Central American Broadsides Digital Collection
Spencer Research Library has recently digitized a collection of its Central American broadsides. This digital collection features broadsides from the library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America. Dating from the 1820s to 1922, these single-sheet publications are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements. Additional broadsides address religion, literature and entertainment, education, and lotteries.
The collection is available at https://digital.lib.ku.edu/ku-broadsides/root
Find Materials beyond the Spencer Research Library
Haven't found what you need at Spencer? Listed below are some online digitized primary sources from other institutions. This page comes from Betsaida Reyes' very helpful Colonial Studies LibGuide.
Electronic primary resources at KU
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Sabin Americana covers a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Eighteenth Century collections onlineEighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Parts I and II, comprises over 200,000 printed volumes. It includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas produced in the 18th century.
Spanish language dictionaries
- Tesoro de la lengua castellana o española (Dictionary of the Spanish Language)Published in 1611, this is the first general monolingual Spanish dictionary.
- Gramática de la lengua castellana (Grammar of the Castilian Language), Antonio de Nebrija - 1492Published in 1492, it is the first Spanish language grammar. The link provides access to the digitized copy. The work is divided in 5 books, «Ortografía», «Prosodia», «Etimología», «Sintaxis» e «Introducciones de la lengua castellana para los que de extraña lengua querrán deprender».
Online primary resources
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de CervantesA large-scale digital library project, hosted and maintained by the University of Alicante in Alicante, Spain. It comprises the largest open-access repository of digitised Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world. (Humbul, 2006)
- The Humboldt Digital LibraryA virtual research environment on the works of Alexander von Humboldt. A project by the University of Applied Sciences Offenburg and University of Kansas
- The World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Biblioteca Digital Hispanica -Colección Historia de AméricaWorks selected by D. Carlos Malamud regarding the history and colonization of Iberoamerica. It includes key recompilations manuscripts from Columbus diaries, Hernan Cortes, works of Bartolome de las Casas, the manuscript of Diego Duran, the chronicles of Bernal Diaz del Castillo, Gonzalo Fernandez de Oviedo and Alexander von Humboldt.
- Biblioteca Digital Hispanica -Colección Mapas de AméricaThe collection is composed of blue prints, sailing charts, maps of geographical discoveries, first settlements or the creation of infrastructure (railways, telegraph…) between the XVI and XIX centuries.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
- OldMapsOnlineThe OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.
- The John Carter Brown LibraryThe purpose of the John Carter Brown Library is to preserve and collect books and other recorded information on the discovery and settlement of the Western hemisphere.
- Early Americas Digital ArchiveThe Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is a published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), at the University of Maryland.
- Thomas Jefferson - University of Virginia LibraryThis guide combines links to the major online collections of Jefferson's writings that have been made accessible by U.Va., as well as by other institutions. It also provides links to online collections of Jefferson's quotations and other information resources about Jefferson like bibliographies.
- The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents 1610 to 1791This site contains the entire English translation of the The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents, originally compiled and edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites and published by The Burrows BrothersCompany, Cleveland, throughout the latter part of the nineteenth century. Each file represents the total English contents of a single published volume. The original work has facing pages in the original French, Latin or Italian, depending on the author.
- A Treasury of Primary DocumentsA collection of historical works which contributed to the formation of American politics, culture, and ideals. This collection includes items like literature and documents most relevant to the colonists' lives in America.