Alarmed Discovery Resources
Stage Two: The Alarmed Discovery and Euphoric Enthusiasm
The following databases can be used to find information that illuminates the increased public awareness and U.S. Congressional activity.
- ProQuest legislative insight This link opens in a new windowUseful database for conducting legislative history research for federal laws. This database include the full text of congressional committee hearings, reports, documents that led to a bill becoming law.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight TutorialPower Point tutorial with links to videos.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowIncludes law-related subject and title collections that are image-based and fully searchable. The collections include the Congressional Documents, Law Journal Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. and Supreme Court Library. Individual titles with numerous volumes are also included, such as Congressional Record, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, and Code of Federal Regulations.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowContains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as popular media (newspapers and magazines.) Includes: TIME magazine (1923- ).
- Life Magazine Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess to articles and images covering 1936-2000 from one of the most influential popular magazines of all time.
- New York Times with index This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full page and article images with searchable full-text for this major national newspaper from 1851 to 4 years ago.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Includes: Newsweek magazine (1975- ).
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. CongressIncludes names, party affiliation, state, and a brief biography for every member of Congress.