Biographies & Memoirs
Specialized Biographical Works
Along with single-author biographies, autobiographies, and memoirs, themed biographical compilations are common in print and/or online. The following are examples of the types of specialized biographical works that can be found at KU Libraries:
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide: From Colonial Times to the Present by
"Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns. Entries feature an assessment of the writer's works; basic biography and complete bibliography, as well as comprehensive data on writers' names, including pseudonyms, alias" (from Gale Virtual Reference Library).
Call Number: E-book or Print: PS147 .A42 2000ISBN: 1558624295Publication Date: 2000
British and Irish Poets: A Biographical Dictionary, 449-2006 by
"This reference book contains information on poets from England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. The featured poets are representative of periods from the Old English era to the Post-Modern age. Each entry is comprised of a biography, a sample of the poet's publications, a list of his or her best known poems and sources for further information"--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: PR502 .B67 2007ISBN: 0786428910Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of African American Writing: Five Centuries of Contribution: Trials & Triumphs of Writers, Poers, Publications and Organizations by Call Number: PS153.N5 A3444 2009ISBN: 9781592372911Publication Date: 2009
Irish Women Writers: An A-Z Guide by
"Surveys the lives and works of roughly 75 Irish women writers active in a range of genres and periods" (from publisher's website).
Call Number: Reference PR8733 .I75 2006ISBN: 0313328838Publication Date: 2006
Notable Latino Americans by Call Number: E-book or Print: E184.S75 M35 1997ISBN: 0313291055Publication Date: 1997
Biography Databases
Use the following sources (as well as some of the literature databases found under the tab Finding Articles) to find biographical information on authors and other significant historical figures.
- American national biography online This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly biographies of deceased Americans of significant historical importance.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowContains a collection of 55,000 specially written and illustrated biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.
- Dictionary of Irish biography This link opens in a new windowBiographical entries covering the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
- Oxford African American studies center This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to reference resources in African American studies, including the African American National Biography project, edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
- Biography and genealogy master index This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Series) by Call Number: PS21 .D488Publication Date: 1980s-2000sKU Libraries owns over 300 volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Each volume has a theme. Examples include: Chinese Fiction Writers, 1900-1949 (vol. 328); British and Irish Short-Fiction Writers, 1945-2000 (vol. 319); American Mystery and Detective Writers (vol. 306); Modern Spanish American Poets (vol. 290); and hundreds more.
Literatures & Humanities Librarian
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.