*Pharmaceutical Sciences: Web Resources

Features the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia. AACP is a national organization representing pharmaceutical education in the United States. Provides institutional data, news, and information on pharmacy schools. Covers sections for deans, for faculty, and for students.

The professional home for clinical pharmacy practitioners, scientists, educators, administrators, students, residents, and fellows from more than 60 countries focused on leadership, education, and advocacy.

The accrediting body for pharmacy residency and technician training programs, and provides comprehensive resources to support pharmacy professionals through every stage of their careers.

Centralized site containing licensing and registration, legal, and other pharmacy related resources important to those practicing in Kansas.

Statewide professional organization of pharmacists in Kansas.

Partners in developing national guidelines for pharmacy practitioners and patient care. Organized by condition, provides links to U.S. and international treatment guidelines.

Addresses barriers to clinical implementation of pharmacogenetic tests by creating, curating, and posting freely available, peer-reviewed, evidence-based, updatable, and detailed gene/drug clinical practice guidelines.

Repository website of clinical practice guidelines, briefs, and scorecards. As of 2023, the site is undergoing restructuring and continues to accept guideline submissions.

Evidence-based recommendations to assist practitioners and patients in making decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.

Open access clinical search engine to support evidence based practice. Contains research papers, systematic reviews, and guidelines.

The U.S. government agency responsible for public health and health information science, communication, and dissemination.

Database of medication content and labeling as found in FDA approved labels (package inserts); managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Provides current and accurate drug information from NLM and other government agencies. More than 12,000 drugs are available for searching.

Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.

Searches across 39 molecular and literature database maintained by NCBI (the National Center for Biotechnology Information). Results are listed by database so a single search can lead to discover of different types of data.

The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures. Provides access to Swiss-Prot, a curated protein sequence database which strives to provide a high level of annotation (such as the description of the function of a protein, its domains structure, post-translational modifications, variants, etc.), a minimal level of redundancy and high level of integration with other databases.

Links to Laws, Acts and Rules, Enforcement Activities, Compounding and more.

Their resource library contains resources developed from ISMP's review of reports. ISMP offers a wide range of downloadable resources including guidelines. Many are free.

Quality of care and patient safety organization providing accreditation, standards, sentinel events, and more.

The Bookshelf is a collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly. Content is also accessible through links found with PubMed Abstracts.

This site leads to current health information regarding the efficacy and use of dietary supplements.

PharmGKB is a pharmacogenomics knowledge resource that encompasses clinical information including clinical guidelines and drug labels, potentially clinically actionable gene-drug associations and genotype-phenotype relationships.

PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It contains small molecules, larger molecules, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Information includes chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.

A free drug index that allows searching by keywords, side effects, drug interactions, drug information, drug names, pill id, imprint codes, NDC codes, medical terminology, and Patient Information from a single page. Includes top 300 drugs by prescriptions dispensed and by sales.

Enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States for those involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances.

UniProt (Universal Protein Resource) is a comprehensive catalog of information on proteins. It is a central repository of protein sequence and function created by joining the information contained in Swiss-Prot, TrEMBL, and PIR. UniProt is comprised of three components, each optimized for different uses. The UniProt Knowledgebase (UniProt) is the central access point for extensive curated protein information, including function, classification, and cross-reference.

Includes current FDA news and information regarding status of products regulated by FDA.

This tutorial will describe the criteria that you should use when deciding whether you have the right information for your research needs.

This tutorial demonstrates how to search Google Scholar.