Reference Books
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, guides, etc. They are intended to provide quick, reliable information, summaries of complex matters, and, very importantly, bibliographies--suggestions for further reading.
Online Reference Databases
A good way to begin a research inquiry or assignment is with a reference source.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowThis electronic version of Cambridge Histories contains over 300 volumes and all the titles published to date in this series. These detailed histories cover all aspects of the humanities and social sciences and are an excellent place to learn basic knowledge of important subjects.
- Literary reference center This link opens in a new windowProvides a broad spectrum of full-text information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Includes plot summaries, synopses, articles, author biographies, books reviews, poems, short stories and more.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.
Guides, Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias of Italian Literature
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature by Call Number: PQ4006 .O84 2002 Watson Library, 3 1/2 West StacksISBN: 0198183321Publication Date: 2003-01-16E-Book available in Oxford Reference database
Dictionary of Italian Literature by Call Number: PQ4006 .D45 1996 Watson Library Stacks (3 1/2 West)ISBN: 0313277451Publication Date: 1996-05-30
Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies by Call Number: PQ4006 .E536 2007 Watson Library, 3 1/2 West StacksISBN: 1579583903Publication Date: 2006-12-26- Dizionario Motta della letteratura contemporanea byCall Number: folio PN775 .D59 1982 Watson Library, 1 1/2 East StacksPublication Date: 1982
Guida allo studio della letteratura italiana by Call Number: PQ4013 .G85 1997 (Watson Library, 3 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 8815056084Publication Date: 1997Manuale critico-bibliografico per lo studio della letteratura italiana by
Call Number: PQ4037 .P8 (Watson Library, 3 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 8805037141Publication Date: 1980There is a 1994 edition available in the Library Annex. Call number Z2354.C3 P87 1994Storia della letteratura italiana contemporanea : 1940-1996 by
Call Number: PQ4088 .M2745 1996 Watson Library, 3 1/2 West StacksISBN: 8835941199Publication Date: 1996Letteratura italiana by
Call Number: PQ4037 .L457 1982 (Watson Library, 3 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 8806054759Publication Date: 1982
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.