This is the "Starting Points" page of the "English Language and Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Language and Literature   Tags: american_literature, english_language, english_literature, literature  

A guide to databases and other resources in English Language and Literature.
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Points Print Page
  Search: 
 

Starting Points

This guide provides general information regarding a selection of KU databases and web sites pertaining to English Literature, English Literary Theory, Rhetoric and Composition, and Creative Writing.  These "Starting Points" offer initial suggestions, though we encourage you to explore more of the English Language and Literature Library Guides, as well as the overall KU catalog holdings.  Please contact a KU library consultant for additonal avenues of research.

Are you looking for an easily navigable, broad reaching database?  Try one of the following as a launch point.

Academic search complete: Featuring 8,750 of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Literary Reference Center: Provides a broad spectrum of full-text information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.  The Reference Center includes plot summaries, synopses, articles, author biographies, books reviews, poems, short stories and
.

Do you need to find an article or criticism? These are good places to start.

JSTOR: Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Literature Online (LION): Provides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language-poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries.

MLA International Bibliography: The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Project Muse: A searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Are you interested in creative writing?  Start with some of these resources:

Also: Small Press Distribution

SPD is the only distributor in the country dedicated exclusively to independently published literature. I find their monthly lists of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction bestsellers very helpful.
Are you looking for sources for Composition and Rhetoric?  This can be of great value:
Conference on College Composition
"Since 1949, the Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) has been the world's largest professional organization for researching and teaching composition, from writing to new media. Welcome to our community. You'll find the field's leading resources and, more important, expert scholars and teachers eager for you to join us. "   CCCC website
 
      
      


    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Stephanie Ann Scurto
    Contact Info
    350 Watson Library
    University of Kansas
    Lawrence, KS 66045
    785-864-5782
    Send Email
     

    Chat

      



    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip