, electronic resources, statistics, maps, etc.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a web search engine.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Google Scholar tutorial
Search for an image using Google Images
Where is this?
How to search by image - Google instructions
Searching by image allows you to do a reverse image search and discover all sorts of content that's related to a specific image. For example, search using a picture of your favorite band and see search results that might include similar images, webpages about the band, and even sites that include the same picture. (Google)
Google News - Personalized for you
Google News is a computer-generated news site that aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together.
EGARC - KU language resource center
- KU Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center (EGARC)The Center houses a collection of approximately 12,000 audio and video items in over 60 languages.
Located on the fourth floor of Wescoe Hall. The main office is in room 4070.
Need help?
LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC's site provides research and academic resources, as well as being a source for news, art, music and recipes from Latin America.
LANIC’s editorially-reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American Studies content on the Internet. Information can be found in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
The site hosts digital content on Latin America through its Etext Collection, including thousands of full text books, journals, speeches, and research papers. Included are the full text of over 2,000 speeches by Fidel Castro; over 75,000 pages of Presidential Messages from Argentina and Mexico; and hundreds of papers on Latin American topics presented at conferences around the world.
It also maintains an extensive collection of Latin American Government Documents (LAGDA).
(Description taken from Wikipedia)