Manuscripts by Country
Manuscripts by Country
The manuscripts and manuscript collections listed below cover topics related to Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Manuscripts are listed by country and then within each country are ordered by approximate date from oldest to most recent. Though the list is not entirely comprehensive, it offers a good starting point for exploring Spencer's Spanish, Portuguese, and Ibero-American manuscript holdings.
Below each entry is a brief summary of the collection information. Click on the hyperlink to navigate to the full online finding aid or catalog record.
Click here to download a PDF version of this list of Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American manuscripts in Special Collections at the Kenneth Spencer Research Library.
Manuscripts by country: Argentina | Brazil | Colombia | Costa Rica | Dominican Republic | Guatemala | Honduras | Mexico | Nicaragua | Paraguay | Peru | Portugal | Puerto Rico (U.S.) | Spain | [South America]
Argentina
- Autobiography of George, sailor from Lincolnshire, active ca. 1780-1830. After 1830Creator: George, sailor from Lincolnshire, active ca. 1780-1830.
Date: After 1830
Description: Autobiography. George ---? England, after 1830. Autobiography by George, a sailor from Lincolnshire covering his experiences in a workhouse, as a farmer's boy, runaway, Trent and Humber sailor, and in London shipping. Also includes accounts as crew on convict ship bound for Botany Bay, 1797; mutiny by French prisoners; imprisonment in Argentina (Buenos Aires, Santa Fe, etc.); conversion to Catholicism; escape to US, 1802; return to England, becoming a Baptist; also includes religious meditations, verse, and vision.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS P447
Access point: Online Finding Aid
Brazil
- Boehrer Collection of letters by Portuguese politicians, governmental documents, etc.; Portugal and Brazil, 1795-ca. 1855. Most material 1820-1850.Creator: Various authors, Portugal and Brazil; Boehrer, George, C. A.
Date:1795-ca. 1855. Most material 1820-1850.
Description: A collection of manuscripts particularly pertaining to the Liberal Period in Portugal and the subsequent civil war between progressive constitutionalists and authoritarian absolutists over succession. Materials for both Portugal and Brazil, including manuscripts and correspondence for and related to Thomar, J. B. da Silva Cabral, Avilez, Duke of Saldanha, Cardinal Saraiva, etc.; government of the Algarve; diaries, etc.
Extent: circa 4000 items
Call number: MS 50 and others
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer") and Online Catalog - Travel-diary; New York - Rio de Janeiro - Lisbon - Isle of Wight - Paris, 30 March - 15 August 1865Creator: Cotting, Benjamin Eddy, Mrs
Date: 1865
Description: Detailed account by an observant, enthusiastic Yankee accompanying Louis Agassiz on his voyage to Brazil; she and her husband leave Rio for England on 7 June, 1865. Some personalities.
Extent: 4 volumes
Call Number: MS A8a
Access point: Online Finding Aid
Colombia
- Account of the 1860 Revolution in Colombia; After 1880?Date: Copied after 1880
Description: First-person account of Revolution of 1860. Fictional? Incomplete? Parts 1-7
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS P77
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Diario de la guerra de 1899-1900.Creator: Restrepo Mejía, Martin
Date: 1899-1900
Description: Diario de la guerra de 1899-1900. Martin Restrepo Mejía, Secretario de Instrucción Pública del Gobernador del Cauca, Grāl D. Manuel Maria Sanclemente. Popayan (Colombia), notebooks, 16 Oct 1899-8 Aug 1900. Diary of the revolt in Colombia kept by a member of the government.
Extent: 3 volumes
Call number: MS B94
Access point: Online Catalog Record
Costa Rica
- Photograph album of the funeral of Bernardo Soto AlfaroCreator: Gómez Miralles, Manuel, 1886-1965
Date: 1931
Description: An album of photographs documenting the funeral of former Costa Rican President Bernardo Soto Alfaro, which took place on January 31, 1931 at the Catedral Metropolitana in San José. The album originates from the Manuel Gómez Miralles Studio in San José, Costa Rica.
Extent:1 volume
Call number: MS K35
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Francisco María Núñez Monge papersCreator: Núñez M., Francisco María (Núñez Monge), 1892-1984.
Date: 1940, 1941
Description: This collection consists of two typescripts: Legislación sobre el monopolio de Licores y la fábrica Nacional (a history of legislation on the liquor monopoly) (1940) and Estudio Histórico sobre la producción y el monopolio de licores en Costa Rica (a study on the historical production and monopoly of liquors in Costa Rica) (1941).
Extent: 0.5 linear feet (1 document case)
Call number: MS 88
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Filosofia del Derecho; Irretroactividad de la ley [Philosophy of the Law]. 1960.Creator: Garbajal Valdés, Antonio.
Date: 1960
Description: Filosofia del Derecho; Irretroactividad de la ley [Philosophy of the Law]. Lic. Carlos José Gutiérrez, Catedrático. San José, Costa Rica, 1960. Typescript.
Extent: 38pp + 7 pp bibliography.
Call number: MS P638
Access point: Online Catalog (brief record)
Dominican Republic
- Letter from Ricardo Perez Alfonseca (1892-1950) to Stephen Gaselee. London, 1941 Sept. 10.Creator: Perez Alfonseca, Ricardo
Date: 1941 Sept. 10
Description: Holograph letter, signed. London, in Spanish on Legacion de la Republica Dominicana letterhead. 1p (1 piece). Found laid in Ellis Omnia C226 v.2 item 4 (The Spanish Books..., 1921.) Précis: Thanks for your "The Spanish Books in the Library of Samuel Pepys."
Extent: 1 piece
Call number: MS P600:2
Access point: Online Finding Aid
Guatemala
- Manuscripts relating to Guatemala (and Honduras, etc.), 1627-1937, from the collection of William J. GriffithCreator: Griffith, William J.
Date: 1627-1937 (mainly 1640-1830)
Description: Miscellaneous unbound manuscripts removed from the Griffith Collection of printed Guatemalan source material. The content covers the dates 1627-1937 but is mainly 1640-1830. Contains some records of the University of S. Carlos and the Protomedicato, 1627-1838, 1887; 8 governmental documents, 1824, 1831, 1855; 49 letters by Rafael Carrera, 1846-1864; and some papers relating to the Rojas family. Although most of the manuscripts are Guatemalan in origin, some are Honduran, and there is one each from Peru (Lima), Cuba, San Salvador, Nicaragua and Spain.
Extent: 11 document boxes
Call number: MS 187
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Sociedad economica de amigos del estado de Guatemala; 1830-1872, Pamphlets and manuscripts, mostly MSS.Description: From the John Crerar Collection
Date: 1830-1872
Extent: ca. 65 items
Call number: MS 110
Access point: Online Catalog Record - Humo; Manuel Martínez-Sobral, 1879-1946. Carbon typescript copy of edition perhaps published in Guatemala, 1900. Short story.Creator: Martínez-Sobral, Manuel, 1879-1946.
Date: 1900
Description: Short story
Extent: 51pp
Call number: MS P640
Access point: Online catalog record and accession files (under "Martínez-Sobral") - Su matrimonio / Enrique Martinez Sobral; carbon copy of a typescript, 1901Creator: Martínez Sobral, Enrique, 1875-1950.
Date: ca. 1901
Description: "El libro de donde se sacó esta copia está incompleto y no tiene el capítulo I"--P. [2]; Carbon copy of a typescript.
Extent: 88 leaves
Call number: MS C292
Access point: Online Catalog Record - Letter from James Renfrew to Hugh Graggs ("La Providencia", Palin, Escuintla, Guatemala). Royal Oak (Michigan), 22 Feb. 1967.Creator: Renfrew, James, fl. 1963
Date: 1967
Description: Typed letter signed (TLS), enclosing manuscript of Nicaragua: Land of Enchantment and Paradox (MS P514:1) for your library.
Extent: 1 page
Call number: MS P514:2
Access point: Online catalog record and accession files (under "Renfrew")
Honduras
- Manuscripts relating to Guatemala (and Honduras, etc.), 1627-1937, from the collection of William J. GriffithCreator: Griffith, William J.
Date: 1627-1937 (mainly 1640-1830)
Description: Miscellaneous unbound manuscripts removed from the Griffith Collection of printed Guatemalan source material. The content covers the dates 1627-1937 but is mainly 1640-1830. Contains some records of the University of S. Carlos and the Protomedicato, 1627-1838, 1887; 8 governmental documents, 1824, 1831, 1855; 49 letters by Rafael Carrera, 1846-1864; and some papers relating to the Rojas family. Although most of the manuscripts are Guatemalan in origin, some are Honduran, and there is one each from Peru (Lima), Cuba, San Salvador, Nicaragua and Spain.
Extent: 11 document boxes
Call number: MS 187
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Collection of Ernesto Alvarado García of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Professor of law, bookseller, consul for Paraguay in Tegucigalpa, Director del Archivo National. Honduras, circa 1933-1965.Creator: Alvarado García, Ernesto
Date: circa 1933-1965
Description: Collection of Ernesto Alvarado García (1904-1972) of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Professor of law, bookseller, consul for Paraguay in Tegucigalpa, Director del Archivo National. Collection contains letters received, financial accounts, notes on law and history, scrapbooks, including of articles by or concerning Alvarado García, etc. Tegucigalpa, Honduras, ca. 1933 - ca. 1965.
Extent: 3 document cases and 3 oversized folders
Call number: MS 64, MS QA26
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Letter from Dean Ivan Lamb to E.S. McCawley of Haverford, Pa., encouraging him to follow Lamb on his "13th revolution," apparently in Honduras. 1934Creator: Lamb, Dean Ivan
Date: 1934 March 16
Description: Letter previously tipped in to the printed book: Lamb’s The Incurable Filibuster, 1934.
Extent: 1 letter
Call number: MS C200 item 2
Access point: Online catalog record
Mexico
- Official documents of Tulancingo, Mexico, 1577-1849Creator: Tulancingo, Mexico [Recipient]
Date: 1577-1849
Description: Official documents related to Tulancingo, Mexico: sentences, royal proclamations, notarial register, 1 Papal bull, etc. 13 manuscripts; 143 printed items with manuscript additions. Subjects: criminal cases, resources and manufactures, governmental processes, slavery and indigenous peoples, commerce, etc.
Extent: approximately 153 items
Call number: MS 43
Access point: Online finding aid - Arte y forma de medir tierras, aguas, y minas, Mexico, circa 1768-1771Date: 1567-1768 [dates covered], copies written 1768-1771
Description: Compilation of ordinances and royal decrees, 1567-1768, concerning laying out ranches, and other matters; treatise on mines, ca. 1700; hints on land-measurement; medical prescriptions; treatise on bee-keeping.; Mexico, ca. 1768-1771
Call number: MS C123
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Arte y forma") and Online catalog record - Hacienda de España y America. Spain, pamphlets, 1623-1780Date: 1623-1780
Description: 83 pamphlets, manuscript and printed, concerned with the finances of Spain and Mexico. Binding: Stuart de Rothesay.
Extent: 2 volumes (83 pamphlets)
Call number: MS E38
Access point: Online catalog record - Plan de defensa del reyno de Nueva España por las costas colaterales à Veracruz comprehendidas entre Alvarado y Zempoala. Mexico, 17--?Date: 17--?
Description: Mentions S. Juan de Ulloa, therefore after 1582; the Virrey, therefore before 1820. Handwriting probably 18th c.; but may be a copy.
Extent: 33 leaves
Call number: MS P215
Access point: Online catalog record - Recetas de cocina Mexicanas; Mexico, 17--Date: 1700s-1800s?
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS C144
Access point: Online catalog record and accession file (under "Recetas") - Operacion respectiva al Colegio de Sn. Ignacio de la Puebla de los Angeles en Nueva España ... Puebla (Mexico)? After 1774.Date: After 1774
Description: Account of the financial establishment of the Jesuit Colegio de Estudios Mayores nombrado S. Ignacio (founded 1699) prepared in connection with the expulsion of the Jesuits. This "Puebla de los Angeles" is probably Puebla in Mexico (now Puebla de Zaragoza). See also MS E65
Call number: MS D73
Access point: online catalog record - Libro de las cuentas annuales que dan la M.R.M. Priora, y Contadoras de éste convento de N.M.S. Catarina de Sena, de ésta Ciudad de la Puebla de los Angeles ... 1795-1808.Creator: Santa Catalina de Sena (Convent : Puebla de Zaragoza, Mexico)
Date: 1795-1808
Description: Identification of city: Puebla, Mexico, and convent: Santa Catalina de Sena (convent of Dominican nuns) [identification tentative]. Includes expenses of the Religiosas de vida Comun, and de vida Particular. Puebla, Mexico, 1795-1808. See also MS D73.
Call number: MS E65
Access point: Online catalog record - Esposicion hecha al Virrey de Mexico sobre la ocurrido en Yucatan con motivo de la formacion de la causa en averiguacion de los autores del homicido de Don Lucas Galvez. Mexico, 20 Oct. 1796.Creator: Bodega y Mollinedo, Manuel de la, b. 1752
Date: 1796 October 20
Description: On the murder of the Governor of Yucatan (Mexico), Don Lucas Galvez, on 22 June 1792; and on the obstacles to Bodega’s investigation. Bound with other reports by Bodega.
Extent: 93 leaves
Call number: MS E54:18
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Bodega y Mollinedo") and online catalog record - Dictamen sobre la reclamacion de la fiscalia de la hacienda publica hecha por Don Ambrosio Zargarzurieta en 1813. Mexico, 13 Mayo 1813.Creator: Bodega y Mollinedo, Manuel de la, b. 1752
Date: 1813 May 13
Description: Opinion on the financial aspects of the new law concerning tribunales and juzgados; reasons against the objections of Sagarzurieta and Antonio Forres Forifa. Mexico. Bound with other reports by Bodega.
Extent: 5 leaves
Call number: MS E54:19
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Bodega y Mollinedo") and online catalog record - Contestacion dada à Zagarzurieta por el Virey à consecuencia del dictamen de Don Manuel de la Bodega sobre la reclamacion de la Fiscalia de la hacienda publica. Mexico, May, 1813.Creator: New Spain. Viceroy (1810-1813 : Venegas); Bodega y Mollinedo, Manuel de la, b. 1753
Date: 1813 May
Description: Opinion on the financial aspects of the new law concerning tribunales and juzgados. The "Virey" is not identified, and may be Venegas’ successor, Calleja del Rey. Bound with Bodega’s reports.
Extent: 4 leaves
Call number: MS E54:20
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Bodega y Mollinedo") and online catalog record - Informe dado por Don Manuel de la Bodega al Ministro de Hacienda en 1820 sobre las rentas y ramos de la hacienda publica ... de Lima en el Peru. 7 Sept. 1820.Creator: Bodega y Mollinedo, Manuel de la, 1752-
Date:1820 Sept. 7 [covers 1813-1820]
Description: On the taxes which most impede Lima’s prosperity. In reply to a request from Canga-Argüelles. Bound with other reports by Bodega. Discusses 1813-1820. Incipit: "He recibido, aunque con atraso ..."
Extent: 5 leaves
Call number: MS E54:21
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Bodega y Mollinedo") and online catalog record - Latin American Recipes; Perhaps Mexico? ca. 1817?Creator: Various authors
Date: Early 19th century?
Description: A collection of culinary recipes, written in various hands, that appears to be from central and southern Mexico. Most of the recipes are individual leaves of paper, but a few are bound. Included is a leather wrapper from which the recipes were removed. Most recipes are undated, but one is dated 1817. The recipes do not have authors; however, four recipes include the names of recipients, including one addressed to Da Maria Rafaela Vazquez de Medina, Mexico. Original spellings have been used in listing the recipes in the inventory.
Extent: .25 linear feet (62 loose and bound paper items in 1 document case, housed with the leather portfolio that formerly housed the recipes)
Call number: MS 346 (formerly MS D74)
Access point: Online finding aid - Notes, letters, and accounts concerning a law-case. Mexico, 1837-1849.Creator: Carvajal, Antonio
Date:1837-1949
Description: Important names included: Maria de Jesus Landa; Juan Manuel Flores, Mariano Perez de Castro.
Extent: circa 100 items (many bound together)
Call number: MS 47
Access point: Online catalog record - Letters to "Mon cher Marechal" [Randon?]. Paris, Fontainebleau, Vichy, Biarritz, etc., 1861-1863. (from a collection of documents related to the French intervention in Mexico)Creator: Napoléon III, emperor of the French, 1808-1873.
Date: 1861-1863
Description: Letters concerning the war in Mexico. Recipient suggested by bookseller. All signed Napoleon, some in hand of amanuensis.
Extent: 25 letters
Call number: MS P231:A
Access point: Online catalog record and accession files (under "Napoleon III") - Letter from French Minister of War to Napoleon III. Paris, 2 July 1863, (from collection of documents related to the French intervention in Mexico)Creator: France. Ministère de la guerre.
Date: 1863 July 2
Description: Letter reports that he has followed orders and reproved General Lorencez for his conduct before Puebla; but adds that others are as much to blame, that Generals cannot work efficiently under surveillance, and that internal squabbles will only add to the problems in the Mexican War. 4p (1 sheet). In clerk’s hand. Unsigned; on "Ministère de la Guerre. Cabinet du Ministre" letterhead.
Extent: 4 pages (1 sheet)
Call number: MS P231:B3
Access point: Online catalog record - Letter to "Monsieur le Maréchal" [Randon?]. Mexico (Corps Exped. du Mexique), 27 Aug. 1863. (from a collection of documents related to the French intervention in Mexico)Creator: Bazaine, François-Achille, 1811-1888.
Date: 1863 Aug. 27
Description: On military affairs in Mexico
Extent: 4 pages (1 sheet)
Call number: MS P231:B2
Access point: Online catalog record - Letter to General Bazaine; Biarritz, 29 Sept. 1863. (from a collection of documents related to the French intervention in Mexico)Creator: Napoléon III, emperor of the French, 1808-1873.
Date: 1863 Sept. 29
Description: On affairs in Mexico
Extent: 3 p. (1 sheet). COPY.
Call number: MS P231 B:1
Access point: Online catalog record and accession files (under "Napoleon III") - Decanato de Natalicio Gonzalez. Mexico et al., scrapbook, 1963-1965.Creator:González, Natalicio, 1897-1966
Date: 1965-1966
Description: Letters received during his Ambassadorship from Paraguay to Mexico, as dean of the diplomatic corps in Mexico. From the Natalicio Gonzalez collection.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS E224
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Gonzalez, Natalicio") and online catalog record - MYgration stories: the oral histories of Hispanic immigrants in Kansas City, KansasCreator: El Centro, Inc. (Kansas City, Kan.)
Date: 2003
Description: Project report, sound cassettes, and transcripts of interviews of thirty-one Hispanic and Latino immigrants to the United States, residing in Kansas City, Kansas. Interviews were conducted January-October, 2003.
Extent: 1 box and 28 cassette tapes.
Call number: RH MS 565 and RH Cass. Tape 14
Access point: Online finding aid
Nicaragua
- Nicaragua: land of enchantment and paradox. Nicaragua and U.S., typescript, 3 Oct. 1963.Creator: Renfrew, James, fl. 1963.
Date: circa 1963
Description: "A copy of a narrative summary of notes made by me on my first trip to Nicaragua." Describes daily life, national character, politics. See also MS 514:2.
Extent: 32 leaves
Call number: MS P514:1
Access point: Online catalog and accession files (under "Renfrew")
Paraguay
- Natalicio González collection. Paraguay, 1595-1965.Creator: González, Natalicio, 1897-1966
Date: 1900-1965 (Copies and originals); 1595-1965 [dates covered]
Description: Paraguayan historical and economical material collected by the politician, author, historian, and former Paraguayan president Natalicio Gonzalez. Originals and copies, covering 1595-1965. Includes: autobiographical scrapbooks, 1900-1965; governmental reports, 1926-1953, on transportation, economics, etc.; scrapbooks on economics, ca. 1940-1960; transcripts from the Archivo Nacional, 1595-1788; war and politics 1860-1868. Related Material at MS E224, MS G42-G43, P492:1. See also Morinigo, Victor.
Extent: 29 volumes
Call number: MS E206-231
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Gonzalez, Natalicio") and Online Catalog - Paraguayan historical and economical material collected by the politician, author, and historian Natalicio Gonzalez. 1595-1965.Creator: González, Natalicio, 1897-1966
Date: 1900-1965 (Copies and originals); 1595-1965 [dates covered]
Description: Related Material at MS E206-E231, P492:1. See also Morinigo, Victor.
Call number: MS G42-G43
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Gonzalez, Natalicio") and online catalog record - Natalicio González collection. II Loose materials.Creator: González, Natalicio, 1897-1966
Date: 1900-1965 (Copies and originals); 1595-1965 [dates covered]
Description: Loose material from MS E192 v.2.
Call number: MS P492:1 and MS P492:2:1-5
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Gonzalez, Natalicio") and Online catalog record - Decanato de Natalicio Gonzalez. Mexico et al., scrapbook, 1963-1965.Creator:González, Natalicio, 1897-1966
Date: 1965-1966
Description: Letters received during his Ambassadorship from Paraguay to Mexico, as dean of the diplomatic corps in Mexico. From the Natalicio Gonzalez collection.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS E224
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Gonzalez, Natalicio") and online catalog record - Victor Morinigo collection. Paraguay, etc., 18-- - 1965.Creator: Morinigo, Victor
Date: 1800? - 1965
Description: Originals or transcripts of several thousand documents, letters, treatises, archives, etc., concerning Paraguayan politics, history, economics, topography, natural history, indigenous languages, etc. By many authors; collected by Natalicio Gonzalez. Includes Victor Morinigo’s own papers. Related Material at MS D144. See also Gonzalez, Natalicio.
Extent: 30 volumes
Call number: MS E192-203
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Gonzalez, Natalicio") and online catalog record - Collection of Ernesto Alvarado García of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Professor of law, bookseller, consul for Paraguay in Tegucigalpa, Director del Archivo National. Honduras, circa 1933-1965.Creator: Alvarado García, Ernesto
Date: circa 1933-1965
Description: Collection of Ernesto Alvarado García (1904-1972) of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Professor of law, bookseller, consul for Paraguay in Tegucigalpa, Director del Archivo National. Collection contains letters received, financial accounts, notes on law and history, scrapbooks, including of articles by or concerning Alvarado García, etc. Tegucigalpa, Honduras, ca. 1933 - ca. 1965.
Extent: 3 document cases and 3 oversized folders
Call number: MS 64, MS QA26
Access point: Online Finding Aid - Scrapbook concerning the assumption of Presidency of Paraguay by Andrés RodríguezDate: February 3, 1989-June 1989
Description: Scrapbook, with additional loosely inserted materials, concerning the assumption of the Paraguayan presidency by Andrés Rodríguez in 1989, replacing longtime President Alfredo Stroessner. Consists of newspapers from Asunción, Paraguay; Brazil; and eleven periodical photocopies from the United States of America.
Extent: 1.67 linear feet (1 oversize box + 1 oversize folder)
Call number: MS Q79; MS R22
Access point: Online Finding Aid
Peru
- Carta de venta por Maria Ortiz a Catarina Diaz de las casas en la calle de sant Agùstin - en 26 del junio 1562. Lima, Peru.Creator: Ortiz, Maria
Date: 1562 June 26
Description: Manuscript bill of sale by Maria Ortiz, widow, to Catarina Diaz of a house in the street of Saint Augustine in the city of Lima, Peru.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS E273
Access point: Online finding aid - Informe dado por Don Manuel de la Bodega al Ministro de Hacienda en 1820 sobre las rentas y ramos de la hacienda publica ... de Lima en el Peru. 7 Sept. 1820.Creator: Bodega y Mollinedo, Manuel de la, 1752-
Date:1820 Sept. 7 [covers 1813-1820]
Description: On the taxes which most impede Lima’s prosperity. In reply to a request from Canga-Argüelles. Bound with other reports by Bodega. Discusses 1813-1820. Incipit: "He recibido, aunque con atraso ..."
Extent: 5 leaves
Call number: MS E54:21
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Bodega y Mollinedo") and online catalog record
Portugal
- Instructions to Papal envoys 1592-1595, and 42 letters to the Courts of Flanders, Portugal, and Spain, ca. 1597. Italy?, copied ca. 1600.Creator: Catholic Church; Pope (1592-1605: Clement VIII)
Date: 1597, copied circa 1600
Call number: MS D165
Access point: Online catalog record - Bolton Company letters, 1695-1711, Madeira, Portugal, and Great BritainCreator: Bolton, William, active 1695-1711; William Bolton and Co.
Date: 1695-1711
Description: Letters from an English merchant in Madeira and his company (William BOLTON and Co.; Bolton, Darell and Morgan; Bolton, Morgan, & Co.) to his London associates (the merchants Robert, William, or Gyles Heysham). Regards imports and exports between Great Britain, Madeira,and Portugal.
Extent .5 linear feet (1 document case); 88 items containing 175 letters
Call number: MS 84
Access point: Online Finding Aid and Digital Collection
Digital Content: Online digital collection available at: https://digital.lib.ku.edu/ku-bolton/root - Breve noticia da Provincia de Japão da Companhia de Jesus no Oriente. Portugal or Asia, 1751.Date: 1751
Description: Short history of Jesuit missionaries in Vietnam, China, Siam, and Japan; account of their present state. Addressed to the King of Portugal; begs that he will allow them to extend the Portuguese Empire.
Call number: MS E57
Access point: Online catalog record - Boehrer Collection of letters by Portuguese politicians, governmental documents, etc.; Portugal and Brazil, 1795-ca. 1855. Most material 1820-1850.Creator: Various authors, Portugal and Brazil; Boehrer, George, C. A.
Date:1795-ca. 1855. Most material 1820-1850.
Description: A collection of manuscripts particularly pertaining to the Liberal Period in Portugal and the subsequent civil war between progressive constitutionalists and authoritarian absolutists over succession. Materials for both Portugal and Brazil, including manuscripts and correspondence for and related to Thomar, J. B. da Silva Cabral, Avilez, Duke of Saldanha, Cardinal Saraiva, etc.; government of the Algarve; diaries, etc.
Extent: circa 4000 items
Call number: MS 50 and others
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer") and Online Catalog - Missao da Russia. Portugal, Russia, Europe, 1820-1821.Creator: Almeida e Vasconcelos, Manuel de, 1784-1832
Date: 1820-21
Description: Vol.1: Fair copy of letters sent by Ambassador de Lapa; Vol.2: Fair copies of letters received by him.
Extent: 2 volumes
Call number: MS E240
Access point: Online catalog record and accession files (under "Almeida") - Portuguese proclamations, 1823-1824Date: 1823-1824
Description: Collection of 13 printed and 2 manuscript broadsides concerning the revolt of Dom Miguel against João VI by both sides. Portugal, 1823-1824.
Extent:15 items (bound together)
Call number: MS P472
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Portuguese Proclamations") and Online Catalog - Memoria historica e chronologica do plano revolucionario dos Amigos de Mina. Portugal, 1830.Date: 1830
Description: Report to the Secretaria d’Estado dos Negocios Ecclesiasticos e de Justica concerning the subversive correspondence belonging to Manuel de Lopez and found in the house of the Pimentel brothers. Concerns actions in Spain and Portugal of the revolutionary society Amigos de Mina 1823-1830.
Call number: MS D147
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer MSS: Bound Books") and Online Catalog - Sonetos a S. M[??ng]e o Sr. D. Miguel I: Por F S M. de [J?] P. Torres.Creator: Torres, J. [?] P.
Date: 1830s? [circa]
Description: poems addressed to D. Miguel I [and others?]
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS B143
Access point: Online catalog record [brief record] - Common-place book of Nicolau Anastácio de Bettencourt ; Azores, Portugal, etc, ca, 1831-1862Creator: Bettencourt, Nicolau Anastácio de, 1810-1874.
Date: 1831-1862
Description: Identified from initials N.A.d.B. signed to poems and references to his appointments as governor of the Azores (Angria district). Loose leaves from volume found at MS 50:412
Call number: MS 50:411
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer") and online catalog record - Diary and notes; Goa, Mozambique, Portugal, etc.,1836-1873.Creator: Pasiollo, Diogo Niclão, fl. 1829-1873
Date: 1836-1873
Call number: MS B142
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer MSS: Bound Books") and Online catalog record - Commissão da Subscripção em favor e auxilio do Senhor D. Miguel de Bragança. Lisbon, account-book, 1848-1851.Creator: Bragança, D. Miguel de
Date: 1848-1851
Description: Account book; apparently monies collected by women for the support of the exiled Miguel I. Mentions correspondence.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS K22
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer: Bound Books") and Online catalog record - Cathalogo das madeiras Portuguezas, e tambem das exoticas cultivadas com as explicaçoes das que existem na collecçao de Manuel Bernardo Lopes Fernandes. Lisboa, 1849.Creator: Lopes Fernandes, Manuel Bernardo, 1797-1870
Date: 1849
Description: Regarding Portuguese botany
Call number: MS B67
Access point: Online catalog record - Travel-diary; New York - Rio de Janeiro - Lisbon - Isle of Wight - Paris, 30 March - 15 August 1865Creator: Cotting, Benjamin Eddy, Mrs
Date: 1865
Description: Detailed account by an observant, enthusiastic Yankee accompanying Louis Agassiz on his voyage to Brazil; she and her husband leave Rio for England on 7 June, 1865. Some personalities.
Extent: 4 volumes
Call Number: MS A8a
Access point: Online Finding Aid
Puerto Rico (U.S.)
- Journal; England and with the Fleet; West Indies, October 1796, 8-30 April 1797Creator: Doyle, Charles William, 1770-1842
Date: 1796-1797
Description: Journal kept by a Captain of the 87th regiment on the English expedition against Puerto Rico. The 1797 entries begin at the back and run toward the front.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS A50
Access point: Online Catalog and accession file (under "Doyle")
Spain
- Torrelaguna Codex: Historical documents of the Convento de la Madre de Dios. Torrelaguna, Spain. ca 1520-after 1809 [covers 1469-1809].Creator: Convento de la Madre de Dios (Torrelaguna, Spain)
Date: circa 1520 - after 1809 [covers 1469-1809]
Description: contains memoranda: notarial transcriptions of documents which the monastery found it necessary to remember, jottings of events, inventories, etc., added to cover the history of the monastery (which appears to have been destroyed in 1809).
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS C238
Access point: Online finding aid - Carta executoria. Valladolid, 22 Nov. 1522.; Granting exemption from paying the tax called "pecho" to Bartholome Sanz of Burgo de Osma on grounds that he is a "hijo dalgo".Creator: Spain. Sovereign (1516-1556 : Charles I).
Date: 1522 Nov. 22
Call number: MS E30
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Spain. Sovereigns") and Online Catalog - Copies of 47 items: instructions and memoranda to Papal envoys; 1560. Rome?Creator: Catholic Church; Pope
Date:1560, copies late 1500s
Description: Also includes copies of a few envoys’ letters; instructions of Emperor Ferdinand and Philip II of Spain.
Extent: 1 volume (47 items)
Call number: MS D166
Access point: Online catalog record - Poems by Pedro Laynez; before 1584; perhaps before 1571Creator: Laynez, Pedro, approximately 1538-1584
Date: circa before 1584, perhaps before 1571
Description: Book containing a fair copy of a collection of poems in the author's hand.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS A14
Access point: Online finding aid - Instructions to Papal envoys 1592-1595, and 42 letters to the Courts of Flanders, Portugal, and Spain, ca. 1597. Italy?, copied ca. 1600.Creator: Catholic Church; Pope (1592-1605: Clement VIII)
Date: 1597, copied circa 1600
Call number: MS D165
Access point: Online catalog record - Confirmation of arms borne by Sebastian de Arriaga. Vall[adol]jd, book, 25 Jan., 1603.Creator: Arriaga, Sebastian de, fl. 1603
Date: 1603 Jan. 25
Call number: MS E81
Access point: Online catalog record - Hacienda de España y America. Spain, pamphlets, 1623-1780Date: 1623-1780
Description: 83 pamphlets, manuscript and printed, concerned with the finances of Spain and Mexico. Binding: Stuart de Rothesay.
Extent: 2 volumes (83 pamphlets)
Call number: MS E38
Access point: Online catalog record - Stuart de Rothesay collection of Spanish peace-treaties, diplomatic reports, etc.; Spain, Italy, Austria, Belgium, 1630-1782Creator: Stuart, Sir Charles, 1st baron Stuart de Rothesay, 1779-1845
Date: 1630-1782
Description:
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS C106
Access point: Online finding aid - Letters between Philip IV of Spain and Sor María de Jesús, abbess of Agreda: 1646-1662.Creator: Philip IV, King of Spain, 1605-1665.
Date:1646-1662
Description: 47 letters and accompanying documents.
Extent: 1 volume (90 leaves)
Call number: MS E25
Access point: Online finding aid - Spanish Succession Collection: Copies of treaties, letters, decrees, ambassador’s reports, etc., concerning the succession of the throne of Spain. 1667-1702; copied circa 1700-1715.Creator: Various authors, Spain
Date:1700-1715
Description:. 84 items, both manuscript and printed. Some items in this collection were inspired by the problems of the succession, and of the treaties touching Spain planned by France and England, 1699-1700. Some describe the death and will of Carlos II, and the rival claimants. A few discuss 15th-17th century precedents concerning succession to the throne, and the unification of the kingdoms. Some concern Catalonia and January 23, 1702.
Extent: 1 volume + loose items at MS P507
Call number: MS E236; MS P507:1-3
Access point: Finding Aid (note PDF attachment to fining aid which contains eight additional pages of information from our old paper lists) - Gazette (Italian); Newsletters bound together; Vienna, 1674-1675.Date: 1674-1675
Description: Weekly: 22 Apr, 13 May, and 13 Sept 1674; and 27 Sept 1674 to 14 March 1675. War news, politics, court news. Covers Europe. With proverbs in French, and in Italian, Spanish, Latin.
Extent: 28 letters, each of 4 pages
Call number: MS B37
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Italian Gazette") and Online Catalog - Library Catalog of Pedro Nuñez de Guzmán, 3rd Marques de Montealegre, fl. 1668, after 1677Date:After 1677, 18th Century?
Description: incomplete?
Extent:1 volume
Call number: MS E41
Access point: Online finding aid - Official correspondence and documents. Spain, Catalonia, France, etc. book, 1691-1694. ca. 2000 items in 7 vols.Creator: Catalonia (Spain). Viceroy (1690-1693 : Medina-Sidonia)
Date: 1691-1694
Extent: ca. 2000 items in 7 volumes
Call number: MS E98
Access point: Online catalog and accession files - Du Camp de Gualta en Catalogne 1e 29 May 1694. pages 955-973. France? copy made 1694 or laterDate: circa 1694
Description: Part 1: news of a French-Spanish battle in Catalonia. Part 2 ("De Madrid le 10 Juillet 1694"): news of morale and politics in Spain. Table of contents of volume in which item previously bound.
Call number: MS Q13:15b
Access point: Online finding aid - A physiognomy in Spanish; Spain, ca 1700?Date: circa 1700?
Description: Discusses lines on face and hands, and the aspect of the eye, from an astrological point of view. Begins "Del primer conoçimento ..." Perhaps based on Finella’s De metroposcopia, 1648.
Extent: 1 volume
Call number: MS C114
Access point: Online catalog record - Cartilla de la doctrina religiosa; Spain?, copied 1744Creator: Salzedo, Francisco de, active before 1744
Date: copied 1744
Description: Includes additional texts
Extent: 1 volume pages 1-78
Call number: MS B50: Item 1
Access point: Online finding aid - Consejos y documentos espirituales pertenecientes a la Mystica; Spain? 1744Creator: Piñuela, Pedro de la
Date: copied 1744
Description: Contains 7 tracts on prayer, meditation, and the amorous union with God, and a poem beginning: "Alma si quieres llegar ..." By a missionary to China.
Extent: pages 83-109 of volume
Call number: MS B50: Item 2
Access point: Online finding aid - Apuntes para formar un discurse sobre el mal y el bien de Espanã, escrite de orden del rey de las Sicilias, monarca presunte de las Españas. Miguel Antonio de la Gándara; Napoles. July 5, 1759.Creator: Gándara, Miguel Antonio de la, 1719-1783
Date: 1759 July 5
Description: Written at the order of Carlos III, king of Spain, 1716-1788.
Extent: 1 volume (136 leaves)
Call number: MS C16
Access point: Online finding aid - Memoria historica e chronologica do plano revolucionario dos Amigos de Mina. Portugal, 1830.Date: 1830
Description: Report to the Secretaria d’Estado dos Negocios Ecclesiasticos e de Justica concerning the subversive correspondence belonging to Manuel de Lopez and found in the house of the Pimentel brothers. Concerns actions in Spain and Portugal of the revolutionary society Amigos de Mina 1823-1830.
Call number: MS D147
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Boehrer MSS: Bound Books") and Online Catalog - Historia de Tunez. Estractos de un MS. que se dice ser traduccion castellana de una Historia de Tunez escrita en arábigo por Ben Guacir. Spain, ca. 1849.Creator: Ben Guacir
Date: Circa 1849
Description:History of Tunisia, covers period 1542-1672
Extent: 1 volume (32 ff)
Call number: MS E37
Access point: Reading Room Paper Inventory (under "Ben Guacir") and Online Catalog - “Don Quixote el Castellano Viejo.” Spain? Before 1860s.
Date: Before 1860s
Description: Based on the literature of Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra? Provenance: from the library of William Stirling, with note “Catalogue of Portion of the Library of the late Don Justo de Sancha sold at Sotheby’s Dec 3 + 4, 1860”
Extent: 1 volume, [10] + 255 pages
Call number: MS C73
Access point: Online catalog record
[South America]
- Logbook of the Royal Navy ship Dublin, 1835-1836; covering part of its assignment on the South American station, 1835-1838.Creator: Willes, George Wickens, 1785-1846
Date: 1835 October-1836 July
Extent:1 volume
Call number: MS E189
Access point: Online finding aid
