Subject & Course Guides: *English Language and Literature: Dissertations & Theses

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations and theses offer the latest research from graduate students, identifying trends in the field.
As research tools, they are invaluable for their extensive bibliographies. The following are examples of recent dissertations and theses written by KU graduate students that can be found in KU ScholarWorks:

Creators, Audiences, and New Media: Creativity in an Interactive Environment, M.A. Thesis, 2014, Isaac William Bell
Economic and Spatial (Im)Mobility in Mari Evans's Stations: A Question of Ethos, M.A. Thesis, 2014, Shayn Guillemette
An Existential Reflection on Suffering in James Baldwin's Just Above My Head and Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye, M.A. Thesis, 2014, Goyland Williams
[F]ilthy, Bestial, and Abominable Corruptions: Reassessing Gothicism and Antebellum Reform in The Blithedale Romance, M.A. Thesis, 2014, Blayze Hembree
Framing Environmental Justice: From American to Global Perspectives, Dissertation, 2013, Ali Brox
"The Hero as Man of Letters": Intellectual Politics and the Construction of the Romantic Epic, Dissertation, 2013, Eric Hood
The Geography of Narrative: Representations of Place in African Literature, Dissertation, 2013, Dustin Crowley
Oz, Yehoshua, and Grossman: Post-Zionist Narratives, M.A. Thesis, 2013, Nitzan Meltzer
The Phenomenology of the Reader in Autobiographical Poetry by Stein, Hejinian, and Scalapino, Dissertation, 2013, Meghan Kuckelman
Poetic Acts: Performance in Nineteenth-Century American Women's Poetry, 1840-1880, Dissertation, 2014, Jessica Leah Jessee
Speaking on Behalf of Others: Understanding "Students' Right to Their Own Language" Through an Alternate Frame, Dissertation, 2013, DAryl Lynn Dance

Find Dissertations

Use the following sources to find doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Copies of dissertations and theses from other universities can be requested via InterLibrary Borrowing.

Dissertations & theses @ University of Kansas This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of KU dissertations published after 1996 and KU theses published after 2005.
ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 3.8 million dissertations and master's theses with 1.7 million available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database. More than 90,000 new citations are added to the database every year.
Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
This freely accessible database includes nearly 100,000 dissertations from 1933 through 1955, which represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period.
Center for Research Libraries catalog This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) acquires about 5,000 non-US, non-Canadian doctoral dissertations a year to add to its 800,000+ collection of dissertations. From the catalog, choose the Dissertations tab to search dissertations in their collection that can be requested through InterLibrary Borrowing.

Literatures & Humanities Librarian

Samantha Simmons

Email Me

Ask a Librarian

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.