Subject & Course Guides: Slavic Folklore (basic guide to research): Multi-media

Watch Russian Films

Free Film Collections

Classic Russian films (from Mosfilm) on YouTube
Free online access to a large archive of excellent Russian films. Watch films from the days of the great film pioneer Sergei Eisenstein to the present era of popular directors, such as Alexei Balabanov and Karen Shakhnazarov. Includes subtitles. Search for films or browse by category (comedy, drama, adventure, war, and melodrama).
Lenfilm Video on YouTube
Free online access to many Soviet and Russian films by Lenfilm. Browse by genre or search by keyword.
Open Language Resource Center
Search the Catalog for Slavic films. Check out films from the Center located in Wescoe Hall 4070.
more...less...
In addition to housing a collection of approximately 12,000 audio and video items in over 60 languages, the Center contains three computer labs, a media-enhanced conference room, a soundproofed recording studio, and a viewing area for small groups. We have a wide variety of portable equipment available for checkout and provide instructors with a materials development area that includes the latest in hardware and software. We also offer training in new instructional technologies and support grant and research projects focusing on languages, cultures, and the role of technology in the classroom.

Selected Film Adaptations

Films about Jánošík (Text in Slovak)
A website dedicated to films about Jánošík, the famous Czech/Slovak/Polish robin hood. Provides a chronology of Slovak and Polish adaptations, including scenes from the various versions.
Contemporary Recordings of Russian Folklore (Russkii fol'klor v sovremennykh zapisiakh)
Contains authentic video and audio recordings of folk traditions, including peasant magic, calendrical customs, family traditions, life rituals, folk tales, ballads, dances, and chastushki.
Phonogram Archive of St. Petersburg's Pushkinskii Dom (of the Russian Academy of Sciences)
Authentic and rare recordings from Russian and non-Russian folk traditions. Includes Russian epics, ballads, historical songs, spiritual poetry, lamentations, wedding songs and incantations, pagan calendar songs, lyrical songs, recruit and soldiers' songs, fairy tales, limericks, children's folklore (including lullabies), and instrumental music. Non-Russian recordings from Altaic, Buryat, Yakut, Kalmyk, Chuvash, Georgian, Kyrgyz, Turkmen, Uzbek, and Nganasan folklore.
Legends and Folktales
Animated reproductions of legends and folktales from around the world. Includes tales from Poland, Ukraine, Georgia, and Kyrgyzstan. Produced by the Defense Language Institute (DLI). Content is more appropriate for K-8 audience.