Indexes and Databases
- Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an online bibliography for articles, essays, books, and reviews for the study of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Also includes online access to Iter Italicum, a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts, and the International Directory of Scholars, a listing of scholars in the field.
- International medieval bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450-1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly literature published between 1955 and the present. It indexes articles from over 2,100 journals (about 900 are published in the U.S.). Materials in many languages are indexed.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowA full text history reference database featuring content from almost 2,000 reference and non-fiction books.
- MLA international bibliography (CSA Illumina)The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
- Encyclopaedia of IslamThe Encyclopedia of Islam Online provides access to over 13,000 articles covering nearly all aspects of Islam. Access to this resource includes an index of subjects and proper names.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies This link opens in a new windowA systematic, and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage includes the following fields: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs: business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements, and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new windowUpdated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
- Jewish EncyclopediaThe complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia.
- RAMBI: The index of articles on Jewish studiesFrom the Jewish National & University Library in Jerusalem.
Indexes periodicals on all aspects of Jewish history and life. - Index to Jewish periodicalsThis database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more.
- Project MuseProvides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of records describing items owned by libraries all over the world.
- Films on demand This link opens in a new windowDozens of streaming videos on Spain including convivencia, art in the Middle Ages, the Reconquista,etc.
- Library of Latin Texts A This link opens in a new windowThe Library of Latin Texts-Series A database contains more than 3100 Latin texts from classical antiquity (all Teubner texts), late antiquity (including patristic authors),and the Middle Ages (including the authors in the Corpus Christianorum).
- Library of Latin Texts B This link opens in a new windowThe Library of Latin Texts-Series B database supplements Series A and contains texts from late Antiquity (including grammatical and medical texts), texts from the later Middle Ages and the Renaissance as well as texts in Neo-Latin. It will include travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the medieval and early modern periods.
- ATLA religion database with ATLA serials This link opens in a new windowIndexes religious studies periodicals, essays in multi-author works, reviews in religion, research in ministr.y
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations or abstracts are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997.
Finding Articles
Mezquita de Córdoba
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a web search engine.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
.
Blair and Bloom: "The Art and Architecture of Islam: 1250-1800"
Yale University Press, 1994, p. 233