New to KU Libraries
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access offers University of Kansas users instant access to more than 550 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. The site and its content are fully accessible on most mobile devices (smartphones and tablets) directly through the website as well. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many operas.
Starting Points
- Music Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowMusic Reference Collection brings together the most comprehensive written collection of materials for the study of music, covering virtually every musical time-period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region. The collection contains a variety of essential music reference materials allowing users to chronicle the history of music of diverse origins and walks of life. Includes access to Music Online: African American Music Reference, Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library, and Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
Library of Congress Guides
- LC Guide to Music Call NumbersDetailed guide showing a breakdown of call numbers:
M = scores and other printed music
ML = books about music
MT = music instruction and study
