*English Language and Literature: Reference

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is the guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The Historical Thesaurus is a taxonomic arrangement of the contents of the OED.

C19 Index includes the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online, and American Periodicals Series. It indexes books, government publications, archival collections, and serials.

Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960 on 15 different academic subjects. Titles that may be of interest include: The Cambridge History of the English Novel, The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism, The Cambridge History of Medieval English Literature, The Cambridge History of American Women's Literature, and more.

Cross-searchable online database of Oxford University Press subject dictionaries and reference works. Includes titles such as: The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, A Dictionary of Critical Theory, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Oxford Companion to American Literature, An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age, and more.

KU Libraries subscribes to the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics as part of the Cambridge Companions Online collection. The collection includes titles focused on particular authors, major time periods, and various genres. Examples include: The Cambridge Companion to Ulysses, The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature, The Cambridge Companion to Autobiography, The Cambridge Companion to British Poetry 1945-2010, and hundreds of others.