- Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region Map
Map with multiple scripts
Textbooks: Greetings from the Teklimakan
[PDF] Greetings from the Teklimakan: a handbook of Modern Uyghur [KU ScholarWorks] by Publication Date: 2009A free, widely-accessible introductory textbook of the modern, standard Uyghur language with exercises and extensive grammatical analysis. Systematically guides the language learner through grammar and contextualized usage via graded situational texts and provides plenty of opportunity for learners to practice their skills via exercises. Designed for self-study or a one-year classroom course.
+ Accompanying audio
Uyghur: An Elementary Textbook (Indiana University) by ISBN: 9781589016842Publication Date: 2013Offers beginning students a thematically organized and integrative approach to the Uyghur language that emphasizes communicative activities, step-by-step development of linguistic skills, and elements of Uyghur culture.
+Multimedia DVD: includes audio that helps develop listening and speaking skills and videos filmed in different regions of Xinjiang, China.
Beginning Uyghur for English Speakers by Publication Date: Xinjiang University Press: Urumqi, 2010Beginner-friendly, does not go into advanced grammatical concepts but good for starting out.
[PDF] Introduction to Modern Uighur by Publication Date: Xinjiang University Press: Urumqi, 2007
[PDF] The First Step in Uygur by Publication Date: In Step Books Publishing: Hong Kong, 1993
Readers & Manuals
Uyghur: A Manual for Conversation by Call Number: PL54.62 .J654 2005ISBN: 9080104078Publication Date: 2005+Accompanying disk available separately
Sample page
Alphabet Tools
- Uyghur Alphabet app (iTunes App store)
Includes the Arabic-based alphabet (with audio), shape recognition, and listening.
Also available through Google play and BlackBerry World - Uyghur alphabet: Lesson 1 (Youtube)
A children's video on the Uyghur alphabet and pronunciation.
Flashcards
- Anki
Flashcard app. Pre-made flashcards available (with audio) for Greetings from the Teklimakan textbook as well as other Uyghur resources.
Note: the app and website AnkiWeb must be used separately to access and import flashcards. If you want to separate flashcards into smaller, more manageable groups for studying, look into how to tag them (ex. with chapter #s) and then do a "Custom Study" of the tags of your choice.
Dictionaries
- Yulghun online dictionary
A three-way translation/dictionary tool for English, Uyghur, and Mandarin Chinese.
An Uyghur-English Dictionary by Call Number: PL54.64 .S39 1992ISBN: 0914584898Publication Date: 1992
The English-Uighur Dictionary with Explanations by Call Number: PL54.64 .Q38 2002ISBN: 9787537227957Publication Date: 2002
Grammar Resources
Modern Uyghur grammar (Morphology) by Call Number: PL54.61 .T6620 2003ISBN: 9757981222Publication Date: 2003Sample page
English version: [PDF] Modern Uyghur Grammar
Uyghur version: [PDF] ھازىرقى زامان ئۇيغۇر تىلى گرامماتىكىسى
- Paj-Puj Palace (Gene A. Bunin)"A website dedicated to Uyghur grammar and all of its intricacies. The goal is to provide you with a rigorous supplement to any other Uyghur language materials you might have, in a manner that is accessible to, and easily understood by, English speakers who do not have any linguistic background."
Audio & Pronunciation Tools
- How I Learned to Trill (rolled R)
For those of you that can't roll your R's yet, don't worry! This quirky video has proven very helpful - AnkiFlashcard app. Pre-made flashcards available (with audio) for Greetings from the Teklimakan textbook as well as other Uyghur resources. See note in "Flashcards" section on this page for details.
- Introduction to Uyghur: 5 episode podcast
-How to Do Greetings in Uyghur
-How to Make Small Talk in Uyghur
-How to Take a Taxi in Uyghur
-How to Count and Bargain in Uyghur
-How to Order Food in Uyghur
![[PDF] ھازىرقى زامان ئۇيغۇر تىلى گرامماتىكىسى](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/17071/images/Uyghur_tili.GIF){kind=link}
Music
- London Uyghur Ensemble
If you are interested in Uyghur music, this website has many resources and information available. It also includes song lyrics with translations and explanations, poems, and literature.