Library Links
Library Databases
The following databases may be accessed by selecting the links below. Additional databases may be found by viewing the KU Libraries main page at www.lib.ku.edu.
Please note that following each database selection, 'suggested uses' for class assignments are noted.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed. The subscription includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.
Suggested uses: Search for companies and articles in this database by using the Advanced Search feature. Also, either “look up” or “suggest topics” about SWOT analysis to find these kinds of reports for some individual companies. You can also search for these in the Advanced Search module. - Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; and industry overviews.
Suggested uses: Search for company and industry information in this database, as well as articles using the Advanced Search feature. Note you can see company histories and retrieve investment reports and link directly to industry overviews from the company profile page. Note the link to Market Research (upper left-green tab) at the Industry overview page. - Business source complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports from Datamonitor, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Suggested uses: SWOT analysis, company and industry research. Also contains a significant amount of searchable periodical and reference resources. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld's team of expert analysts covers 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents market research and industry information, and each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format. IBISWorld Industry Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. NetAdvantage offers screening tools, private company information, and the ability to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis. Dates of coverage: Current with some older information (back to 4 years). BUSINESS SCHOOL Students and Faculty can also use S&P Capital IQ available in Capital Federal Hall (back to 10 years).
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to: full-text of current news, up to the last 20 years; full-text company news and financial information; full-text federal, state and international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical and health information; and general reference sources. Search "Get Company Information" by Ticker and by Name.
Suggested uses: Users can find detailed company information using a variety of techniques, including retrieving profiles, financial reports, and SEC filings.
Library databases
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
Offers information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
FRAANK (Financial Reporting and Auditing Agent with Net Knowledge) gets financial information from 20K and 10Q, parses them, and populates an Excel spreadsheet. Seek-Inf (Search Engine for Extracting Knowledge from Industrial Filings) searches for non-financial and financial information from the following SEC filings: 8K, 10K, 10Q, 13F, DEF, 14A, S-1, Comment Letters, Response Letters, 20F, 40F, and AAERs.
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.
Suggested uses: Using the Topic Search button, look for “Company Reports” and narrow the results to determine if a company is included in this paper. Also try and advanced search combining company names with other topics such as “market share” or “sales.”
