Books
Search for Books
Start your search for books on a particular topic using the KU Libraries Catalog. If you need to request an item not owned by KU, check to see whether it is available for InterLibrary Borrowing.
- KU Libraries CatalogUse the KU Libraries Catalog to search for books on your topic. Search results will include print and electronic books owned by the KU Libraries, as well as other materials accessible through the libraries in print or online including journals, newspapers, and more. Note: The regular KU Library Catalog search WILL NOT search at the article level in journals. Instead, it will give you the titles of journals we own.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat includes millions of records of items held by U.S. and internationally, and =can be useful in identifying books not held in the KU collection. Once identified, you can order material through InterLibrary Borrowing.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowA digital repository of collections (books and journals) of some of the major research libraries in the United States. More than 30% of the content is in the public domain or Creative Commons licensed and is freely available to view, download and print. Items designated with "Full view" are available for download. Please login to HathiTrust in order to download and print content. After you click on login, select University of Kansas as the partner institution, then enter your KU online ID and password.
- Center for Research Libraries catalog This link opens in a new windowThe Center for Research Libraries acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, dissertations, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Depending on format, Center materials can be accessed electronically or obtained for extended loan periods and at no cost by users affiliated with member libraries.
The Center's resources include international newspapers, many dating to the 1700s, U.S. ethnic newspapers, international journals rarely held in U.S. libraries, foreign dissertations, major microform and paper collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia and more. All are searchable through the CRL catalog.
Identifying Books by Subject
As you conduct your research using the KU Libraries Catalog and the QuickSearch bar on the library home page, use the Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings for items that look useful in order to find other titles on similar topics.
The following are some examples of LC Subject headings relevant to Poetry and Poetics:
New Books
These items are just a few of the many titles we have recently acquired relating to Poetry:
Augustan Poetry and the Irrational by
"Augustan Poetry and the Irrational contains contributions by some of the leading experts of the Augustan period as well as a number of younger scholars. An introduction which surveys the field as a whole is followed by chapters that examine the manifestations of the irrational in a range of Augustan poets, including Virgil, Horace, Ovid, and the love elegists, and also explore elements of post-classical reception" (from publisher's website).
Call Number: PA6047 .A938 2016ISBN: 0198724721Publication Date: 2016
The Ethnography of Rhythm: Orality and Its Technologies by
"Who speaks? The author as producer, the contingency of the text, intertextuality, the "device"--Core ideas of modern literary theory-were all pioneered in the shadow of oral literature. Authorless, loosely dated, and variable, oral texts have always posed a challenge to critical interpretation. When it began to be thought that culturally significant texts-starting with Homer and the Bible-had emerged from an oral tradition, assumptions on how to read these texts were greatly perturbed. Through readings that range from ancient Greece, Rome, and China to the Cold War imaginary, The Ethnography of Rhythm situates the study of oral traditions in the contentious space of nineteenth- and twentieth-century thinking about language, mind, and culture. It also demonstrates the role of technologies in framing this category of poetic creation. By making possible a new understanding of Maussian "techniques of the body" as belonging to the domain of Derridean "arche-writing," Haun Saussy shows how oral tradition is a means of inscription in its own right, rather than an antecedent made obsolete by the written word or other media and data-storage devices"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: GR72 .S28 2016ISBN: 0823270475Publication Date: 2016
The First Book: Twentieth-Century Poetic Careers in America by
"Surveying American poetry over the past hundred years, The First Book explores the emergence of the poetic debut as a unique literary production with its own tradition, conventions, and dynamic role in the literary market. Through new readings of poets ranging from Wallace Stevens and Marianne Moore to John Ashbery and Louise Glück, Jesse Zuba illuminates the importance of the first book in twentieth-century American literary culture, which involved complex struggles for legitimacy on the part of poets, critics, and publishers alike" (from publisher's website).
Call Number: PS323.5 .Z83 2016ISBN: 0691164479Publication Date: 2016
The Poetic and Real Worlds of César Vallejo (1892-1938): A Struggle Between Art and Politics by
"The world-renowned Peruvian poet César Vallejo (1892–1938) was also a journalist, essayist, novelist and would-be dramatist. The study of his life and work has encountered problems since the 1950s, stemming from the fact that half of his writing was published posthumously under editorship of doubtful accuracy. The matter is further complicated in that his non-poetic work has been neglected in favour of his verse. A Struggle between Art and Politics reviews the evidence – literary and historical – now reliably to hand, and assesses the often conflicting body of opinion his work has generated. Three essential questions are pertinent: Where should Vallejo be placed in the canon of twentieth-century modernism? What effect did his mid-life conversion to Communism have on his writing? How should his prose fiction, journalism and essays be assessed in relation to his poetry?" (from publisher's website).
Call Number: PQ8497.V35 Z595 2016ISBN: 1845197429Publication Date: 2016
Poetic Ethics in Proverbs: Wisdom Literature and the Shaping of the Moral Self by
"The Book of Proverbs' frequent use of binary oppositions - righteous and wicked, wise and foolish - has led many to assume that its vision of the moral world is relatively simplistic. This study demonstrates that Proverbs in fact presents a remarkably sophisticated response to ethical questions of profound concern to the Israelite sages who crafted the book: what motivates human beings? How do they learn? How does the power of desire shape human characters? Anne W. Stewart analyzes Proverbs' multifaceted collection of images and metaphors to reveal their complex understanding of the development of the moral self, which suggests that character formation requires educating all of the senses and not simply the cognitive faculties. One of few works to make explicit connections between the poetic form of Proverbs and its pedagogical function, Poetic Ethics in Proverbs will appeal to all those interested in literary approaches to the Bible"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: BS1465.52 .S74 2016ISBN: 1107119421Publication Date: 2016
Searching for Sappho: The Lost Songs and World of the First Woman Poet: Including New Translations of all of Sappho's Surviving Poetry by
"An exploration of the fascinating poetry, life, and world of Sappho, including a complete translation of all her poems, "--Amazon.com.
Call Number: PA4409 .F74 2016ISBN: 0393242234Publication Date: 2016
Watchwords: Romanticism & the Poetics of Attention by
"This book revisits British Romanticism as a poetics of heightened attention. At the turn of the nineteenth century, as Britain was on the alert for a possible French invasion, attention became a phenomenon of widespread interest, one that aligned and distinguished an unusual range of fields (including medicine, aesthetics, theology, ethics, pedagogy, and politics). Within this wartime context, the Romantic aesthetic tradition appears as a response to a crisis in attention caused by demands on both soldiers and civilians to keep watch. Close formal readings of the poetry of Blake, Coleridge, Cowper, Keats, (Charlotte) Smith, and Wordsworth, in conversation with research into Enlightenment philosophy and political and military discourses, suggest the variety of forces competing for—or commanding—attention in the period. This new framework for interpreting Romanticism and its legacy illuminates what turns out to be an ongoing tradition of war literature that, rather than give testimony to or represent warfare, uses rhythm and verse to experiment with how and what we attend to during times of war" (from publisher website).
Call Number: PR590 .G84 2016ISBN: 0804796955Publication Date: 2016
Literatures & Humanities Librarian
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.
Visual Poetry Resources
Graphic Poetics: Poetry as Visual Art by Call Number: PN1042 .B734 2011ISBN: 1441123458Publication Date: 2011
Modern Visual Poetry by Call Number: PN1455 .B62 2001ISBN: 9781611491920Publication Date: 2001-02-01
Reading Visual Poetry by Call Number: ebook or print: PN1455 .B64 2011ISBN: 9781611470628Publication Date: 2011
