If you would like to learn more about issues related to the common book, explore these resources. Faculty looking for assistance in developing or designing coursework can find dedicated teaching resources on the KU Common Book website: https://commonbook.ku.edu/
More Guides for Octavia Butler
How To Search Tutorials
- Picking Your TopicThis video explains the research process and provides effective strategies for producing a robust research topic.
- Search TipsThese short videos show how to use search terms effectively.
- Read It, Save It, Cite ItThese videos show you how to access and save articles.
Catalog Search
Research Themes from Parable of the Sower
Octavia Butler has integrated numerous themes throughout Parable of the Sower. Consider this list of themes from the text as you begin your research.
Parable of the Sower Book Reviews
Databases for Further Related Research
- American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996Covers foreign reactions to America’s racial struggles in the mid-20th century, including segregation, race riots, arts and literature, Brown v. Board of Education, the Civil Rights Movement, the Black Panthers, Martin Luther King, Jr. and more.
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and CultureThe Cambridge Companions series offers collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowIncludes law-related subject and title collections that are image-based and fully searchable, meaning--including all charts, graphs, and photographs. The constantly growing collections include the Congressional Documents, Law Journal Library, Intellectual Property Library, Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, Session Laws, Legal Classics, and World Trials. Individual titles with numerous volumes are also included, such as Congressional Record, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and English Reports. This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the School of Law.
- Race Relations in AmericaThe Amistad Research Center is the focus of this resource featuring primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century, 1943-1970.
- Religion and philosophy collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text for more than 300 journals covering world religions, biblical studies, history, political philosophy and more.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas. - Web of science This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present). This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the KU Medical Center.
