Finding articles and books - LA&S 480 - Preparing for International Careers - Subject & Course Guides at University of Kansas

Keywords - Selecting the best search terms

Suggestions for search terms

The success of any search depends on the quality of the clues. By using and combining precise keywords for your search terms, you increase your efficiency and obtain high quality search results. REMEMBER: Phrases (of more than one word) should be placed in quotation marks and multiple search terms should be combined using Boolean operators such as AND, OR, NOT. For example: "corporate culture" AND China

See list below for examples of useful keywords:

business etiquette
corporate culture
business communication
negotiation in business
intercultural communication
social life and customs
cross-cultural orientation

What's a library database?

Suggested databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
ProQuest research library This link opens in a new window
Web of science This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present). This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the KU Medical Center.
Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
PAIS index This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access of all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources. The collection covers all academic disciplines.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts to the education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering the published journal literature. Many of the documents, identified by the ED number, are available full text.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Sage journals online This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window

Finding articles in a database

Finding books in the library catalog

Find books about any topic by searching in the KU Library Catalog. Search By: KEYWORD, AND-OR-NOT, or SUBJECT HEADINGS. Use the search tips below the catalog search box and view the tutorials on this page for hints on how to be an efficient researcher. See example below: