Tips for Searching
Use:
- AND, OR, NOT to combine or connect search terms (to narrow or broaden search results)
- quotation marks to indicate phrases: "Divina Comedia"
- opening and closing parentheses to group search terms
- * to truncate: donn* (will find singular and plural donna and donne)
- ? as a wildcard: wom?n (will find singular and plural of woman and women)
Examples:
Dante AND critica?
Dante AND “Divina Commedia”
poesia AND Italia
"Italian Resistance" AND wom?n
Connecting Search Terms
HathiTrust
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowA digital repository of collections (books and journals) of some of the major research libraries in the United States. More than 30% of the content is in the public domain or Creative Commons licensed and is freely available to view, download and print. Items designated with "Full view" are available for download. Please login to HathiTrust in order to download and print content. After you click on login, select University of Kansas as the partner institution, then enter your KU online ID and password. To print pages, first download content to PDF and print from Adobe (or similar) software.
See the guide to using HathiTrust here.
Reading a Call Number (Library of Congress)
Search KU Libraries Catalogues
What am I searching?
Search across many different resources, including:
- Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 5 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more Full-text articles from more than 120,000 journals
- A growing collection of more than 280,000 images from KU Libraries' digital collections, Spencer Museum of Art, and beyond
- More than 22,000 articles and Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, KU's institutional repository
You may search across these sources all at once, or limit your search to those items most interesting to you.
Search the traditional library catalog for books, journals (not articles), and more.
E-book Collections
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative, credible e-books from scholarly publishers. Access is also available to mobile devices.
- eBook collection This link opens in a new windowContains a searchable collection of electronic books on the EBSCO platform which can be viewed or read online. All titles are also accessible from the KU Online Catalog.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.
(Access to each book is restricted to one simultaneous user.)
Information on Finding and Using E-books
E-books allow you to access and read books online from your computer or mobile device. In many cases multiple readers can access the same e-book simultaneously. E-books also allow you to quickly search, download, print, or link to specific book and chapter content.
E-books are available in many resources. This guide helps staff and patrons to identify library databses and collections that contain e-books, how to search for them through the library catalog, and how to use them in their coursework and teaching. In this guide you will find information about:
LC Classification & Call Numbers
How are LC call numbers organized?
The LC classification system groups together books on similar subjects by means of their call numbers A-Z. There are 21 main LC call number classifications or classes:
For more information, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline. Click on a class to view its subclasses.
The LC call number range for Italian Literature is PQ 4001- PQ 5999.
PQ4001-4199.5 History and criticism
PQ4001-4063 General PQ4064-4075
Early to 1500 PQ4077-4088 Modern
PQ4091-(4131) Poetry
PQ4133-4160 Drama
PQ4161-4185 Prose
PQ(4186)-(4199) Folk literature
PQ4199.5 Juvenile literature (General)
PQ4201-4263 Collections
PQ4201-4204 General
PQ4205-4206 Translations
PQ4207-4225 Poetry
PQ4227-4245 Drama
PQ4247-4263 Prose
PQ4265-4556 Individual authors and works to 1400
PQ4561-4664 Individual authors, 1400-1700
PQ4675-4734 Individual authors, 1701-1900
PQ4800-4851 Individual authors, 1900-1960
PQ4860-4886 Individual authors, 1961-2000
PQ4900-4926 Individual authors, 2001-
PQ5901-5999 Regional, provincial, local, etc.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.