Literature on Music
Music Instruction & Study
Finding Books in the Library
- KU Libraries CatalogFind scores owned by the library. These scores are either on the shelf at the Music & Dance Library or may be recalled from the Library Annex.
- Searching the Library CatalogVideo tutorial on using the library catalog
- WorldCatSearch WorldCat for scores in other libraries.
- Interlibrary LoansVideo tutorial on how to request items through interlibrary loan.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001ISBN: 1561592390Shelved At Music & Dance Library-Reference (In Library Use Only)
The online version is available through Oxford Music Online as Grove Music Online. Grove Music Online includes Grove Jazz and Grove Opera.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: ML100 .H37 2003ISBN: 0674011635Shelved At Music & Dance Library-Reference
New Grove Dictionary of Women Composers by Call Number: ML105 .N39 1994ISBN: 0333515986Music & Dance Library-Reference (In Library Use Only)
International Dictionary of Black Composers by Call Number: ML105 .I5 1999ISBN: 1884964273Shelved At Music & Dance Library-Reference
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Music by Call Number: ML105 .S612 1997ISBN: 0028712714Shelved at Music & Dance Library-Reference
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansCall Number: ML105 .B16 2001ISBN: 0028655257Shelved At Music & Dance Library-Reference
A Chronology of American Musical Theater by Call Number: ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002ISBN: 0195088883Shelved At Music & Dance Library-Reference
The encyclopedia of popular music. 4th ed. by Available online -- (Source: Oxford reference)
Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound by Call Number: ML102.S67 E5 2005ISBN: 041593835XShelved At Music & Dance Library-Reference
Ask a Librarian -- LibAnswers
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.
Reference Databases
- Music Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for research on the music of people worldwide.
- Oxford music online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online allows the simultaneous searching of The New Grove Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition; The Oxford Dictionary of Music; The Oxford Companion to Music; and Encyclopedia of Popular Music
- Oxford reference This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable online database of Oxford University Press subject dictionaries and reference works. Music & Dance reference resources include The Oxford Dictionary of Dance (2 ed.), Dictionary Plus Music, The Grove Book of Operas (2 ed), The International Encyclopedia of Dance, The Oxford Companion to Music, A Dictionary of Opera Characters (2 ed.), The Grove Book of Opera Singers (2 ed.), The Oxford Companion to the American Musical, The Oxford Dictionary of Music (6 ed.), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4 ed.)
